We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Italian, superb location!”
Review of Hotel Sole Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sole Roma
Ranked #694 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 24 March 2017

A tourist to Rome, depending on feet and buses, can hardly find a better location in the city's area storica. An old building (1659, built of stones from Pompeius' theater), it is within walking/bussing distance from every sight you probably would want to see.
The staff is service-minded and friendly, and they do a great job, especially on cleaning and arranging breakfast.
The balcony arrangement is worth a word: From every floor (5) you can walk out on a balcony, interconnected by stairs between the floors. Excellent for having breakfast or take a late-night drink with friends!
Rooms are old-fashioned Italian, but with modern bathrooms, good beds, airconditioned and very clean.
Better lighting, and more and better placed el-outlets would be welcome. Advice: Bring a short 2-3 outlet cable for your pc, tablet and cell phone.
We stayed four nights, and will definitely stay here again! A presto, Albergo Sole!

Room Tip: The higher, the better here, because of the balconies and view from room window. A small elevator, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bjorn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loan_Hotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Sole Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear "Bjorn J" ,
Thank you very much for positive feedback and for your nice review!
I'm very glad to know that you loved the Hotel Sole Roma especially for the location , the staff, cleanliness our well Trained Staff and Breakfast offered in the morning .
I have passed on your kind words to all the team here at the hotel. We are very much grateful for your compliments and are so happy you will plan a new visit here with us )!
We hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our excellent service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.
With best regards,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2017

Very clean, pleasant, little hotel. Helpful, friendly staff, spacious room and bathroom. few minutes walk from all attractions yet not noisy. Shops, cafes, restaurants - all on your doorstep. All big attractions walking distance, the location could have not been better.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toni n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loan_Hotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Sole Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear "toni n",
Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay and to have chosen our "Htl Sole Roma".
I am delighted to read such a gleaming report of our service, kind assistance and good quality price value.
Your advice and suggestions will be of great help for future guests in order to get more familiar with location, connections and facilities.It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.
The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.
We hope to see you at the Htl Sole Roma again in the future.
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Located just a stone's throw from the Campo de Fiori and within easy walking distance of Rome's must see sights the Albergo del Sole claims to be the oldest hotel in Rome.It is certainly very traditional in style and decor. We were here for a long week end with family so we spent very little time in our rooms!!.Reasonably priced, very clean, lots of fresh towels and bed linen, very efficient heating in our room !! Staff were pleasant and helpful. Would definitely stay here again because of its excellent location.

Room Tip: Room 213 decent size. Window at ceiling level so no outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CymroSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loan_Hotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Sole Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear "CymroSwansea" ,
Thank you very much for positive feedback and for your kind "4 star" review!
I'm very glad to know that you loved the Hotel Sole Roma especially for the location , the staff, cleanliness our well Trained Staff and Breakfast offered in the morning .
We are very much grateful for your compliments and are so happy you will plan a new visit here with us )!
We hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our excellent service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.
With best regards,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent location, clean private bathroom. Nice windows with shutters in restroom and bedroom. The cleaning service did a nice job to have the bed made and refresh towels when we came back each day. Walking distance from everything, you can take public transportation however we enjoyed walking. We started each day early and stayed out most of the day and came back for a siesta and then went out at night again. Comfortable bed, wi-fi and Television. We also enjoyed the towel warmers and heater in the room.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lmedina9197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Reasonable price, very nice, old but clean hotel. All staff fluently speak english and very helpful. Cosy room where you find everything you want. Good italian brekfast for good price. Just for 4 euros you get coffee, few types if juice, fresh crosaints, cheese, ham, bread, yougurt. But the best thing about thia hotel its location. Easily you can reach every point on foot. I really recommend this place for everyone.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Vita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#391 of 1,273 in Rome
279 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pomezia
Hotel Pomezia
#987 of 1,273 in Rome
342 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa de'Fiori
Casa de'Fiori
#541 of 1,273 in Rome
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
#489 of 1,273 in Rome
325 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#666 of 1,273 in Rome
500 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Domus Ester
Domus Ester
#956 of 1,273 in Rome
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sole Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sole Roma

Address: Via del Biscione 76, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #694 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $78 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sole Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sole Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Sole Al Biscione Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing