We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's more apartment than hotel..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Ranked #91 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Good hotel.. good ambience, quite clean.. rooms are spacious enough.. Enjoyable, friendly, but limited staff.. As it is rightly named they are ' Serviced Apartments' Maid comes once in a day.. to clean.. if you choose to cook, remember that the smoke detectors are quite sensitive and will catch anything and everything.. The receptionist would cone up and shout at you, saying that is not a time to cook.. it was 8pm.. Also, you would have to do much yourself.. they do help you, though.. Good, bit not luxury.. I would prefer it for a short stay only.. too long and I'd be harassed.. they did not even give our group rooms that were nearby.. check with them specifically b4 u go.. do not assume anything about them.. make sure you ask them..

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank devanshshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 392 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Pros-

1. Nice lobby
2. Breakfast available
3. Spacious room
4. Nice bathroom
5. Bus stops within close proximity
6. Nice views from room

Cons-

1. Hidden (taxi driver had a hard time finding the place)
2. Carry your own bags (there are several steps before getting to elevator)
3. Hard, uncomfortable beds
4. Room did not look like room shown on website, appeared dirty, lacked character
5. Breakfast not that great and very expensive
6. Charged for internet use
7. Few restaurants in area
8. Restaurant on site does not serve lunch or dinner

I would rate this hotel 2 stars, not 4.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank twolonedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Customer,
we are very sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations
Our Residence overlooks the Arch of Janus, and is adjacent to the church of St. George in Velabro. We regret that the taxi driver has not been able to find us, but we are also clearly visible from Piazza Bocca della Verità.
At about 100 meters from our Residence you can find different restaurants and we are only 500 meters from Trastevere area and 700 from Campo de’ Fiori. We apologize for not being able to give you all information regarding our area that could helped during your stay.
From the lobby and the elevators we have a few steps. Normally they do not create problems for our customers with the luggage and our staff is always very accommodating in helping everyone who needs it. I apologize if this has not happened to you.
During the renovation of the residence three years ago we replaced all the mattresses, and we are sorry if they are not what you prefer.
There are two types of rooms in our hotel, deluxe and standard. The second have a significantly lower price because, during the renovation, it was decided not to change the decor. In all sites you can see the photographs of the standard and deluxe rooms, and you will not find any web site that says that we have a restaurant, we have a breakfast room for all clients. Our breakfast, when not included in rates has a cost of 12 euros per person. It is a continental breakfast buffet with coffee service, we do not think that the cost is so high considering the European standards.
We apologize again for not having satisfied your expectations and we would like to have the opportunity to make your stay as pleasant as it should be next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Very well managed rooms,restaurant, gym
Services at reception were also nice.
The place was also near to many attractions.
It is a good property in the category.
As i said this is Excellent coforts given in an apartments.
Some of the higher floor rooms were brilliant as they were having luxurious interiors.Very well managed rooms,restaurant, gym
Services at reception were also nice.
The place was also near to many attractions.
It is a good property in the category.
As i said this is Excellent coforts given in an apartments.
Some of the higher floor rooms were brilliant as they were having luxurious interiors.



  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rshah1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This overly priced apartment hotel is not worth the money. The bed was a little hard. I dont think your ribs are suppose to hurt when you breathe while laying on the bed. Pillows were especially hard. Asked for new pillow but the replacement provided by management was even harder. When I asked to switch rooms, the staff told me we had the best room in the hotel and that he thought the beds were quite comfortable. Really? When does staff sleep on the beds? The walls were dirty with scuff marks and the carpet looked dirty. Breakfast was very expensive, 14 euros per person and not that great. We checked around Rome and found very, very nice hotels fwith comfortable beds (yes, they allowed me to test the beds) for about the same price. Also found comparable rooms at other hotels for far less. No restaurants in close proximity. The restaurant located in the hotel was only open for breakfast. Also, they charged us to use the computer/internet in the hotel lobby which was extremely expensive.

If you dont need comfort and dont mind paying twice as much as you would get elsewhere, this is the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kaylalily t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed 10 days in the Royal Palatino Suite. This was a nice two bedroom suite with a small sit out balcony. Good view . The hotel is located just off the main road, a short walk from a major bus stop and a walking distance from the Corso.The location is picturesque in a old Rome kind of way with a large Roman arch in front of the entrance and the Piazza Bocca della Verita beside it, one of the things to see in Rome. The hotel was refurbished in 2009 and is in pretty good shape. The rooms are comfortable and modern, we had a small kitchenette in the suite with a fridge and dish washer. ( they clean the rooms daily- but not your kitchen). The staff are helpful and pleasant. However this in not a full service hotel, you have to carry your own bags. If you need internet connection, you have to go down to the desk and get a paper code generated. You have to pay for bottled water in your room (except for the first time), if you need an iron or kettle you need to ask for it.

Room Tip: The Palatino side (or view) is the better side to be in . The fifth floor view would be great(4th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serum121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#87 of 1,268 in Rome
1,886 reviews
Aventine
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Kolbe Hotel Rome
#133 of 1,268 in Rome
1,459 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#40 of 1,268 in Rome
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#63 of 1,268 in Rome
1,214 reviews
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#93 of 1,268 in Rome
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Palazzo Al Velabro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Palazzo Al Velabro

Address: Via del Velabro 16, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#71 Family Hotel in Rome
#100 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $159 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Palazzo Al Velabro 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Palazzo Al Velabro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro Hotel Rome
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing