We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Colonna Palace Hotel
Ranked #437 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed in a double room 9/5-9/11/12. The room was clean and fairly large with a queen size bed, double bedside tables, a desk and an armoire.The bathroom was small with minimal storage surface and a shower only. Outlets in our room were scarce. We had to unplug a lamp to access an outlet for charging our electronics. Breakfast was available @ 7 am and was a buffet with scrambled& boiled eggs, coldcuts, cheese, yogurt, cereal, fruit, bread, juice, coffee. It was quite good and proved to be the best of any we sampled across our travels in Italy. The view from the roof is outstanding. The bar was staffed by one person so service was slow but there was a nice selection of wines and mixed drinks. The front desk staff spoke English although the manager struggled with it. The staff were generally helpful but rather arrogant @ times. The hotel is located across from the main governmental building so there is a 24 hr police presence in large numbers. You feel very safe. Location is good. There are an abundance of restaurants within easy walking distance. The Parthenon is very close and there are many restaurants there. We liked this hotel and would definitely stay again if in Rome.

Room Tip: Street side is noisy! The side closest to the governmental building is better but noisy when the pol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnycc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 248 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

The location of this hotel is just perfect. You need 20 min walking to Colosseum, 20 min to Vatican, 5 min to Treviso fountains, and 3 min to Pantheon! Also, the location is quite secure, with the Italian parliament building right in front. You have 24/7 armed guards on duty :) I think that among all the hotels I've stayed at, this one has just the best location period. Everything is very close. Now, the hotel has small rooms, In order to use the AC/electricity, you need to plug the room key into the reader, and keep it there. While it's not an inconvenience, for 2 people it may be if one of them needs to go somewhere. Wi-Fi is $7.
For the price, this is probably the best hotel in Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

situated close to the presidential palace the hotel is a good starting point for exciursions in Rome The terrase serving as a breakfast room had a marvellous view of central Rome .The rooms where somewhat old but clean . The bar was expensive .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This was the final hotel that I stayed in on my tour of Italy. I had spent the night before in the extremely comfortable tMassimo d'Azeglio Hotel located near the termini, an easy departure point for those of us in the tour who were leaving Italy. My very experienced travel agent advised me to move to a more central location to enjoy sight seeing of Rome on foot.
Located in the Piazza Colonna with the Carabinieri ( the elite Italian Police) on guard right outside ( their headquarters is located on the other side of the Piazza) the hotel is a 2 minute walk to the Pantheon, 3 minutes to the exquisite St Mary's church and about 5 mins to the Piazza Navona.
I was able to get my bearings from the roof top garden and used the "Wedding Cake" as my major landmark, along with a map to navigate my way around Rome, alone and on foot.

The staff were very efficient and friendly, however there was an issue that spoiled our stay.
What had been advertised as a 4 star hotel with air con was very misleading.
It was 34 degrees outside and my father was unwell with a bout of food poisoning ( not from the hotel). We had transferred across from the beautifully appointed Massimo d'Azeglio Hotel that had airconditioning and soundproofed, double glazed windows. The staff at the Colonna Palace refused to turn the air on. We were offered fans but they were very noisy and ineffective. My father was very unwell and unable to rest in his room in the heat. He did try to sit in the lobby, hoping that it would be cooler, but it was not. In our rooms it was 29 degrees C. We come from subtropical Australia and are used to summer heat and humidity, but have well ventilated homes, quiet ceiling fans and air con. We heard other guests complaining about the same thing.
We fully understand why our agent suggested we move, but we wish we had stayed in the much nicer d'Azeglio as the rooms were beautifully furnished and the breakfast much better.

Room Tip: Don't stay anywhere near the lifts, it kept me awake going up and down all night and the doors o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reefaddictBallina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This hotel was reccommended by my boss and it was wonderful. You won't find a safer place to stay or one that is more centrally located. Most places are within a 10-20 minute walk and if it's too far to walk public transportation is just a few steps away. Wonderful shops, places to eat, and so much more. Breakfast is wonderful on the roof. The rooms are not too small, not too large and the bathroom has been updated. If you like to read at night you might want to bring a book-light. Internet is not free so be prepared to coughup some extra euro every day. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stpauliegirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
9 Hotel Cesari
9 Hotel Cesari
#109 of 1,270 in Rome
1,601 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,270 in Rome
1,611 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#155 of 1,270 in Rome
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#47 of 1,270 in Rome
1,037 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,270 in Rome
3,676 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#98 of 1,270 in Rome
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonna Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza di Monte Citorio 12, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#237 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $204 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonna Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Colonna Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Palace Rome
Colonna Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel Colonna Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing