We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Commodore Roma
Ranked #872 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We unfortunately booked and stayed 4 awful nights here. It is advertised as 'retro' but is actually old and tired, as well as being quite grubby. It is centrally located but so are some other 100 hotels.
There is no AC here as it is switched off and the suggestion that it is a 4 star hotel is laughable.The staff are unhelpful and generally disinterested so my best suggestion is to go somewhere else. Seriously , do not stay here!

Room Tip: Seriously, don't stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CharlesRCranleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

We never stayed here, when we walked in we were hit by a smell that was not very nice.

The hotel is tired and requires an update. Massive update.

The room was not as described, bathroom was dirty and again very tired.

There was someone's hair on and in the bed.

We checked out and booked in with another 4 star which was what you would expect from a 4 star. Hotel euro palace. Amazing.

The staff are nice however when I spoke to the travel agent to get a refund, they investigat3d and the hotel said I check out without saying why.

I expected more from a 4 star.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ash K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Located near Santa Maria Maggiore which is 15 mins walk from Colosseum and 10 mins walk to Termini this was a great location for me! Since I took a single room this review is based only on single rooms and not applicable for standard rooms! Room was ok but bathroom was quite small and not convenient! Shower was little weird and AC made little noise! Staff were nice and warm! Except the bathroom overall experience is good! I would recommend this hotel!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank Gopinath V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel is in the perfect place as a base for seeing the sights of Rome. The hotel was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Linen was changed every day and the staff were very friendly and helpful. On the downside it could have done with a bar to sit and relax after a hard day walking the streets of this beautiful city.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank philtheflooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

What great value, and such lovely, helpful people. Our room (504) was large, with desk and chair, windows opening onto the inner courtyard, which kept it peaceful, and temperature-controlled heating. The latter was a little warm for us, and the added air-conditioning scent a little overpowering, but it was easily turned off, and the windows opened fully. Lovely bathroom too, well stocked, as was the mini-bar. No kettle or hot drinks in the room, but that is often the case in Italy, and the vending machine in the lobby provides both if needed.

The breakfast was a full continental buffet-style, with sliced cheeses and cold meats, boiled eggs, yogurts, jams, breads, pastries, juices, as well as hot bacon, egg and sausages if so required, and all included in the very reasonable price.

The location is great - less than 10 minutes walk from the main station (which is where most airport buses arrive and depart), five minutes from the Opera House, and so close to the centre of the city. We enjoyed the three sites of Tosca on one day, within relatively easy waling distance, and added in the Pantheon and Trevi Fountain too, and then the area around the Colosseum on our second day.

There are many eating places nearby, some offering set "turistico" menus, and plenty of shops if you are a fan of the hotel "picnic" for supper - aim for a Meta or Pam supermarket for best value.

Great value, lovely staff, and a great location. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank burntbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#165 of 1,273 in Rome
2,291 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,022 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#454 of 1,273 in Rome
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#105 of 1,273 in Rome
1,245 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#225 of 1,273 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#74 of 1,273 in Rome
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commodore Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commodore Roma

Address: Via Torino 1, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#337 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $81 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Commodore Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Commodore is an elegant 4 star hotel situated in the heart of Rome, near the Termini Train Station, the Papal Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore and the Rome Opera House. It has 60 rooms including single, double and deluxe rooms and triple rooms. The rooms are finely furnished and all equipped with the most modern comforts. Its intentionally retro' atmosphere is relaxing and comfortable. It is strategically located in the heart of Rome and perfect both for business travellers and tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Commodore Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Roma Hotel
Commodore Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing