We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best obviously.....”
Review of Hotel Tre Stelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tre Stelle
Ranked #1,149 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Where to start....the seedy character at the front desk, the dodgy and dirty bathrooms or the complete lack of security? I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone really, but especially if you are in a group of ladies. We hardly slept a wink thinking we would have to Liam Neeson an intruders behind. Not a good feeling at all. Thankfully we only stayed one night. These guys literally need to clean their act up. Eww.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janetix86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 161 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2011

We were placed in this hotel when our initial hotel did not have our reservation secured. Trying to make the best of a bad situation I entered this hotel with an open mind. Unfortunately this was just the continuation of my nightmare, The hotel was very old and not well kept in the slightest, the toilet was broken, there was wires hanging out of the walls and the shower was flithy. At this stage all I wanted was just a good nights sleep and to start fresh in the morning... this however was made impossible by the camp style beds, it felt like sleeping on a mat on the floor. I imagine this is what 1 room shacks must look like after they have been abandoned.
We decided the next morning that we would look for another hotel after breakfast (which we had paid for but did not receive). The bright side of this hotel however is its location we were ten mins away from a train station and in the city so we had some nice bars and restaurants around us. When we returned to our hotel that evening to check out and retrieve our bags we were HORRIFIED that there were guests already settling into our room before we had even checked out. Our bags and personal belongings including passports could have been damaged or stolen, and the hotel did not so much as apologise. Unprofessional is too light of a word to use. This is a safety issue and I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cath353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We got sent to this hotel because the hotel we had originally booked (Hotel Saturnia) had some kind of issue with some of its rooms and had to send us and a few other people to another hotel. The name means three stars, but it is definitely NOT a three star hotel. We were on a two month tour of Europe and this was far and away the worst place we stayed. Thankfully it was only for one night.

Pros: The location was relatively convenient -- close to Castro Pretorio metro station and a short walk to Termini station; The breakfast was decent, although a bit small.

Cons: The room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke, even though it was supposed to be a non-smoking room. The cleaners had obviously tried to cover it up by dousing the room in a strong air freshener and the combination was enough to bring on an instant headache. There was an air conditioner in the room, but no remote for it, so we had to go through the hassle of asking at the reception desk and waiting for them to hunt around for it. The floor in the room was covered in a layer of dust and dirt, which made us wonder what exactly the cleaners did all day as we often saw them around the hotel, but nothing ever seemed to be clean. The towels were like little sheets that had been cut up to look like towels. They didn't seem very clean either.

For the price we paid (120 euro/night), this hotel was a complete ripoff. Even if you have to pay a steep price it would be worth it to find a better place than this. Stay away!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abeille323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed here on the 15 & 16th days of our European Tour Covering 4 countries and 6 different cities. We tried to pick moderate / mid range 3 star hotels, knowing we were not in the room except to sleep. This hotel does not come close to anything else we stayed in during the entire duration of our trip. It was horrific, dirty, run down, dark (no lights in hallways), smelled,etc... Shower door was broke then glued back together , mold in shower, bathroom mirror was broke, hair dryer was covered with black tape, big hole in ceiling where they had to gain access to put in new AC unit, the list could go on and on... I am not one to complain about a hotel and have never done so or taken my time to write a review on a hotel in my LIFE. But this place was absolutley TERRIBLE.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel is perfectly located, just a short walk from Termini station and within easy reach of attractions, restaurants, shops and bars. The staff were polite, helpful and knowledgeable about Rome and its attractions. The rooms were clean, tidy and air conditioned making the stay very relaxing and comfortable. Breakfast was a coffee/ tea/ juice and an Italian pastry. Rooms were cleaned to a very good standard every day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shippers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#977 of 1,269 in Rome
338 reviews
Testaccio
Hotel Pyramid
Hotel Pyramid
#777 of 1,269 in Rome
212 reviews
Scheppers Hotel
#1,048 of 1,269 in Rome
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,037 of 1,269 in Rome
300 reviews
Hotel Baltic
#1,107 of 1,269 in Rome
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tre Stelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tre Stelle

Address: Via San Martino della Battaglia 11, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,149 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $48 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tre Stelle 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tre Stelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre Stelle Hotel
Tre Stelle Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing