We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Commodore Roma
Ranked #862 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 30 November 2016

What great value, and such lovely, helpful people. Our room (504) was large, with desk and chair, windows opening onto the inner courtyard, which kept it peaceful, and temperature-controlled heating. The latter was a little warm for us, and the added air-conditioning scent a little overpowering, but it was easily turned off, and the windows opened fully. Lovely bathroom too, well stocked, as was the mini-bar. No kettle or hot drinks in the room, but that is often the case in Italy, and the vending machine in the lobby provides both if needed.

The breakfast was a full continental buffet-style, with sliced cheeses and cold meats, boiled eggs, yogurts, jams, breads, pastries, juices, as well as hot bacon, egg and sausages if so required, and all included in the very reasonable price.

The location is great - less than 10 minutes walk from the main station (which is where most airport buses arrive and depart), five minutes from the Opera House, and so close to the centre of the city. We enjoyed the three sites of Tosca on one day, within relatively easy waling distance, and added in the Pantheon and Trevi Fountain too, and then the area around the Colosseum on our second day.

There are many eating places nearby, some offering set "turistico" menus, and plenty of shops if you are a fan of the hotel "picnic" for supper - aim for a Meta or Pam supermarket for best value.

Great value, lovely staff, and a great location. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank burntbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2016

As others have said its close to the main train station, not noisy but it is slightly old looking inside........we had a fairly cramped double room not much space to get ready around the bed, small shower room, no ironing facilities and the reception couldn't give out irons for health and safety and it was quite a significant charge for the ironing service. The buffet breakfast was nice no complaints. The hotel could've done with a bar as no atmosphere in the evenings but the reception star were lovely, always friendly and happy to help.

Room Tip: ask for a large and high room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sl0wjams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

The staff are lovely and helpful.
The room has an old antique furniture look and we had comfortable quiet nights.
There was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room if you are (like me) looking to have a cuppa in your room but there is a tea & coffee vending machine in the ground floor lobby.

FYI: the vending machine will provide tea but will add sugar automatically (for people who don't like sugar in their tea) and its very sweet. :-(

There was no iron or iron boarding in the room either but I am sure you can request it at the reception desk.

Breakfast was presented nicely, they do provide hot breakfast which is bacon, sausages and eggs if you looking for this but I preferred their Continental option better especially their rolls and cheese.

The hotel was close to the terminal station which was handy for us but not too close that we heard the noise traffic.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tiegisty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

This hotel is located near the Rome's main train station. It's very easy to get to other attractions from here. Room was clean and bed was comfy. Bathroom was clean and everything was in working order. Wifi was OK. Breakfast was good. I would stay here again if I go back to Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank j l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

the hotel in itself is nice enough, spacious room. Breakfast : ample choice. But one advice : never keep any money in your room , I stashed some money in a zippered compartment of my travelling bag, the following morning I wanted to take something else out of the bag and I noticed that more than half of the money was gone, I went down to reception and the guy there seemed to think it was my own fault for leaving any money behind(!), there was no safe in the room. The lady that was at the reception desk in the evening was much more sympathetic and also very helpful !

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#464 of 1,271 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#6 of 1,271 in Rome
6,960 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#113 of 1,271 in Rome
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#225 of 1,271 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#348 of 1,271 in Rome
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commodore Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commodore Roma

Address: Via Torino 1, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#334 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $377 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Commodore Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Commodore is an elegant 4 star hotel situated in the heart of Rome, near the Termini Train Station, the Papal Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore and the Rome Opera House. It has 60 rooms including single, double and deluxe rooms and triple rooms. The rooms are finely furnished and all equipped with the most modern comforts. Its intentionally retro' atmosphere is relaxing and comfortable. It is strategically located in the heart of Rome and perfect both for business travellers and tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Commodore Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Roma Hotel
Commodore Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing