We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
112
73
20
14
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
73
20
14
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mosaic floors exquisite hotel fabric wall coverings this charming boutique hotel croissants rooftop garden convenience store two blocks excellent shower continental breakfast metro station the hotel is conveniently located no lift excellent location reasonable size air conditioning short walk
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Everthing is bad... breakfast is cheap... staff is cold...bathroom 2x2 small!!! First time in my life see so
Small bathroom...only good the place becouse near from coleseum and wifi is good.. only this no back again here

Date of stay: November 2016
3  Thank Panoua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

The hotel is not far from the Colosseum. It is a relatively small hotel. My room was a bit fancy, but tasteful, with high ceilings. The bathroom had a nice size. But as there was a painting right behind the bed, I felt reluctant to sit in the bed and relax towards the wall. I have not had breakfast so cannot comment on this. Please note the following: I did not see a lift, and the hotel only has Italian style plugs, so you won‘t be able to charge your phones, unless you ask the concierge to give you an adapter (which they fortunately had). The TV program was very limited when I watched. Just one or two channels. But the WIFI worked fine. There is no real spacious lounge.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bibolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

One of the most hostile hotels I have ever stayed in.

We were not made to feel welcome. It was as if our stay was a huge inconvenience to the man who ran the front desk and the 2 blonde woman who rolled their eyes and sneered whenever a guest dared to step into 'their' reception.

There are no aircon controls in the rooms and if you dare ask for it to be turned on get ready for a grumble.

The blankets and throws on the bed were very dusty, not great for those with asthma.

Teeny tiny bathroom.

One plus was the chap serving breakfast was friendlier.

Such a disappointment for what was a special first visit to Rome.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StripeyLeopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

If high Baroque, Rococo style is your thing, then the Celio Hotel is likely to fit the bill. Situated in the Celio neighbourhood next to the Colloseum, its plain facade belies a lavish interior, where sumptuous velvet, gold leaf and mosaic floors have created a luxurious - if slightly claustrophobic - retreat from the chaos of the streets outside.

The rooms are a bit on the tight side and the wifi was decidely spotty during my stay, but the staff are charming, and the whole experience was like sleeping in a doll's house for a couple of nights.

I passed on breakfast, choosing instead to grab a coffee and "cornetto" (Italian croissant) at the counter of one of my favourite neighbourhood cafes in Rome. "Twin's Gaitrono" (their apostrophe, not mine), on Via Celimontana is nothing much to look at, but the coffee is good and the pastries are always fresh. It's a two to three minute walk from the Celio Hotel and it's a real cafe, where you won't find many tourists, but you are likely to rub shoulders with carabinieri, street sweepers or even officers in full military dress from the nearby army hospital.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Had a great few nights .very comfortable clean rooms . Friendly staff. Would definitely recommend .and some great restaurants just a few steps from the hotel .at very reasonable prices. With a late night supermarket just down the road.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ajg101971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews