We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De Monti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel De Monti
Ranked #74 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Okay - it's 3rd floor & no elevator, but you need to have good legs for Rome anyway. This is a great hotel, shiny clean, modern. The people are friendly, helpful, funny & of course multilingual. Even the room we had on the street was quiet. Stay here before the prices go up!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awbenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    164
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
47
458
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, I booked mainly due to the price and location, and wasn't expecting too much, whilst I can't say was luxurious, the hotel was spotless clean, in a fantastic location and I cant rate the staff enough. I was initially concerned as our taxi couldn't find the hotel and it is difficult to find initially, but once found ( the man on reception came out onto the street after taxi driver called him), I was impressed, staff were very friendly, gave us invaluable advice on where to go to avoid queues, recommended excellent (and reasonable) restaurants to eat etc, and generally made our short stay very enjoyable.
It is a 5-10 min walk from Palatine Hill, Forum, Colleseum etc, 10-15 toTrevi Fountain, about 20-25 mins to Panthenon, and probably about 40-50 min (leisurely stroll) to Vatican, so if reasonably fit no need for taxi/public transport.

The room was simply furnished, and breakfast was brought to your room in a morning on a tray (toast croissants/yoghurt, coffee etc), there are no communal areas such as breakfast room or bar etc, so if these are the things you want from a hotel, then this is not for you, but if you want a clean, welcoming and friendly place (with comfortable beds) to rest your head after walking around the city, then I can't recommend Hotel de Monti enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iluvcyprus_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here based on trip advisor reviews and were absolutely delighted.
The owner, Alessandro, was fantastic and we had a wonderful first evening in Rome! He had lots of tips and recs for Rome which we happily tried...will definitely go again on our return to Rome. Thanks for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed at the Hotel De Monti for two nights as part of a mid-week sightseeing break. As a solo, female traveller with little Italian language (and my first time in Rome) I was immediately put at ease by the English speaking, friendly and welcoming staff and cleanliness of the Hotel.

Location
The De Monti is located a mere 5-7 minutes walk from the main Termini Station and 10 minutes to the Colosseum along main streets! Everything is within walking distance including the Vatican (30-40minutes). The local area is well lit and I felt safe walking along the streets late into evening.

Breakfast
It is a very well organised hotel - upon check-in you are given details of the WiFi and the order form for breakfast. Each day you fill in the form and 'post' it in the box provided, your selected items are then brought to your door at a time you have chosen (between 7.30 and 10). I strongly recommend the Latte Macchiato – the best I've had in Italy!

Accommodation & Cleanliness
Although my room (double) was not as spacious as the one in the photos, it had everything I needed and was a comfortable base for sightseeing. The en suite bathroom was bright and well laid out and the shower was powerful with constant temperature. The cleanliness of the hotel was second to none - everyday the whole Hotel looked brand new - sparkling clean!

Access
As stated in the Hotel details the De Monti is on the third floor and does not have a lift, however, if you intend to climb the Spanish Steps these stairs should not be a problem. During my stay the staff at reception were true gentlemen and always offered to carry my bags.

The one and only thing I would mention, and by no means a criticism, is the lack of signage to the front of the property. However, if you remember that the Hotel is number 95 Via Panisperna you'll be able to find the front door easily (the Hotel's name can be found on the buzzer system to confirm). The De Monti is only a 2 minute walk from the junction with via Cavour and as a guide is on the floor above another Hotel called B&B Roma which has signs you can use to direct you.

Overall
There is nothing I can say that I did not like about the Hotel De Monti and I will definitely be going back there again. I would rate the De Monti 10/10 - located in the heart of Rome - your heart will be stolen by the De Monti and it's wonderful staff!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WelshGirlTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Manager at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you for sharing al these clear indications regarding our service. I really think it is going to be very useful to all of Trip Advisor members.

It will be such a big pleasure to host you again in the future months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Hotel de Monti is absolutely perfect for sightseeing Rome!! From the hotel we went a different direction each day and were able to walk to all major site-seeing attractions quickly. We stayed in Room 35 which was very clean, quiet, and larger than I thought it was going to be for a European room. We chose what we wanted for breakfast each night, slipped it in the box, and it was brought to our room each morning exactly on time. The hotel does not have a elevator, but it did not bother us at all, got to work off all that wonderful food somehow! :) Alessandro (owner) & his Colleague were SO incredibly helpful!! They are prompt in responding to emails, very professional and helped us plan our exploring with tons of local tips/tricks! The hotel is off the main street which we liked, we felt more than safe walking around until the early morning hours. Hotel de Monti is a must stay when coming to Rome - It was everything we expected and more!!!
Thanks for a wonderful vacation
Jessica & Jayson

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travel98087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro Z, Manager at Hotel De Monti, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you for your nice words regarding our hotel.

I herewith underline that if somebody is only looking for a bed in Rome, that person may not appreciate our small hotel: our happiest guests are the ones who want to experience Roman life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#93 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#125 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#95 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#76 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Monti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Monti

Property: Hotel De Monti
Address: Via Panisperna 95, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): $108 - $201
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Monti 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel in the heart of Rome, De Monti offers you 7 double rooms at the third floor of a 1500 building. Central location, clean rooms, where we will also serve you breakfast every day, and all the insider tips you can get the reception. The building has no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Wotif.com so you can book your Hotel De Monti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing