We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Julia
Nearby Hotels
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
USD 351*
USD 330*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 484*
USD 394*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
USD 331*
USD 282*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 315*
USD 203*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 248*
USD 188*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
USD 210*
USD 193*
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
USD 205*
USD 190*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 354*
USD 337*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 397*
USD 279*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 954*
USD 493*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveller rating
163
313
132
40
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
313
132
40
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrevi fountainspanish stepsgreat locationbarberini metro stationpalazzo barberinicappuccino or espressowalking distanceyogurtminute walkpriced hotelnoise from the streetair conditioningrestaurants and shopspleasant staymajor attractionsnice breakfastrooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 675 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2017

This is our second time staying at Hotel Julia when visiting Rome. It's a charming hotel with friendly staff and unique rooms. Many major attractions are within a short walk or there is a short walk to Piazza Barberini and the Barberini Metro Station if you need to travel further distances. The bathrooms and rooms are small in comparison to oversized American hotel rooms but these rooms are better sized than many I have stayed in overseas, especially for a 3 star hotel. There is a nice continental breakfast but has a good variety. Also a small bar area for a pre/post dinner cocktail that also serves as a great waiting area.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank natashasg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tossini, Direttore at Hotel Julia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Dear Madam,

thank you for your nice and kind review.

We are satisfied to know that, for the second time, you have stayed well in our hotel.

We are waiting, with pleasure, for an your further holiday by us.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Hotel was very clean, staff were courteous and friendly. Bathroom was tiny, especially the shower, you had to step into it sideways! Location excellent, close to Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. Continental breakfast was basic but good enough. Good value for money, I would stay there again

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynnsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tossini, Direttore at Hotel Julia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear Madam,

thank you for your nice and kind review.

We are satisfied to know that you have appreciated your stay by us.

We are waiting, with pleasure, for an your further vacation in our hotel.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

I've been to Rome a number of times. For me the Hotel Julia's location works the best. If you enjoy walking, pretty much all areas (including Villa Borghese, Trastevere and Vatican) are within 3 - 5 km.

If you don't wish to walk too much, then Barberini metro station is very close.

The staff at the front desk, breakfast area and housekeeping are polite and unobtrusive. The value is high for a 3 star property. I enjoyed the breakfast choices. If you book on their website, you can find better rates with it included.

Don't miss the fantastic Palazzo Barberini (Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Antica) just at the corner on Via delle Quattro Fontane as well as the family run seafood restaurant across from it.

Looking forward to returning again soon.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank NW T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tossini, Direttore at Hotel Julia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Sir,

tahnk you for your nice and kind review.

We are satisfied to know that you have appreciated your stay by us.
The price is adeguate at the high season.

We are waiting for an your further vacation in our hotel.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

What should you look for when booking a hotel in Rome? Proximity and easy access. When we visited Rome in March for 4 full days we looked for a hotel situated in the center of the action, right next to the Fontana di Trevi.

After doing some research, we decided that would be a lovely place to be at, especially as we were really excited about viewing some of the surrounding areas at night. After we decided upon the area, we found a good deal on Agoda and we booked a small room at Hotel Julia.

Access:
For those coming in Rome by plane, from each of the two airports (Ciampino or Fiumicino) there are bus shuttles that takes you to Termini Train Station. From there you can take the subway on the red line for two stations, until you reach Barberini Metro Station. You exit left and keep left for about 100 meters where you turn left again, on Via delle Quattro Fontane. Second street right is Via Rasella, where the Hotel is situated at number 29.

Description:
Now, before moving forward with our review, you have to understand the fact that Hotel Julia is not a modern hotel, it is not made out of steel and glass and does not boast with the latest technologies.

What this hotel is, is a building from 1949, situated on a street not very circulated, between Fontana di Trevi, the Spanish Steps, Piazza Barberini and the famous Via Veneto.

The breakfast is served daily between 7:30 and 10:30 AM, offering a range of pastry, fruits and sandwich ingredients. We mostly enjoyed the cappuccino/espresso, which was served at request and you could order one per guest.

Staff:
From the moment we stepped inside for the first time we were greeted warmly. There is always someone at the reception who will answer any question and offer to help in any situation.

The cleaning staff was present daily with turndown service.

We interacted with 3 or 4 hotel staff at the reception, more than 5 cleaning personal and 2 waitresses. Everybody was really nice and always had a smile on their faces.

Proximity:
As we detailed above, the hotel is very close to many major sights as it is located in the historical center of Rome. You will have easy access to Trevi Fountain (450 m), Spanish Steps (700 m), Piazza Barberini (300 m) and Via Veneto (600 m). The Colosseum is located at 1.6 km away so it’s a short and enjoyable walk away.

This is the most important feature of the hotel. Because of it’s perfect location it gives you the option to visit everything at night, as they are all so close. Rome by night is an entire different city to visit.

Our verdict:
If ever again in Rome we would definitely stay here. Situated so close to Fontana di Trevi, is a major advantage since the entire area is charming in the evening and at night.

Overall, one of the nicest hotels we were ever accommodated in.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tossini, Direttore at Hotel Julia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Dear Sir,

thank you for your nice and kind review.

We are satisfied to know that you have appreciated your stay by us.

We are waiting, with pleasure, for an your further holiday in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hotel Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

This little hotel proved to be the best thing for my trip with my mother. The location was ideal near the Barberini Metro station and just down the street from several bus stop routes, which eliminated the long walking distances to our daily destinations. The hotel was clean and safe, and had an elevator which saved my 83 year old mother from having to climb the stairs to her 3rd floor room. Daily breakfast was adequate, and the tiny bar offered morning cappuccino and evening aperitif. There are several restaurants nearby and the Trevi Fountain is a 5 minute walk away. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tossini, Direttore at Hotel Julia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Dear Madam,

thank you for your nice and kind review.

We have the pleasure to know that you appreciated your stay in our hotel.

We are waiting,for an your further vacation by us.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews