We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel at the entrance of the Piazza del Popolo”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #42 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel at the entrance of the Piazza del Popolo”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the River Palace, and am so glad I did. The reviews I had read previous to me booking, were dead on. The only negative at all, was the size of the standard rooms. We were upgraded so the room we had was above average size for Rome standards.
They're very tiny, but lovely. Then again, how much time do you spend in your room while in Rome??
I can't say enough about the staff and the service we received - it was exceptional. Besides being on a cruise ship, there aren't that many hotels I've been to in the past the offered the same service. The hotel rooms are relatively small (as are most in Rome), but very lovely, with a very cozy decor. It's not cheap, but hotels which are dumps, sell for very little less.
The breakfast was called continental but this was the best by far I have ever had. Good variety and great service again.
The location of the hotel is perfect!!! You step out of the front door, hang a right and just walk. You're in the main area of Rome, all the shopping is right there and you can reach the Spanish Steps. Great to just hang out. The variety of the restaurants nearby is great. Will definitely go back here in the future. Also, you're a 2 minute walk to the underground metro....sooo easy to use and will take you anywhere...we were at the Vatican in less than 20 minutes, including a short walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayjayhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,539
    606
    135
    29
    21
See reviews for
349
1,443
63
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilden, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed 5 nights at River Palace Hotel in March and had a great stay. We were welcomed by the very nice receptionist. She gave as map of Rome and explained how to find our way to the major sights. We were also very happy to receive a free room upgrade! The overall atmosphere was very nice with a lot of nice decorations everywhere, giving it a nice "Rome feeling". The room was very clean, nicely decorated and comfy!

Service was great throughout the hotel. At the first evening we found a complimentary bottle of wine in our room. Furthermore, chocolates and weather forecast were put on our pillows each evening. Really nice. Breakfast was also very good with good choice of freshly prepared and tasty food.. The hotel is centrally located at Piazza del Popolo, allowing to explore Rome by foot. A metro stop is also very close and you can get to the airport easily by metro and Leonardo Express.

We would definitely return to this hotel!There was absolutely nothing to complain about!!! This hotel provides very high value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Batida0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falls church, virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

River Palace is a well located boutique hotel - close to the Piazza del Populo, Metro and easy walking distance to the Spanish steps and great shopping and restaurants. The rooms, though on the smallish side, are roomy enough, very comfortable and well appointed with comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. The staff was incredibly helpful - especially Francesco who went above and beyond to help us secure tickets for a specific time to the Borghese Gallery. Another person on staff was incredibly helpful securing dinner reservations for 10 people. The breakfast is fantastic with so many choices we didn't eat the same thing in 4 days. The bar is also great with free food at happy hour. I highly recommend the River Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lrf83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed in January with my wife and had a great time!
The room was very clean, the breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful!
helped us with every question and on any situation (recommendation on "Roma pass", places to visit, printed our eTickets and much much more) - we felt like a family (took pictures with the hotel staff!)

The hotel is well designed - looks new.

As we see it, this hotel is a boutique hotel and it's prices are relativity cheep!
Located near Via Del Corso - 50 meters from Piazza Di Pa polo.

Their standard room is small so be prepared but the room is well equipped - every night you get tomorrow forecast with some chocolates..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at the River Palace in April of 2011 and we enjoyed it and the city of Rome so much that we returned again this year. We spent a very enjoyable 6 days there. We loved our room and felt the staff was responsive to all our needs. We especially like the location close to Piazzo Popolo. The Metro was a few yards away and it was within walking distance to many of Rome's finest sights.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSimmons8172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Barocco Hotel
#15 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,676 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,258 in Rome
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,142 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,258 in Rome
2,622 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): $157 - $473
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing