We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!!”
Review of Deko Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deko Rome
Ranked #5 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My wife and I stopped over in Rome for 2 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon and based on the reviews from Trip Advisor we decided to stay at Deko Rome. The hotel and Marco and Serena more than lived up to the reviews and our expectations!

We arrived at the Hotel at 9.00am after the long flight from Australia to be welcomed by Serena whom after making us a fantastic espresso and crossiant spent a good half an hour going over the map of Rome and highlighting the areas best worth visiting. As with other guests she also gave us some great tips on where to find the best gelato etc and made some excellent restaurant reservations for us! We were also able to check in early which was very much appreciated after the long flight.

The rooms have been beautifully decorated by Serena who studied Interior Design at University and with Marco's background in Hospitality it's a match made in heaven! It is without doubt the personal touches and level of thoughtfulness that make this place special.

Both Marco and Serena were an absolute delight to deal with from our initial email communication with them to book the accommodation right through to our departure. We were sad to leave them so soon and will definitely be back at Deko Hotel next time we visit Rome!

Marco and Serena, if you are ever in Australia please let us know!!!!!

Julian and Carrie xx

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorzo_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    45
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
112
593
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My wife and I, along with another couple, stayed at Deko from 29 April - 1 May 2012. This was a trip to celebrate my 50th birthday and we selected the Deko due to the wonderful endorsements on this website. It certainly lived up to expectations.

The accomodation itself is small, an office floor that has been converted extremely well into a boutique hotel. I shant describe it much further due to the fact that others have done so extremely well prior to my submission. Suffice to say though, the unique selling factor of this property is the personal touch of Marko and Serena.

Once I had booked Marco was in contact straight away to offer a pick up from the airport in an E Class mercedes at a reasonable price. This worked very well and we were dropped at the premises where we were met by a young girl member of staff as Serena, who was on duty, was busy with departing guests. The hotel is on the second floor and there is an old style lift, which holds 4 maximum. Unfortunately, the girl put us in the lift with our bags and it broke down! Dont do this!

Having made it into the premises a few minutes later, Serena,gave us a drink and started to run through the area and point out many restaurants and tips for a great stay on a map. This is helpful and very informative. If I were to be critical, you get it without consultation on arrival, no matter when you arrove or how far you have travelled and we saw guests from New York receive this input at 2330!

We were then shown to our rooms which are very comfortable and exceptionally clean. We had a small gratis bar which was restocked daily and use of an Ipad in our room. We were advised to lunch at a small restaurant two blocks away where we found other guests who had just checked in and marco buying his lunch! Marco then sent a small glass of lemoncello to each of his guests at the restaurant. This underlined his level of customer care.

Throughout our stay, marco and serena worked exceptionally long hours. Their personal touch, continual offers of free drinks of wine etc, are most welcome. The breakfast is plentiful. Their restaurant recommendations were all first class and I will review them seperately. Of greatest value and experience was Osteria Zi'Mberto where Uri Geller was dining on the night we visited.

If I had one criticism to level, the premises are so small and guests arriving at all hours liable to be sleeping that you are continually told to whisper, making a slight naughty school boy feeling evident - but that is a small gripe. Location is first class, a taxi rank is across the road and buses and metro are handy.

Finally, we discussed with Marco his plans and he said that at some point they might try and obtain more property in the building and expand. That may change the dynamic as the personal touch is certainly their strength. If you have the chance to stay here....do so!

Marco, Serena, thanks for a memorable visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank neville r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I'll give the notice in English for a maximum of person can understand.
We left in love with my wife in Rome this weekend of May 8 2012. Our arrival was made by Serena who offer us a drink and spend more than half an hour to explain the sights to suit your desire on a Map.
Marco the other manager is just as symaptique and they will do everything they can to make your stay pleasant.
Your are surprise This may seem to have so many positive reviews but when the guests are friendly, they must make pub.
Thank you again to Marco and Serena all the little touches that make us feel almost like home.

Pascale and Philippe de Paris (France)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and I stayed in this amazing guest house at the end of march! Marco and Serena are great hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them. We were greeting with wine and a helpful overview of Rome, best places to eat, where to get the best ice cream and tiramisu and places of interest. We took all the recommendations and had a amazing holiday with the best food! Having restaurants booked for us and taxis organised made our holiday even more relaxing! We would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience the non tourist side of Rome as well as the usual tourist sights!

We hope to visit again soon x

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maddield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Recently stayed here with my daughter, Marco and Serena run this hotel, they are fantastic hosts. They guided us on the best restaurants and places to see, the do's and dont's of Rome. My daughter is studying in Italy and Serena was so good speaking in italian with her. They are a very generous couple with their time and making us capuccinno's, pouring glasses of wine, cocktails, they love to chat and are passionate about what they do. In our room was a free mini bar, and Ipad to use for the duration of our stay. We left our suitcases in the hotel on our check out day and I had to come back and change, Marco let me use one of the rooms to change. Nothing was a problem. Hotel was spotless, rooms cleaned each day and mini bar refilled each day. It was like being with good friends and I would definitiey stay here again. Thanks Marco and Serena, Ciao.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoeSligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,742 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,261 in Rome
724 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,261 in Rome
3,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,924 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,184 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,261 in Rome
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deko Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deko Rome

Property: Deko Rome
Address: Via Toscana 1, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#3 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Business Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): $212 - $451
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Deko Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deko Rome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing