We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely pleasant and confortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #50 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2010

First timers to Rome should consider this hotel. Walking distance to the spanish steps and other attractions. Great view and atmosphere from their dinner restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradspanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 777 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2010

We found the service at this hotel to be above and beyond! Excellent restaurant!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2traveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We found the Splendide Royale through the recommendation of a colleague. We were seeking a venue that was accessible, luxurious yet suitable for a business meeting of about 15 people. All of our expectations were surpassed. The food was amazing and teh service can not be beat. Sure, stuff came up but they attended to it immediately. Also, its location right near the Spanish Steps and is readily accessible to the many key sites to see in Rome. While the entire staff was excellent, there is a young woman named Fabiola that really held it all togther to make it an excellent experience.

We would definitely use this facility again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gojushiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Nice hotel in a central location, well connected to public transports and shopping areas. Interesting lobby, kind and professional personnel, quiet room and the fact that we got an upgrade was "a nice surprise"!!!!!.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

We went on a cruise and ended our trip with 3 nights in Rome. We anticipated a lot, as the hotel had good reviews and we were told by many people that it was a lovely hotel. The hotel itself was in a good area, near the Spanish Steps. When we arrived were pleased as the hotel's decor was upscale and elegant. Check in went smoothly and we were brought to our room right away. This is where the good ends. Although the room was spacious, the window faced a very noisy road. We called to find out if we could switch to another room. We had booked this hotel several months in advance and had requested a high floor that was quiet. We went to eat at the overpriced and uninspired restaurant. I can't remember what we had- it was very ordinary. Lunch, coffee, and tea set us back about $100 euro. After that we were ready to go on a tour. We stopped by the desk and they told us they would have another room ready upon our return. Again, we emphasized that what was most important to us was quiet. When we returned, we moved to a higher floor. That evening we found out it was right above the kitchen. We heard pots and pans clanging all through the night. We complained and were told that they could move us back to our original room, but that if we would be patient the kitchen closed at midnight! We asked when it reopened and we were told 5am! We opted to move to our original room. We were settled back into our room right after midnight. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It's overpriced. Fro $500 US a night, I would expect much better service. We felt that the hotel purposefully moved us to the noisiest room.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bonzaismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totti5, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comment left on tripadvisor and for the time taken to post it. All issues mentioned have been addressed and investigated with the different departments.

First and foremost, we are sorry for not having had the chance to discuss all the topics personally with you. After so many months, you can understand how difficult it is to make a careful analysis of facts and a reconstruction of events as well as for you to remember all the episodes. It is quite difficult and unusual for us to take your stand on a memory after so long time (after about six months!!!)

Concerning the room, we are sorry to know that it was not to of your liking, but we would like to remind you that the Splendide haven’t any room above the kitchen. May be that you remember incorrectly, you meant to the lower or the same level even if the kitchen is separated by two fire doors (always closed), a corridor and lastly a third door (of the room).
The kitchen staff do not operate 24/24hs. It finish the shift at 11.00pm and restart at 7.00 am for the breakfast. They start to put in the oven the croissants and other baked goods but do not use pots or anything like that. So what we read in your comment is not corresponding to the truthfulness.

The level of soundproofing of our frames is very high as demonstrated by the reports of the various yearly inspections to test and to ensure the level of the quality of our hotel and its services. In addition, via di Porta Pinciana is a street with limited traffic, in a residential neighbourhood in Rome, far to be an “high traffic density street”.

At the end, in order to meet the high standard of services offered to our guests in each room, upon the arrival, on the desk is placed a personalized welcome letter undersigned by the General Manager with his name, surname and an invitation to be contacted for any special request during the stay.

Should during your stay you had a sort of difficulty or trouble, you have had only to contact me. One of the keys of our "Customer Service" is to meet and satisfy the requests of our guests as quickly as possible but to do so we need to receive the comments "at the right time" and not after so many months. I am sure that an immediate and promptness dialogue helped a lot and made your stay memorable and satisfying as many positive and enthusiastic comments that many of our guests leave us at the time of their departure from the hotel.

Allow me to apologize for all the inconveniences occurred to you. We would value the have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Splendide in the future in order to restore your confidence in our hotel and its services.

With my personal best regards

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#143 of 1,272 in Rome
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#43 of 1,272 in Rome
692 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Via di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Business Hotel in Rome
#78 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $383 - $822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing