We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel in Rome”
Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
Ranked #110 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel in Rome”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

When we first saw the location of the hotel (close to the main train station - Termini) we wondered about the surrounding area. However, we were very pleased as it turned out. The hotel is lovely and clean, the staff is welcoming and accommodating - the owner takes great pride in providing a gracious experience. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 304 had a private patio. Do not know if there are others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    270
    61
    15
    5
See reviews for
165
422
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Hubby & I spent 2 nights in late October. This is a very charming boutique hotel with a friendly staff. You will see every detail of how well they take care of you during your stay. It also helps to be close to a Metro- the Piazza Rebublica station.

Room Tip: We booked in advance and requested for a room with windows facing the Via Del Viminale so we have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocDB888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Knowing where to stay in Rome is tricky so we were happy with our choice. This hotel is very close to Termini station but doesn't feel like the typical dodgy location you get by transport hubs. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was a good selection (but unfortunately we couldn't sit outside on the terrace - although it was October, it was nice and warm). At night we could sit there for a drink and it was a lovely location above the hustle and bustle of the capital. We asked for a quiet room on a high floor which is exactly what we got. The room was clean and nice bathroom. The main room was a little bit depressing - gloomy yellow walls, but it was absolutely fine for staying a couple of nights.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on a high floor - and we got one facing the back rather than the main room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeedsPipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed four nights at the hotel with our grandson in a triple room. Bed and Breakfast. Excellent buffet breakfast and an exceptionally clean hotel. The only let down for us was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom. The reception staff, waiters and chamber maids were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malandbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights in this hotel and had a very nice experience. The staff is wonderful. The rooms tend to be a little small, but this seems to be the norm in Rome hotels. The location is good , near the terminal, buses and metro but it is still very quiet. There are good restaurants nearby but the sights are not very near.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#121 of 1,263 in Rome
1,295 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#69 of 1,263 in Rome
719 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#207 of 1,263 in Rome
1,216 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#102 of 1,263 in Rome
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Property: Hotel Columbia
Address: Via del Viminale 15, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#105 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): $133 - $279
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Rome
Hotel Columbia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing