We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good sleep quality but breakfast is boring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #50 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Pros:
Nicely decor deluxe room
Clean and comfortable bed, linens and towels
Having bathtub(though small) and rain shower
Attentive staff. Professional in email handling and booking (borghese gallery and restaurants)
Bus 116 stop is near the hotel which will go straight to the pantheon
Close to Borghese garden/ gallery and via venetto
Champagne and white wine are provided at breakfast
Great variety of fruits and juices provided at breakfast
Free bottled water provided everyday
Noise protection is very good


Cons:
First room offered to us has blocked view window as the hotel is undergoing some renovation at the front. We were pretty upset as we booked room under "Orange Blossom Package " that guarantee good view of Borghese garden and we stay for 5 nights. The hotel should not deliberately treated us this way. Very first bad impression and it took 30 minutes to change room to lower floor.

Breakfast could have been improved in term of variety and quality . It was so boring during our 5 night stay. Menu are the same every day NO CHANGE. No salad/ side dishes such as potatoes, mushroom or egg offered in many styles like those provided in 5 star hotel. Standard menu is scrambled egg, sausage and bacon. Bread and bakery tastes so bad and some look like stale bread from day(s) before. Cheese quality is mediocre/ some are tasteless. Service at breakfast is mediocre not 5 star and under staff. Buffet table /utensils at breakfast looks like those in 3 star hotel. However the view from restaurant (6 fl) is quite nice.

Walking uphill to the hotel is a very long walk. So we ended up not going back to hotel during the day to refresh as it was not so convenient.

No tea/coffee making facilities in room (Cannot imagine 5 star hotel in this century do not have such facility)

No free wifi or internet. The one provided in the lobby is also chargeable.(Cannot imagine 5 star hotel in this century do not have such facility)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for staying with us and for your good comments and remarks on our hotel.

We will definitely take good advice of your point of view on the breakfast menu although it is difficoult to vary a buffet on a daily base and there is a chance to order a la carte with a difference of price.

The hotel is located directly in the downtown area, a few minutes walking from via Veneto and the Spanish steps. It is located on a hill that allows, for instance, the beautiful view of the Mirabelle restaurant.

Thank you very much for your positive comment on our staff dedication and professionality, we truly believe in team work and in delivering the best service possible.

We are looking forward to welcome you again to the Splendide Royal for your next visit to Rome.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 653 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our Med cruise. After much research I chose this hotel due to affiliation with SLH (usually a good sign for a hotel), the location, style and price. It was absolutely perfect. The staff were fantastic, as other reviewers have said, far exceeded my expectations, they were so helpful and ready to assist with everything. Made my mother and I feel really comfortable and welcome.

The decor is very lovely and the location opposite the Borghese gardens is just delightful. Fantastic spot for a pre-dinner cocktail on the Mirabelle terrace overlooking the city of Rome and the Vatican...just stunning. Location is good for access around the city and compared to other hotels, it was worth the money.

One tiny irritation was the fact there was just one single electrical socket in the room, which I had to crawl under a desk to reach to plug my various eletrical items in and out. But the rest of the hotel and stay more than compensated for this.

There is no doubt I would return to this hotel on my next Rome trip and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a courtyard / inner room - as long as you don't want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much indeed for your detailed review on our hotel. We truly work very hard to provide the best service, details and attention in order to allow our guests to experience Rome at his best.

Sorry for the small inconvenience of the outlet in the wall and many thanks for letting us know, we really need remarks like this to get better and better everyday.

Looking forward to have you back to the Eternal City and the Splendide Royal for another vacation.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

Guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed here for a business meeting and the service at this hotel is outstanding. The staff goes above and beyond to ensure you are happy and comfortable.

Especially nice is the location to walk to so many sights and shopping areas.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROIofLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest relations S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comment! it is our aim and goal to provide the best service we can to our guests, our staff works very hard on that. Thank you for your kindness and we are looking forward to have you back for a vacation.

Kindest regards

Jonathan Zedda

guest relations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The rooms at the Splendide Royal are delightful, the service is excellent, and the location is perfect for the traveler in town for business or pleasure. The hotel restaurant combines outstanding food, with a Michelin star, and a breathtaking view of the city. It is our repeated address in Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephenf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Lovely hotel, arrived early from a long flight from Australia and they let me check in early, staff very accommodating , room is wonderful, I love the ornate style , it's to my taste when in Rome, very happy with this hotel

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#143 of 1,272 in Rome
899 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#43 of 1,272 in Rome
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: Via di Porta Pinciana 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#42 Business Hotel in Rome
#78 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: AU$382 - AU$834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of elegance in the heart of the city, recently restored from a palace dating from 1890 and walking distance from the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel Rome
Splendide Royal Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing