We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel delle Muse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel delle Muse
Ranked #181 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“It's OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I agree with all of the positive comments already written by fellow Trippers. However I can't really agree with the ratings they have applied. It's not a dump but it's not Shangri La either, it's just, well, OK. The bedroom walls are as thin as the breakfast Spam as can be testified to by the fact I learned the details of the marriage breakdown of the American lady shouting down her phone at 11:30 one night. The 360 bus that serves the hotel runs frequently and takes a long 30 to 45 mins depending on the traffic. Two tips, the stop before the hotel is slightly nearer and when waiting for the bus at Termini in Rome face the main road and the bus approaches from the left. We stood on the pier facing the wrong way and missed the bus. (wandered where all those people disappeared to ) The neighbourhood is safe and quiet and there is absolutely nothing to see or do there. We ended up returning into Rome after showering and changing each evening, which was a bit of a pain after spending full days walking in the heat. But it was worth it just to take a drink and enjoy a meal sitting at a restaurant table in a beautiful piazza as the sun went down. OK some might say, you should have booked a more central hotel. I agree but before doing that I did as most of you are doing now. I went on the internet and read Tripadvisor and the clinchers were the relative costs and the glowing reviews about the restaurant. The food was - well, OK but we had much better out.
So lessons learned for me, stay nearer to the place you are visiting and make sure that you have plenty of alternative places to eat around you. Oh and finally, reviews are very subjective so take everything you read with a pinch of salt - Ciao

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    366
    97
    27
    11
See reviews for
208
380
31
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

The staff in this hotel is very friendly, but the hotel itself is average. If you're a budget traveler, or if you're only staying there a couple of nights, this hotel has what you need. The rooms are a decent size, the breakfast has a lot of variety, and the hotel is close to the bus stop (bus 360).

The hotel has a restaurant downstairs, but I would skip it. My wife and I ate lunch there our first day because it was convenient and we were tired from traveling. On a scale of 1-10, the food was a 3 or 4. My pizza was not home made, and it did not taste very good. A frozen pizza from the grocery store tastes better than what I had. My wife had pasta that tasted like any pasta you can make out of a box. I recommend the hotel for the budget traveler, but not their restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank US_traveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Arrived back home to the UK after a trip to Rome to celebrate my bf's 30th this week & just HAD to write a raving review on the Delle Muse. What a terrific find! (well done me!) After reading mostly positive reviews on trip advisor, I decided to go for it given that what I knew it lacked in location, it was sure to make up for in hospitality & service. Obviously, we certainly were't disappointed! (Hint: book through the well-publicised Trivago website for a real steal!)

After a 2-hr flight from Gatwick (another hint: take easyJet, no bad experiences so far & with a specified dimension of hand luggage, you can take as much weight as you like as long as you can put your bag in the overhead bin unassisted) we arrived at Fiumicino airport. Very easy signs to the bus ticket office in terminal 3, advisable to take the "airport shuttle" to the Termini for 4 euros, unless you book Terravision online for 4 euros, it'll cost you 6 euros at the airport- those 2 euros saved can buy you an awesome Italian gelato later!
For the shuttle bus/coach, turn right out of the exit & walk along until you get to the numbered bus stands, the airport shuttle called "Schiaffini" was at stand 4. VERY efficient, roughly 50 minute journey into the Termini. Once at the Termini, things got a little confusing. After reading a very informative review on here giving advice on where to get the bus to Delle Muse, we still got lost as the Termini is HUGE! From the drop-off point from the airport shuttle bus, walk into the Termini up to any of the tobacco/newspaper kiosks & ask for 1 of 3 different types of bus ticket- 1 euro ticket will get you a 75-minute journey from A to B, 4 euros for a full day travelcard ticket or best of all if you intend on making full use of the extensive public transport services, 11 euros for a 3 day ticket. The only drawback is if you arrive around lunchtime, you will have missed half a day on the 11 euro ticket as they expire exactly 3 days after the day you bought it at 23:59 so only expect to get a full 3 days' use out of it if you arrive early & use it like mad!
Then take the exit marked "main entrance" (yes sadly, we failed to notice this after walking round the Termini for about 45 minutes!) with a taxi rank directly outside. Carry on past the taxi rank over to the great big green metal portakabin- type structure & it is here you will find the information kiosk for any information you may possibly need. The 360 bus stop is behind the green portakabin on a long thin raised pavement. It goes in 2 different directions from the same stretch of pavement so watch out. For the hotel, take the 360 bus in the Muse direction NOT Zama direction. You must validate your ticket (whichever option you choose) in the machine when you get on the bus. Once you've validated the 11 euro ticket once, that's it, no need to do it again for the 3 days you're using it. Take the 360 bus right to the end of the route (Muse) then walk directly behind the bus back down a small hill past a news stand on the left-hand side of the road & you'll see the delle Muse on the corner of the next road on the left.

When we arrived, the reception staff were very friendly & extremely accommodating. We were immediately given 2 maps of Rome (1 "idiot's guide" with big pictures of the main sites, 1 much more detailed with bus, tram & metro routes), info sheet on bus routes & tickets & info about meal times at the hotel. They will take a copy of your passport as most hotels do but they will only keep them for 10 minutes or so. DON'T FORGET Rome charges a city tax (1 euro per person per night) which must be paid IN CASH so don't look surprised when they ask for this when you check out! The lift looks like something out of the Cold War & only has enough room for 2 people with hand luggage or 1 person with hand luggage & a suitcase so be prepared to be patient!
When we let ourselves into our room, I was totally bowled over by the cleanliness- MILES better than some 4 & 5 star hotels I've stayed in! There is a free safe in the wardrobe, a TV with lots of Italian channels but only 1 dodgy English channel that had awful reception but Sky Sports in Italian that is bearable to watch til you fall asleep at night! The room was cosy not huge but the bed was unbelievably comfortable! Best of all, the bath towels were ACTUALLY big enough to go all the way around you, not the excuse-for-towels you normally get in most hotels- total result!! The hand towels were more unusually like napkins but served their purpose reasonably well. We stayed in room 258 looking onto the main road which was a little noisy but no more than you'd get in a Central London hotel. It would only bother you if you normally live in the extreme quietness of the countryside at home! The air-con was a little questionable but it did seem very windy for the whole of our stay in Rome so we didn't end up needing it on at all.
Breakfast was just great! What they didn't have wasn't worth mentioning! Hint: allocate a good 10 mins on your first morning to have a good look around at everything on offer so you don't miss anything! If you stock up well on breakfast, you won't have to worry about eating til around 4pm each day as we did! The 18 euro set menu in the evening was gorgeous & great value for money. If you like a drink in the evening, don't pay the stupid prices for beer in town (MUCH more expensive than wine!) Boyfriend was well chuffed that a can of Moretti was only 2 euros at the hotel so take heed!
Another great recommendation from reception was a restaurant in the Piazza Ungheria called Trattoria Rossini, gorgeous food & again cheap, good quality wine & beer.
On the whole, a HUGELY enjoyable experience made all that more special by the hospitality at delle Muse.

Bellissimo!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2cazzabean5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Me and my boyfriend went to Rome for a week to celebrate Valentine's Day. We chose Hotel Delle Muse because we only needed a hotel as a base and wouldn't be spending much time there as we would be exploring Rome!

Hotel Delle Muse really exceeded our expectations, it's fantastic value for money! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, we were always asking them for advice and directions and they were really clued up! The neighbourhood was nice and quiet, we felt safe there. It is easy to travel to and from the hotel on the buses, since we're students so money is tight we even used public transport all the way to and from the airport, it's perfectly do-able!

We dined at the restaurant the day we arrived and it was actually really nice. Breakfast is pretty awesome, there's a wide selection of cereals, pastries, fruits, yohurts, breads, jams, cheese, meats, juices and hot drinks. There is also a hot breakfast consisting of bacon, eggs, sausages and potatoes... however we didn't find this so appetizing. But overall the breakfast is ample, definately sets you up for the day!

Our room was good, spacious, perfectly adequate. It had a complementary safe in which was nice and put us at ease. The bathroom was good, shower was brilliant, really powerful! Everything was cleaned and towels/bedsheets etc replaced every day even on the day we left the hotel at 4pm! There is also 3 computers downstairs if you need to use the internet which was handy.

Overall, I would definately recommend this hotel if you're on a budget but still want a clean, friendly, good quality place to lay your head with great breakfasts and attentive staff. It's a fantastic base for exploring Rome!

Room Tip: Our room was a budget non-refund double room and was perfectly adequate for anyone healthy enough to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuriolusPuella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Just outside the city but well worth the short bus/tram ride. the staff are wonderful, the hotel breakfast is excellent just what is needed for the walks to the various sites. the rooms are large and clean the hotel is not more than average 3* but when u consider the prices for hotels within the city walls and very few include breakfast it is worth the short cheap journey.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizilizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Poggioverde
#116 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#214 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#188 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Monteverde
Le Fate Apartments
Le Fate Apartments
#153 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Chroma Pente
#160 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel delle Muse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel delle Muse

Property: Hotel delle Muse
Address: Via Tommaso Salvini 18, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#83 Family Hotel in Rome
#208 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): $89 - $194
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel delle Muse 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three star Hotel delle Muse is located in a very quite and green residential area called Parioli which is traditionally considered the most elegant part of Rome.All our 57 rooms have: en suite WC with shower, hairdryer, Color LCD 21’satellite TV, direct dial telephone, air conditioning/heater, Internet ADSL Cable Connection (free of charge)Internet Wi.FI Connection (free of charge) ,Electronic Safe.On the premises are elevator, safe, bar and restaurant where genuine and varied food is served either in the dining rooms or in the large garden during the summer months.Free Luggage Room. L’Hotel Delle Muse*** è situato nel quartiere Parioli , una zona verde e tranquilla che è per tradizione la più elegante di Roma.Tutte le nostre camere offrono: Bagno in camera con doccia , Asciugacapelli , Telefono diretto, Televisore LCD 21’’ con canali satellitari e Sky, Connessione Internet ADSL via cavo gratuita , Connessione Internet Wi.Fi gratuita , Aria Condizionata/Riscaldamento , Cassaforte Elettronica.Inoltre l’Hotel è provvisto di ascensore , cassette di sicurezza, servizio Bar e di Ristorante nel quale è possibile gustare svariati piatti genuini sia nei saloni interni che nell’ampio giardino durante i mesi estivi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Hotel delle Muse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delle Muse Hotel
Delle Muse Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing