We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #9 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We booked less than a week before travelling to Rome flying into Fiumicio Airport. We decided not to take the train into the centre, we think that the single train fare is around 14 euros each, but opted for the coach at 8 euros return each - already saving 40 euros from our spending money. The journey on a Sunday afternoon from the airport to the street alongside the station took only 35 mintes, on the timetable it is up to 55 minutes. Our return journey on the Wednesday afternoon again only took 35 minutes - fantastic value - risk it! Watch out for the (Romany?) beggars around the station. Even though we were very vigilant and had our bags across our bodies my partner found that, having been distracted by one pulling at his arm, the zip on his bag had been undone without him noticing - luckily his wallet and passport were still intact.
Artemide Hotel is only a short (10 minutes?) walk from the station so is okay if you're just dragging one suitcase each - some of the road/pavement is uneven or cobbled but manageable. As mentioned by other reviewers, the welcome was excellent - we were given a local map, annotated with places we should visit, a voucher for a 'freebie' drink on the roof terrace and the bellhop escorted us to our room. This was fairly small, overlooking a derelict building next door, but it was adequate for our three night stay with a good bathroom, all very clean. The only two quibbles were that the a/c was quite noisey and the basin emitted a bit of a pong when water was run into it - we mentioned both issues on the comments sheet when we left.
Breakfast, buffet style, was excellent - good choice of food and wonderful service, especially from the friendly, helpful maitre d'. We enjoyed some of the interaction between the waiting staff - we're sure they weren't really having a dig at each other all the time.... We noticed some guests sneaking out fruit and bread for their lunch - tempting but not playing the game as far as we are concerned!
The Artemide is situated on the Via Nazionale which is quite busy and within walking distance of many sites. These is a bus from a stop opposite which takes you direct to the Vatican. We bought a three day Roma pass for 30 euros which gives free access to two listed attractions and discount thereafter and unlimited public transport use. Unfortunately, this was not a bargain for us - the ticket for entrance to the colosseum and foro is 12 euros each ( this took up most of one day) and we went to the ara pacis which is 8.50 euros each. We only had a 1 euro bus ride and other attractions we visited, including the Vittoriano monument rooftop for the fabulous view, did not qualify for the discount - so we had value of only 21.50 euros from the 30 euros cost. Look at the list of attractions in full before buying the pass, especially, if like us, you are likely to walk everywhere rather than ride. Remember also that the Vatican is another state so is not included in the pass.
We enjoyed our free drink on the roof terrace - to qualify you must visit before 7.00p.m. which suited us - we went after our first afternoon walking around and before going out to dinner. The staff very friendly, the view, although not spectacular, was pleasant, looking out over the rooftops.
We went to the Spanish Steps area on our first evening - full of the formulaic tourist trap restaurants - okay but quality not that good unless you spend at the higher end of the scale - it is Rome, after all. The next two nights we went to Via del Boschetto just ten muinutes walk from the hotel. Turn left out of the hotel and walk up past the Banco 'd'Italia building with palm trees/parakeets and turn left into Via del Boschetto. We tried a place recommended by the hotel - Al Boschetta - friendly welcome but food just 'okay'. It also has a 15% service charge. The next night, our last night, we went to L'Asino d'Oro in the same street, recommended in the Rough Guide and given good reviews on Trip Advisor. Try to get a table outside on the street rather than the rather brightly lit, soulless interior - booking advised - we were lucky to get a table as we arrived early, lots were sent away later. The food is quite different from menus elsewhere. There is no wine list - just a recommendation. Prices good - the wine was 16 euros a bottle and our total bill was just over 90 euros for three courses with aperitif, freebie, apetiser and bottle oif wine and still water, coffee.Overall, you'll be able to tell we had a great first trip to Rome - wonderful.

Room Tip: We were in 419 which is at the end of a short corridor so only noise from one side - it doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank numberten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,226
    1,069
    139
    23
    17
See reviews for
1,520
3,721
138
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,018)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and loved it. Very large room by European standards, beautiful large bathroom, spotlessly clean. Service everywhere within the hotel is top notch. Breakfast was unbelievable, roof top terrace was lovely to come back too at the end of a long day and have a night cap or cappuccino. You can walk to everything especially the train station. This was our third hotel in Italy and definitely the most comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trottraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to Italy. We spent four nights at the Artemide Hotel. Our room was good - bigger than I expected in Rome and with a great bathroom. LOVE having a robe provided since our habit is to be out all day, shower and rest before dinner, and then head out again. The complimentary mini- bar was greatly appreciated - especially the water. We received a bottle of wine, a glass of prosecco on the rooftop terrace and one discounted dinner. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the linens were nice and fresh. We seldom eat in hotel restaurants, but we had a very rainy day and decided to take the evening "off." The food at the restaurant was fine - not the best we had in Rome, but good. Breakfast was great. Lots of choice and wonderful coffee. You are seated in a dining room, self-serve breakfast but wait staff brings you freshly made coffee. The location of the hotel was fairly central, but make no mistake - you will be walking your little legs off in Rome! I confess to giving in to my feet and taking a few taxis. Be careful - we were ripped off twice. Once badly (from the Colosseum back to the hotel) and once less badly from Campo di Fiori back to the hotel). Make sure that meter starts at three euros and try to have a general idea of your route.

Room Tip: I wasn't aware there were rooms with terraces. I'd definitely be checking that out if I wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Our stay at the Artemide in Rome was very enjoyable. We had nice, clean rooms, which were not large, but comfortable. The staff was very courteous and helpful and the breakfast was exceptional. The room had a complimentary min-bar which came in very handy when returning to the room after a long, hot exhausting day. Being located on a main thoroughfare, we had access to bus and taxi, and when we chose to do so, were able to walk to many of the most popular sites of Rome. All in all, a very nice stay. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights at the Artemide Hotel and were beyond pleased with the accommodations and the high quality of service from the staff. We had a room with our own private terrace which was extraordinary! (Room 624). The hotel was very clean, quiet and centrally located. We walked to the hotel from the bus station/termini. It was a little cumbersome with the luggage in tow but we did it. The location was perfect for us. We could walk to all the major sites, except Vatican City, and we were very close to the Metro Rail station for their underground subways. Transportation was easy and very manageable from this hotel. The restaurant on the rooftop was okay. There's not much of a view and the food was average. Location, staff service and cleanliness are the best features of this hotel. The beds were very average, but we found this to be the case everywhere we went in Italy. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,985 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,805 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#30 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Property: Hotel Artemide
Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): $302 - $599
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing