We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terribly bad service”
Review of Amalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amalia Hotel
Ranked #433 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“terribly bad service”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

When we arrived at the hotel we were told that our prepayment, which was made when booking from the hotels internetpage, had not come through, and that we had to pay for the stay again. When we checked with the bank the following day, it showed that we now had paid for the room twice. When taking the print from the bank back to the hotel, they apologized and said they would correct it. To make sure the correction was carried trough properly (we didn't really trust the hotels routines anymore...), we ended up spending altogether half a day of our three days in Rome in the reception while the staff was having a hard time dealing with simple things like making the right phone-calls and getting faxes through. After messing up like this there was no attempt from the staff to make it up to us through any kind of compensation. When we suggested that that would have been the right way to handle the situation, the only answer we got was that it would have to go through the manager, and that he was not available. Altogether really bad routines and really bad service.

Room Tip: Make sure they give you the room you ordered and paid for. They gave us a different one, and when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adeleid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Manager at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Adelied,
t. I just took in charge the management of the hotel and it is my pleasure to express my apologies towards it happened to you.
I see that nobody tried to profit of your reservation. I see that you are disappointed with the lenght of the process for reimbursing you.
I do hope you will visit Rome again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    192
    54
    25
    15
See reviews for
113
165
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We found this hotel using trip advisor and were not disappointed. If you are traveling as a couple, it is the perfet size. We had a queen sized bed, a desk, and room to store our luggage. There was a decent sized flat screen TV on the wall. It was very comparable to what one would find in a 3 star hotel in the US only tile instead of carpet. The bathroom had a large sink with a gorgeous vanity. There was also a shower (no bathtub), toilet, bidet, and towel warmer! The best thing about the hotel is the location! We could see St. Peter's Bascilia from our window and it was only a few blocks south to get there. We traveled by metro from the airport to get there and had no trouble. Also the hotel staff speak english and are very nice. The area around the hotel is safe allowing us to walk around at night without worrying.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Manager at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Lauren,
I do appreciate and I thank you for your review of Hotel Amalia Vaticano and your long list of positive points you enjoyed at our hotel..
Dear Client,
I apologize since nobody at the hotel answeared to your review in the past. I just took in charge the management of the hotel and it is my pleasure to express my thanks.
I do hope you will visit Rome again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I don't like giving poor reviews, but unfortunately, this hotel deserves this rating because:
- Noise: I had a room facing the courtyard on the 5th floor. Every night some people would go out into the courtyard (even on a school night) around 11PM or midnight and make a complete ruccus for an hour or tow, that would eccho up to my room. It was awful, woke me up and I couldn't fall back asleep - and I'm not a light sleeper! I think those people live in the building and are not guests so you probably won't have better luck than I did. I called the reception multiple times to complain and there was no one there to pick up the phone, even if they claim to have a 24-hour reception. Being a woman alone, I didn't want to go downstairs or scream out the window so I had to suck it up and get no sleep.
- The walls are absolutely paper thin and you can hear people walking and clearly make out what they're saying outside your room. That just added to the aggravation.
- Although I had a confirmation, they didn't have a room for me when I arrived, which is really annoying. They ended up having to give me their junior suite (where the couch and curtain were stained and one of the phones didn't work).
- I felt completely unsafe as this is an apartment building and people just come in and out without having to go through the reception.
- My friend booked a promotion where she got a EUR 10 discount on her room. When we got there, the receptionist told us that was a mistake and she shouldn't have been able to get the discount online, but she would honor the offer. Upon checkout, a different receptionist charged her the EUR 10 and said she had to pay it. After putting up a fight, he relented.
- The receptionist upon checkout said my credit card hadn't been charged since my room was never booked, and that I should BE HAPPY they gave me the junior suite. It was condescending and irritating.
- Not the cleanest place I've been - crud stuck to my feet as I walked on the cold floor or my room. The phone handle was greasy.
- The walls were beat up, scuffed up, and covered in plaster in some spots. The door locks on mine and my friend's room stuck and were hard to open.

The one good thing about this hotel is the location - minutes from the Vatican - but I think you can probably do better staying at a B&B close by.

Room Tip: Just don't do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Manager at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Mariana,
I took in charge hotel management since a few weeks. I see your detailed description and, while you say that you "do not like to give poor reviews", in fact you did an endless review that it is quite peculiar.
Please let me say that the situation of people having made noice at night it is referred only to your personal experience and I can honestly say that never happened earlier and later your stay.
Beside the perception of overexageration, I apologise for what it is supposed to be referred to the hotel and I hope you will select different hoteld for your future experience.
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Amalia is in a great location of Rome. The rooms were small but clean. My wife and I booked our room "ensuite", which means we had a bathroom in our room. Downstairs right outside the Amalia is a great place for Italian Cafe. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure when travelling to Europe, whenever you book a room in a hotel or a hostel make sure you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank judfry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffRome, Direttore at Amalia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Judi,
thank you so much for your review go Hotel Amalia Vaticano.
I am in charge of managing the hotel from a few weeks and I feel sorry that nobody answered your review in the past.
I really hope to see you in the future.
Kind regards,
Luigi Pirrò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milpitas, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

we stayed here in October 2011 for 5 days, 4 nights before going on a med cruise. The location was perfect -- right in the center of Rome, 10 minute walk to the Vatican, shopping and many restaurants were near by as well. The room we had was VERY small but my cousins room was like a suite for the same price we paid. I mentioned this to the front desk but they were not willing to adjust ours. First come, first serve which i think was very unfair. i would only stay there again if i knew which room i was getting. Other than that, very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The daily continental breakfast was decent too. One other problem is that the tv is in italian so if you don't speak the language, which we didn't, don't turn the tv on cause it can be annoying watching it in a language you cannot speak or understand..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#239 of 1,256 in Rome
584 reviews
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#523 of 1,256 in Rome
132 reviews
Prati
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
#665 of 1,256 in Rome
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#48 of 1,256 in Rome
668 reviews
Hotel Museum
#467 of 1,256 in Rome
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel

Property: Amalia Hotel
Address: Via Germanico 66, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#302 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): $111 - $246
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Amalia Vaticano, situated in a late 19th century "Palazzo" is only few steps from the Vatican, the Sistine Chapel an the metro station " Ottaviano S.Pietro. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, LCD TV. Telephone, hair-dryer, safe, air-confitionig.Wifi free for Superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing