We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice, but . . .”
other travellers have booked this property
living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room
living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
living room
living room
living room
coming from the sleeping area
closing window
double bedroom
double bedroom
en-suite bathroom
from the bedroom window
second bathroom
en-suite bathroom
single sofa bed in the rlax and reading corner
single sofa bed in the rlax and reading corner
single sofa bed in the rlax and reading corner
kitchen
kitchen
living room
getting into the apartment
kintchen windows and the palace on the distance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jeb B
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very nice, but . . .”
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Visited Rome for the first time and found this property based solely from it's listing on TA. The property was as described online and for the most part guest reviews were spot-on.

Pros:
Location: one block off the "strip" where ALL the tourists venture back and forth from the Campo di Fiori to the Spanish Steps. The street for the apartment is closed to most traffic and the passers by are few and far between. Thank goodness for that since the walls of the Quirinale Palace reverberate and echo every single noise going on at street level. So, close the action, especially Trevi Fountain which is a two minute walk away, (Crowded day and night), but out of the noisy zone.
Ambiance: Excellent. Cozy and comfortable with few exceptions (See Cons below). Well decorated and designed. Comfortable when the weather is moderate.
Cleanliness: Very clean. Some limited maintenance issues (See Cons below).

Cons:
Management: The agent, Agnese, was very friendly, and when we met her she was kind and helpful. However, we have some serious issues related to her timeliness and communication. Prior to our departing the US we struggled for over 48 hours to get a response from her. We did ultimately get a response from her just prior to departing. When we arrived in Rome she was an hour late arriving at the apartment. Fortunately, we met a neighbor in the same building who invited us in and entertained us while we waited for Agnese. After our stay she failed to show up at the agreed upon time and did not answer our phone call in a timely fashion. This created some uncertainty and unexpected adjustments for us in our final hours at the apartment.

Kitchen: Small is an overstatement. The kitchen is miniscule. Seriously. If you are planning on using it whatsoever you will find it cramped, cramped, and cramped. I had to crawl on my hands and knees to see what was in the refrigerator. I am 6'3' tall and could not stand up straight in there. Admittedly, we spent very little time as we enjoyed eating out. There was no practical option to eat in.

Ambiance: Most everything was very nice. The exception was the BED!! Squeek, squeek, squeek. OMG. Trying to have a second honeymoon and what do we get? A bed that won't shut up!! You MUST have the windows open in late May at night or you will become overheated. And fresh air is a must. Well, guess what? Squeek, squeek, squeek. Nothing, and I mean nothing would make it go away. Sigh.

Maintenance: The apartment is in need of a new coat of paint. Especially behind the tables and sofas in the living area. Otherwise, very nice and comfortable.
'
Overall, would I recommend this place to friends .......Yes. With some rather serious caveats. So, that being said, we enjoyed our stay at "The Old Baker" and might consider returning here in the future. Although, I suspect we would probably "roll the dice" next time around and try for something a little nicer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: the bed in the master bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jam96181
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A rare treat in the centre of town”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A beautifully appointed appartment, very character full, within walking distance of many of the sights in central Rome, and there are many! And quite close to public transport. Situated in a safe backstreet up a slight hill then up 2 flights of stairs, so quiet but so close to all the bustle of the Trevi fountain, it is a lovely retreat. It is ideal and spacious for a couple and I am sure fine for a family of 4. We loved strolling around exploring the little streets and squares at sunset, finding somewhere for dinner (there are loads of restaurants in this area, some really good) then trying to find our way back. Very atmospheric.
Agnese was delightful, so helpful and booking through Tripadvisor with their messaging and payment scheme was a breeze.
The lack of wifi due to proximity to the Quirenale palace was not a problem: just use a mobile phone for your internet connection.
No integral air con was a bit harder to cope with in 36 degrees: maybe August was a bad choice.
The Trevi fountain was under renovation: oh dear, we will just have to go again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No aircon
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M
The Cincinnati Region
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location and room for 4”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Good - Agnese was great to work with, She arranged a pick-up and drop-off at the airport that were very professional and reliable. Lots of room for 2 adults and 2 teenagers of 17 and 19. Two bathrooms sharing a shower in the middle was nice for getting ready for the day. Good location one block from Trevi fountain (although the fountain was down for cleaning/repair) that felt safe.

The not so Good - we were there at the beginning of August and it was very very hot and humid. The bedroom did have a freestanding room air conditioner, but it could not do much for the extreme heat we had. The kitchen is small and would be a bit difficult for cooking, but we only used the refrigerator and sink.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and space for 4
Liked least: not enough air conditioning
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weyuty
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect, fantastic,”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Great, agnese couldn't be any more helpful if she tried, cracking lady, very helpful, location is perfect, quiet and peaceful, even for centre of Rome, all the sights are within 10 mins walk of apartment, perficto!!!!!!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angwade31...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Apartment - Perfetto”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed during September 2014 , being our first time in Rome we wanted to feel like we were living in Rome and boy did this not disappoint. We are a family of 4 from Australia and this apartment was perfect, our children 11 & 12 had the most wonderful time. Close to all the must see's of Rome and the secure street added to the appeal. Then there was our beautiful host Agnese she was so helpful and informative to get the best out of our stay in Rome. Thank-you Thank-you Agnese and yes we have already recommended your apartment to all we know and we will be back to stay again. Wonderful place everything and so much more that you will every need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Secure street & close everything Rome has to offer & More
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing