We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommend, very bad facilities and service”
Review of Scent of Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scent of Rome
Ranked #472 of 1,209 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Our booking is from 23-27 sep 2017. The apartment is on 3/F. Now we juz had the 1st day of stay. To be fair, the apartment is spacious & location is convinient.

However the hot water here is not working & last nite we could only boil the water from kettle to clean our body. Also the power of whole apartment keeps shutting down nearly every hour and we indeed juz switched on the lights in the room only and not even using any elec appliances here. We contacted the agent last nite n told us the technician will come to fix the problem today at 8am, however now is 9:30am and we all juz sit here and wait n no one come n even no one tell us they will be late. No one replied our msg n call anymore now. We all come long way here to travel and not suppose to waste time to wait technician here in Rome. And they are pretty not responsible and at least should tell us they will come late. We feel very frustrated and this already ruined our holiday.

I will strongly recommend not to stay in this apartment if you dont want to ruin yr holiday

Btw, pls be careful the tax n cleaning charges are not included in the booking in expedia. And tho the cleaning fees counts in days, they will only come once after checkout.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Pauline I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2017

The apartment was a great size and had everything we needed, and in a fab location all the main attractions were in walking distance and the metro was just yards up the road to get to the Vatican. there was plenty of nice restaurants in walking distance As soon as we arrived we were met by Julia who was lovely walked us around the apartment and gave us advice on the best days to go to the Vatican and coliseum and best ways to get to them which was very helpful and arranged out pick up back to the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisamcgrath90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We, as a family of 3 people, decided to visit Rome for a special birthday. The location of the apartment was perfect in central Rome with an acceptable walk to the main attractions that the city had to offer. However, the apartment was very disappointing in its appearance and amenities. Situated on the 3rd floor of a 5 floor block with an unreliable lift to make the journey up the 3 floors to our apartment.
When we arrived at the apartment on the first day we were met at the apartment by the rep and were shown round the apartment, ensuring that we were aware of how to reset the electricity if it should trip off. Great start to a relaxing holiday!!!
When it came to breakfast on the 1st morning we discovered that we could not have the 2 ring cooker, the toaster and the kettle on at the same time as the fuse couldn't take that volume of use.
We also discovered that only one of the televisions had an English language channel, BBC World Service only,
When we returned home having the seen the reality of the apartment and looked back at the marketing materials closely, we have come to the conclusion that the management photos do not accurately reflect the condition of the apartment. Pictures available on this website have clearly been stretched to make rooms appear bigger than they really are, which is clearly evident in the kitchen picture with the green chairs and the super long wash hand basin in the bathroom picture.
If we had been offered a flight home to the UK on the day we arrived we may well have accepted. I would not recommend this apartment to anyone.
Rome itself was excellent and the people were friendly and welcoming and would visit again in the future, but would definitely stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sjd2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCENT OF ROME E... S, Direttore generale at Scent of Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear Guest,
We are truly sorry for your disappointment and described negative experience.
In particular, if you had contacted our staff for your doubts and discomfort during the stay we could be helpful to you, allowing us to quickly solve the arisen problems.

As for the elevator, as you can see on our website, the building where the apartments are located is the oldest of Via Nazionale and the elevator it is a historical and characteristic element. This definitely does not go to the detriment of security: can carry up to 4 people or 300 kg, it is maintained regularly and checked that all its parts are in compliance with local regulations.

About the check in, we want to clarify that we consider normal for the staff concerned to explain all the guests not only the basic information on the technical aspects of the apartment, but also some useful information in case of emergencies so guests to act promptly, as they would at home. Sorry this is an alarming result instead of being perceived as useful.

Entering then specifically of his comments related to housing, we want to reiterate our regret in not having received any notice during the stay because we believe that this was easily solved problems:
- for example the television system is unique for all devices so this description seems to have been a blurring of programming;
- also, what you also considered it to be an overload problem was simply due to the intervention of the "life-saving" device, mandated by law. The system makes it possible to use several devices at once, including air conditioning in the summer, and no customer has previously had any overload problem.

We conclude by responding to your feedback on the photos. We regret that the areas of the apartment where you stayed have been perceived as small, but we want to say that it is not our intention to distort the information, indeed! On the website we have published detailed descriptions of the apartment and the individual environments (for example, the apartment is a total of 140sqm and two bedrooms measure over 25 square meters each). We have also provided - the maximum transparency - the planimetry to allow all visitors to be aware of the spaces.
We trust that our explanations were exhaustive.
Best regards
Scent of Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

What a great start tour our 15 days in Italy, scent of Rome apartments are awesome, our hostess was Nathalie who is a sweetheart, located behind the Pizza del republica mibutes away from Termini train station, is the perfect place to stay. we walked the city made so many discoveries, all the amenities you need to feel at home, HUGE apartment
a must stay to discover Rome, and yes folks Rome is like New York, busy, loud active, and so much fun !!!!
we rented the LIVIA suite
also when you go on Tripadvisor and see the images of the rooms, they really are what they are...amazing !!! would go there in a flash again

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alv0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCENT OF ROME E... S, Proprietario at Scent of Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Many thanks.
It was a pleasure to have you in aour apartments!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We had a great time at this apartment. It's very well located, close to the train station. It's a beautiful apartment, with lots of reunion room. Beds were very comfortable. The kitchen could have more cutlery, but they were nice enough to bring the things we needed

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Iris Alejandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Abemus in San Pietro
#1,587 of 3,794 in Rome
16 reviews
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#3 of 1,273 in Rome
7,167 reviews
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#316 of 1,273 in Rome
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#85 of 1,273 in Rome
1,498 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#135 of 1,273 in Rome
1,282 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#155 of 1,273 in Rome
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scent of Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scent of Rome

Address: Via Nazionale 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #472 of 1,209 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $155 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scent of Rome luxury apartments are located in the heart of Rome’s city centre, in an historic building dated 1870 and just 10 minutes walk away from Termini railway station. They are extremely well connected, with a bus stop few steps away and the underground station in the nearby located Piazza della Repubblica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Scent of Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing