We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,190)
Filter reviews
1,190 results
Traveller rating
604
471
95
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
604
471
95
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar great location quiet street minute walk within walking distance via cavour santa maria maggiore recommend this hotel continental breakfast hard boiled eggs train station lovely hotel three star salami side street stayed here for nights room was spotless
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,190 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Great classic Italian hotel. Clean, large bedroom on 7th floor. Amazing views of the city. No hot drink facilities in the room which would have been lovely. Really nice breakfast with very attentive staff.The rooftop bar was so nice to chill out on in the evening watching the sun set.The location of the hotel is in walking distance of many top attractions.

Room Tip: Put tea and coffee in room
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Becathow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

I choose this hotel from reading the trip adviser reviews and the fact it was close to the colosseum.
If you want a rustic, welcoming, family run hotel this is perfect.
Set in a quite side street about a 10 min walk from the train terminal.
We decided to walk everywhere as there is always a church or something to look at and it took about 45 mins to the Vatican and 25 to the Spanish steps but there is a metro 5 mins down the road if needed.
The staff are all polite and always ready to help. I emailed before I arrived to ask a few questions and I got a quick reply with everything I needed.
The continental breakfast was great with lots of cold meats, yogurts, toast, cereal, eggs and fruit the hotel also had a great WiFi connection.
We were also able to keep our luggage in storage at the hotel on check out as our flight wasn’t till the evening which was a great help.
The best part about this hotel is the roof terrace which has amazing view and also has a bar in the evenings where you can relax after a long day of walking.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sparkiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

The hotel was great, safe and clean. We picked it because it was close to the Forum and the Metro. Easy in and out. Good breakfast choices in the morning and it had a rooftop terrace as well. The internet was fabulous and all the staff very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Compass627149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Location was good. Hotel was in a quiet area, the staff were friendly and the hotel had a lovely rooftop bar. The staff were very helpful e.g. organising taxis etc. the room prices were very reasonable for the quality. The breakfast room was lovely with a relaxing feel.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank patrickwS6422UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano R, Proprietario at Hotel Colosseum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear Guest,

thanks for writing.
We are located in the Monti district, in a quiet street, away from the traffic noise.
I am glad you liked our rooftop bar.Last year because of the warm temperature,
we remained open until the middle of November.And this year seems it will be the same.

I hope to welcome you again in Rome, and send

Kind regards
Stefano Ricci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

My favorite part about this hotel was the rooftop bar. We brought dinner back and ate it up there with a bottle of wine a few times and the view was great! The only downside to it, is that when it rains, there is very little shelter for several people to squeeze under. The room was small, but most European rooms are and it was doable. The bed was thin and hard, but the perk of having air conditioning made up for it! The hotel was very convenient to a metro station and about a 15 minute walk to the main terminal train station, which had a direct express line to the airport. There were lots of shops and restaurants nearby and a few late night markets as well. The included breakfast was delicious! It had lots of options and was open for a nice variety of hours as well. The staff at the front desk was always very helpful and it was appreciated that they had a left luggage room.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano R, Proprietario at Hotel Colosseum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear Guest Kristin W,

thank you for writing us.
We usually change matress of the beds, so maybe you found a new one.
We are 15 minutes walking from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum, not far from the
Doums Aurea and from the statue of The Moses of Michelangelo.
On our official website, it's well shown our position.
I am happy you liked the view from our rooftop bar, and that you appreciated our service.

I hope to welcome you again in Rome, and send my best regards.

Kind regards
Stefano Ricci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews