We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent small, central hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Residenza Frattina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Frattina
Ranked #124 of 3,762 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent small, central hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Our room was very comfortable. It overlooked the Via Frattina, which can be quite lively (although mostly pedestrian). However, by closing the shutters, windows and internal door/shutters, all noise can be eliminated. It wasn't too hot during our stay, so we didn't need the air conditioning on - this would be a must in the summer I should think. It was very nice to have a fridge in the room, with complimentary water and soft drinks provided. Also, towelling robes and slippers were provided, again very thoughtful. There was plenty of choice for breakfast - Boiled eggs, cereals, rolls, meats, cheese, yoghurts, fruit, pastries, toast and jams. The only downside I can think of, is that the wooden floors are a bit creaky and the walls thin, which may be annoying if your neighbours are inconsiderate! But that's just part of the quirkiness. The hotel is very secure and accessed via an electronic gate, then up 4 flights of stone stairs. This wasn't a problem for us, but might be for those with limited mobility. The hotel is central to all the main attractions of Rome, and we walked everywhere quite easily - for us this is an enjoyable part of the city experience. However, the Spagna Metro station is just a couple of minutes away by the Spanish Steps. Overall, I would certainly recommend this small, friendly hotel, and we very much enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: I would say rooms not overlooking the Via Frattina would be quieter, although shutters, double glazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Frattina, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your opinion about your stay on Tripadvisor. All the staff would like to thank you for your nice words!
As you correctly wrote some of our rooms overlook via Frattina (one of the main streets for shopping here in Rome) but our guests, as you also mentioned from your experience in one of these rooms, never have any problem with the noise as it is sufficient to close the windows.
Also every room is provided with the air conditioning and complimentary mini bar and we are glad you appreciated this service!

We really hope to see you in the future!
Again thank you for choosing us and for your nice review.

Best regards,

Valentina Carracoi
Residenza Frattina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    147
    34
    16
    8
See reviews for
168
150
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul,Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed there twice. The location is perfect close to metro , and you can go everywhere by walking. The staff is polite and helpful. Hope to visit Rome again and definitely will stay there ...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mugus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Frattina, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review about your stay. Your opinion is really important to us!
It was a pleasure to host you and we hope to be able to welcome you soon here at Residenza Frattina!

Best regards,

Valentina Carracoi
Residenza Frattina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatui, SP
Level Contributor
236 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

good location, but we must be a maratonist to get the third floor where the reception is located.the personal are very nice but the hotel itself is vey old and poor. It is not a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWPimpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We were a party of 3 ladies of a certain age. We found staff friendly and helpful. The room was great - big enough, with a good-sized bathroom. Excellent breakfast and very nice lounge, where we could relax with a cup of tea after a hectic day of sight-seeing. We also appreciated the free bottled water - a nice touch. The location is excellent. We did not need to use any transport apart from to and from the airport, and the staff organised this for us. We found we could walk everywhere. The stairs couild be a problem for some (not for us), but this is to be expected in a building of this age, and it is clear on the web-site. We loved it, and would certtainly return, and recommend it to resonably fit friends!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Frattina, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking part of your time to share your experience on Tripadvisor!
Guests' opinion is so important, since it helps us to get better everyday!

As I always use to say, good people make a place even better! So we are all looking forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,
Paola Pistolesi,
Customer Care Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Great hotel, First trip to Rome and not really sure where to stay but was ideal. short walk to Trevi in one direction, Spanish steps another, Piazza Navona in another!

Breakfast is simple continental style but good, Via Frattina is VERY noisy, but with Shutters, Double Glazing, Blackouts AND a set of floor to ceiling windows noise was easy to block out or let in. The staff are all really helpful and speak excellent English. The room itself was very small, but well appointed and well furnished, Only English TV channel is BBC World News, but the size of the room and TV content should be the last thing on your mind in this amazing city.

On the negative side: Our bedroom floor was made of Parquet and was very creaky, the walls block very little sound from other rooms so you have to hope for considerate "Neighbours"

Its worth noting that its Quite hard to find, you duck down into a side street protected by an electronic gate and the hotel itself is on the 2nd floor

Free Wi-Fi in the lobby area and managed to reach it in some areas of our room too

A great recommendation for a restaurant was "34", maybe 5-10 minutes walk away

Room Tip: We Had Room 32, looking out onto via Frattina, really nice to watch city come to life in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMrs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residenza_Frattina, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Frattina, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,
All the staff would like to thank you for your nice words! Our guests opinion is really important as it helps us to grow and get better day by day, so again thank you for taking your time to write a feedback about your stay.
As you mentioned Residenza Frattina is located in the heart of Rome, just a few steps from all the main historical sites (such as the Trevi Fountain, The Spanish Steps, Pantheon and so on), so it is just perfect for all the tourists that would like to discover this beautiful city (like you did).
We hope to welcome you again here in Rome in the next future.
Kind regards,
Paola Pistolesi,
Customer Care Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#113 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#268 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#168 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#94 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#24 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Campo Marzio
Crossing Condotti
Crossing Condotti
#37 of 3,762 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Frattina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Frattina

Property: Residenza Frattina
Address: Via Frattina 104, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 3,762 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price range (per night): $172 - $375
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residenza Frattina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Frattina, a charming town house in the center of Rome, offers a cozy and charming atmosphere for guests. Elegant room décor with a storied history to create a delightful home-grown experience. Residenza Frattina is an ideal jumping point to entire Rome; located close to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and world famous boutiques on Via Condotti and Via del Corso are all easily accessible from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residenza Frattina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Frattina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing