We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 331
USD 233
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 145
USD 115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)(Great Value!)
USD 180
USD 155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 288
USD 225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Condotti Hotel(Rome)(Great Value!)
USD 162
USD 157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
USD 362
USD 329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 265
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Italia(Rome)(Great Value!)
USD 148
USD 144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Medici(Rome)(Great Value!)
USD 154
USD 146
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
USD 493
USD 406
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
127
84
17
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
84
17
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationnear terminiwalking distanceprivate bathroommain attractionsmetro stationcentral locationmarco
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

La Controra hostel is the prettiest hostel I have ever stayed in. It was very clean, the bathroom was sooo pretty, I will probably copy their design for my next house, and everything about it was just really comfortable. The staff was more than kind, helpful and professional. I was 2 hours late and arrived at 1AM terrified that no one will be there to open the door and that I will have to sleep out on the street, but lucky for me, they waited up for me.
They helped me with everything I needed. Saved me the next day when a different hostel I booked in, turned out to be terrible, and did so much more then expected. This hostel was the best hostel I stayed at the whole time I traveled around Italy, and I am just so lucky I found it. Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoash L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

A great hostel, very keen, lovely staff, good facilities and a great location. The breakfast could be better but other than that its pretty much spot on. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My girlfriend and I booked a private room with a bathroom for 5 nights. It was a great decision. The staff is friendly and inviting, the room was much nicer than I expected and very clean, and they have free wifi. The only change I'd like to see is if they'd put the wifi on every floor, but walking up some stairs or taking the elevator is well worth it. The breakfast is simple, but again it's free. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The hostel is located on two separate floors in the building. The 3rd floor has wifi, the 1st floor does not.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyrswvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I stayed just one night on an extended layover through Rome. My favorite part about this hostel was all the great people I met. It's a small hostel, which I think lends itself well to making it easy to meet and talk to people. The staff was very friendly and helpful, though they're not there 24 hours.

The breakfast in the morning was perfectly fine, nothing special. I thought the bathroom situation was a little odd. I was in a 4 bed dorm that had one bathroom outside, while all the other rooms in the hostel had a bathroom ensuite. I would have rather had shared bathrooms for everyone, so that if one's full there's another one available for use. And the bathroom was quite small, but I took an okay shower in there, so it wasn't too bad.

The beds weren't all that comfortable, but they could've been worse.

The location of the hostel is good, easy walk to the spanish steps, trevi fountain and villa borghese. I would definitely stay here again for a short stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirrrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Good hostel near the Villa Borghese, Trevi Fountain, and Spanish Steps. About a ten minute stroll from the central train station. Rooms were kept very clean. Two solid-sided lockers were provided per bed that were big enough for medium-size luggage. Security in the area was good due to the location near the US embassy.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mturk043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews