We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great gem, with great staff and that special flare”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #44 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A great gem, with great staff and that special flare”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed here 23 - 226 March 2012 and we were very impressed with the service, friendliness of staff and the location of the hotel. The staff everywhere were friendly and would always ask if we needed help or guidance if we were heading out.
The hotel itself is clean and spacious, but I would say that the classic rooms were a little too small (but adequate).
Everyday between 6pm - 10pm there is happy hour where ALL drinks but champagne is half price, making a large glass of wine just €3!
Situated a short walk from Piazza del Popolo, it is near the three main raods into the main city (towards the Colesseum) and a short walk to the nearest Metro station Flaminio Piazza del Popolo, just 4 stops from the main train terminal (Termini). Overall a great gem of a hotel and a great find.

Room Tip: Happy hour 6pm - 10pm daily - all drinks (except champagne) half price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,536
    605
    135
    29
    21
See reviews for
348
1,440
63
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

River Palace Hotel is a quaint hotel just outside Piazza Del Popolo. Rooms were small but cozy. Staff was also friendly and very helpful. A generous breakfast buffet was served daily. No room service fyi. Great half price happy hour. This was a business trip mixed with a few days of pleasure. This hotel seemed centrally located. Subway was near and easy access to the must see sites of Rome.

Room Tip: i would ask for an upgrade. This room was an upgrade and it was a bit on the small side so I am not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This isn't luxurious in the Ritz Carlton sense but it was quaint, beautiful and perfectly located. It was tucked away from the loud throngs of tourists, but a very easy walk to get to many of the main attractions or a 5 minute walk to the metro.

PROS:
- Location
- Safety
- Cleanliness
- High quality breakfast (available for 4 1/2 hours)
- Quaint rooms
- English speaking news channels
- Free WiFi
- In-room safe
- Helpful and extremely nice English speaking staff

CONS:
- Thin walls
- Small shower

When I travel I'm always concerned that my hotel won't be close to or in the middle of everything. River Palace is in a safe, premier location. When I go back to Rome, there will be no question where I'll be staying.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eternal_Wanderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I have just returned from the River Palace hotel having taken my Mum as a 60th birthday surpise. The hotel is absolutely fantastic, a two minute walk from Flaminio Metro station and a pleasant five minute walk from the main shopping street Via Del Corso. All of the main attractions are so easy to get to from the hotel. The hotel issued a map on arrival and we walked to most of the sights! The room was lovely, two great big apples on arrival followed by chocolates on the pillow each day and a hand written weather prediction for the following day. The room was lovely - not huge but definately not small as other rooms suggest - it was just right for a city break. The bathroom was very nice, slippers, robes and hair dryer provided. Breakfast was fantastic - full English or continental breakfast provided. Full range of fruits, yoghurts, pastries, cereals, breads,biscuits, juices, tea and coffee, sparkling wine. (Every type of tea seemed to be available) We actually didn't need lunch as we made th most of the breakfasts!
The staff were friendly, efficient and couldn't seem to do enough for us! Another bonus is the bar is halfprice to guests from 6pm - 10pm. Baileys 2Euros, wine 3Euros, huge cocktails 5Euros. Fantastic experience and would definately stay at the River Palace again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsdianam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I was torn between 2 or 3 hotels for this trip and am pleased to say I picked a good one in the River Palace. We had never been to Rome before and after reading reports were a wee bit apprehensive. We landed in Rome around 20.30 on Sunday 18th Mar and caught a taxi at the airport to the hotel no complaints but taxi kept the meter on level 2 all the way in even although we were only 100 yards out of the boundary. Arrived at the hotel 21.40 check in spot on and shown to the room 102 and were also shown the quirky lift set up. As most other reports have said the rooms are not the largest in the world but did have the basics of hair dryer and fridge with mini bar. Bathroom could have been a bit bigger but was ample. We went down to the bar to finish off their happy hour and were surprised to see the area full of my countrymen who had been at the rugby still there (Celtic tops and Kilts and Rugby don't go together). Breakfast was of good quality with the usual choices of yoghurt and fruit along with pastries etc, you could also have a hot breakfast with scrambled eggs / boiled eggs ,bacon, sausages potato cakes(hash browns) along with tea coffee and juice. Reception were very helpful in advising how to get to where we were going each day. There is a tram stop 100 yards from the hotel and the metro is about 30 yards further. We never bothered with getting different passes and the Vatican is 2 stops away in 1 direction with Spanish Steps 1 stop in the other. The Metro system is easy to follow and costs 1 Euro per journey within 75 minutes which makes everything well within reach. We did not encounter any problems with pocket dippers but were always on the alert for them.
There are a few places to eat along the street from the hotel and even the standard Burger King but go a 5 minute walk through the Piazza and there are more places to eat. The walk from the hotel to any of the sites is easy to do with I would say an exception of the Colloseum which I would do by Metro. All in I would say this is a very good hotel to base yourself in and I would have no problem in saying to people to go there

Room Tip: Rooms over the main street can have a bit of noise from the trams
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gibby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
2,885 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,672 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4,138 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,257 in Rome
2,621 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): $164 - $469
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing