We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Outstanding!!”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #8 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding!!”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My wife and I recently celebrated our honeymoon (as well as our first trip overseas) in Rome on 29 Feb-5 Mar and picked this hotel based upon the many positive reviews it received. I can happily say that Hotel Artemide lived up to the hype and helped give us a wonderful time in Italy. From the moment we checked in when we were greeted by the gracious Valentina to the moment we checked out with the friendly Alessandro, we were treated with class and warmth. The hotel manager even sent us a bottle of merlot and mixed nuts as a honeymoon gift! The hotel itself is an older (like most facilities in Rome) but well maintained building and we did not experience any technical issues. Our suite #402 was splendid and had a balcony overlooking Via Nazionale and, although it overlooks a busy street, we did not experience any issues regarding noise because we are heavy sleepers and generally not bothered by noise (that's what living in a city does to you!). The room had many amenities including sweets, mini-fridge with complimentary water/beer/soda, and plenty of space. We also did not feel unsafe in the hotel nor surrounding areas. The neighborhood is very urban yet safe. There is also actually a McDonalds down the street for anyone who truly craves American food but there is also a mini-grocery store across the street as well. The nicest restaurant that is closest to the hotel is Doverali, which is also across the street next to the grocery store. The food there is good and the service is pleasant. However there are plenty of trattorias and less fancy ristorantes with good food nearby too. Via Nazionale is a major street so there are also shops and sights nearby as well as a major museum that had a Guggenheim exhibit while we were there. If you stay at Artemide, you are literally no more than a 15-20 min walk from many sights such as Trevi Fountain, Via Veneto, and the Colosseum so the location is good. The only thing that is somewhat far away was the Vatican, but you can take a taxi there for about 10 Euros if you don't feel like taking the 45 min walk. We did not use the Metrorail in Rome and hired a car to pick us up at the airport when we arrived to take us to the hotel (it was an excellent limo service with prices comparable to a taxi). When we were leaving to go home, we tried taking the Metrorail to Fiumicino Airport from Termini Station however we found it to be very confusing and not user-friendly so we just grabbed a taxi instead from Termini. If you do decide to use the Metrorail, the hotel is about 3-4 city blocks away, which isn't too bad but just be prepared to not get lost because it can be confusing if you are unfamiliar with the area. Also the only thing we feel we missed out on was the Terrace Restaurant/Bar on the roof of the hotel. I had read many great reviews of it but the hotel was currently refurbishing and remodeling it so it was closed unfortunately. Overall the Hotel Artemide is a jewel in Rome and I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper or generally do not like lots of noise or lights, do not stay in a room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LY1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,410
    1,091
    140
    23
    17
See reviews for
1,568
3,833
144
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,047)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We visit Rome a lot and usually stay at the Villa San Pio on the Aventine. We have considered using a new hotel for a while as we felt the San Pio was trading off the back of its reputation and its service was not up to its previous best. (see its falling Tripadvisor rank).

We selected Artemide because of the Tripadvisor reviews and were very pleased. From the moment you arrive they treat you like a guest not as an opportunity to charge you for every extra:

Free wi fi
Free international newspapers in your room
Free wine/coffee on arrival
Free toiletries
Free mini bar - restocked every day with beer, water, soft drinks, biscuits, nuts etc
Free tea and coffee making in the room

The reception staff were very helpful, polite and relaxed (everything the San Pio is not!). The breakfast was excellent with lots of polite offers to bring more coffee.

The room (classic) was comfortable, clean and relatively large for Rome (exact floor space on their web site).

Is it our next San Pio??? Hmmmm, not sure I can honestly say it's outstanding and worthy of a top 10 rank. But perhaps that view is clouded by the fact that the roof top terrace and restaurant were closed for refurbishment (re open in April). That was a major shame as we value some open air amenity when we are in Rome and the roof terrace was a major reason for choosing this hotel back in November.

We are unsure whether we will try somewhere else next time, but I am sure we wouldnt be disappointed if we returned.

Great hotel and excellent service!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PMwhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We have just returned for a great stay in Rome.The Artemide is ideally situated for sightseeing of major sights and the metro is nearby for connections to other attractions!!
Hotel Artemide was very good value for money.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
The excellent breakfast set us up for the day!! and a mini bar in the room.. restocked daily for no fee ...which is unusual for europe was a nice touch.
The hotel room was very clean & comfortable.
We ate in the Hotel Restaurant and found the food to be tasty, well cooked and good value for money.. the wine list is good and reasonable too!!
We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My two daughters and I stayed here this past week for 3 nights. I booked a triple superior room, which was a good value. Although the room was tight with two twins and a sleeper sofa, the bathroom was nice and the window faced a courtyard, so it was quiet. There is very little closet/drawer space, so expect to live out of your suitcase. There is a tea setup in the closet, too, which was nice but occupied some of the precious storage room.
The front desk staff was very helpful, and the breakfast was good and the service was prompt. I had arranged through the hotel for a car to pick us up at the airport, and the driver was there when we came out of customs--a big help if you're traveling with kids.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BbytthDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield uk
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

After reading Trip Advisor we chose this hotel. At first it seems quite a normal type of hotel, but they pay attention to the little things, which puts it above many hotels of a similar standard. It is very convenient, the 64 bus is an easy way to get around and it is worth buying a Rome transport ticket, we bought a 7 day one. By I assume looking at my passport they realised it was my birthday and the bottle of wine and nuts delivered to our room was really appreciated. I enjoyed the lobster in their restaurant and had it twice!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walkingWakefieldUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,145 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#11 of 1,258 in Rome
3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,258 in Rome
707 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,258 in Rome
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Property: Hotel Artemide
Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): $238 - $551
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing