We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Feel right at home like a Trastevere local”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Belgo96
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,708 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,535 helpful votes
“Feel right at home like a Trastevere local”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Very comfortable apartment over three levels (entrance level; mezzanine and terrace). Open plan kitchen and lounge area on the entrance level with fully equipped kitchen and full size fridge if you did want to eat in, although with so many options in the area, you don't need to. You have a view from the roomy master bedroom across the Tiber to the top of Circus Maximus. Plenty of storage space in the master bedroom and the air conditioning was welcome in early September. Shower in master bedroom ensuite was best I've come across in any apartment we've stayed at. I understand it replaced a jacuzzi which explains the lovely amount of space you have it in. Good water pressure too.
Highlight of the apartment was the terrace from which, amongst the rooftops of Rome, you can also see the bell tower of Saint Cecila; St Peter's Dome and Vittorio Emmanuel Monument. So lovely to sit up here and have lunch with a glass of wine. Wifi didn't cover out to the terrace but worked perfectly everywhere else in the apartment.
Whilst this is in the quieter part of Trastevere, I much preferred it to the other side of Viale di Trastevere. I preferred the cafes and restaurants on this side of Trastevere and found them less touristy but good luck getting a reservation to Da Enzo or Spirito Divino, the two places we really wanted to try. The closest grocery shop is in the basement of the OVS store (a bit like Target) up on Viale di Trastevere which is about 10 minutes walk away. There are other smaller stores including a nice health food store closer. I loved walking out into the cobble stoned area outside the apartment each morning into the quiet streets and feeling right at home. This is my new favourite area of Rome. If I was feeling exhausted from a big day out walking I could cheat and get the lift up to the apartment, which takes 3 suitcases comfortably, but no more.
You can walk to Campo dei Fiori in 20 minutes from here and it is a scenic 20 minute stroll down from the Garibaldi Monument as well (get a cab up there if you don't want to do the 40 minute walk up).
Martin the owner is an excellent communicator and can arrange other activities to enhance your experience in Rome. The highlight for us was the dinner with Barbara, a Trastevere local.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the wonderful terrace
Liked least: Kitchen a bit dark
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Miller...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely recommend Mercanti Penthouse”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent five days at Mercanti with the family (wife and two teenage children) and can't recommend this apartment highly enough. Martin (owner) and his sister were in e-mail touch in weeks leading to booking asking for any requests and were extremely helpful in providing useful tips and local knowledge - 25 page top tips e-mail at one stage! Arranged taxis to and from the airport.
Penthouse is in lovely area of Rome and great local restaurants nearby. Within walking distance of many of sites - best advantage is the roof top terrace. Great for breakfast, chilling out and drinks before dinner. Wi-fi came in handy for kids as well.
Top tips - book Vatican trip online in advance (don't just turn up) and watch out for unregistered taxis. We got in one who tried the 'u only gave me a five euro instead of 20 euro note trick' at the end - needless to say it didn't work!
Summary - simple...five stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roof top terrace
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FifiinFlo...
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Molto benne!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The Piazza Mercanti penthouse is a jewel in the Trastevere neighborhood. The location is fabulous. It's close to unique shops and restaurants and has the warm local flavor we had hoped for during our stay.

The preliminary arrangements were handled with speed, thoroughness and humor. Martin and his staff are accommodating and well versed in anticipating what their clientele need for their stay.

The apartment feels like "real" Rome. (Really NICE Rome!). Thank goodness for the elevator. It's small, but it works and beats carrying luggage up the stairs.

Speaking of stairs...there are a lot of them inside the apartment. They are lovely, but luggage was a challenge. I recommend arranging to have the driver carry your bags all the way to the bedroom floor. It's worth a big tip:).

The downstairs is amazing. Lots of natural light, plenty of seating, nicely decorated, and the kitchen is well equipped. We had a little problem with the refrigerator, but there's a bar fridge on the veranda. Frankly, we ate out all the time, even though we planned to do some cooking.

The loft is very nice and provides extra space on the bedroom floor.

The master bedroom is huge and has lots of storage. The view is incomparable. I kept both windows open the entire time, and the cool breeze was perfect 24/7.

The master bath is adequate. It's large and has a nice window. It doesn't have a jacuzzi bath (as described) but it has the biggest shower I've ever scene. The water pressure is excellent. There's plenty of hot water for one long shower, but you may want to time showers with your roommates (just like home). In general, the bathroom could use a little sprucing up.

The 2nd bedroom and bath are significantly smaller, but absolutely fine. The bedding is nice and soft throughout, as are the towels. Although the washing machine was broken during our visit, and that created a towel situation, Martin told us prior to our arrival that it may not be replaced in time for our stay.

The icing on the cake is the veranda! The view, the breeze, the size and layout - you may not want to come down. There is a very large table, lots of seating, a fridge, a grill, a drying rack, lovely plants and flowering vines.

Worth noting: Lots of electrical jacks, and my US to Italy converters worked great.

There were only two of us and there was a ton of space. I could picture a family of 4-5 staying there very comfortably. The kitchen would be great for some home cooked meals. This apartment would is perfect for an extended stay

Overall, I highly recommend Piazza Mecanti, venti cinque. It was a welcome haven following busy days and nights. And the Picard group is molto benne.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2013
Sorry about the jacuzzi! I just updated the listing description to reflect the changes. We took out the jacuzzi, which was a bit worn and replaced it with the shower you described.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase MD
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed 17 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing