We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can be better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giglio Dell' Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Giglio Dell' Opera
Ranked #1,052 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Excellent location 10 minutes away from Colosseum and walk distance from Main Station in Rome.
Room was clean and spacious by the standards of old Rome, with fine picture and well decorated.
Breakfast was sufficent , but they can do better offers.
Staff were helpfuk and polite
Good value for money

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    146
    170
    128
    137
See reviews for
123
265
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

The Grand, it ain't! But honestly, if you are on a budget like us and want a hotel close to the station with a good variety of relatively cheap eateries on the doorstep, then you don't do too badly.

The room was clean and cleaned regularly and the shower hot and constant. Ok, the toilet seat wobbled alarmingly but we could live with that. The room had probably last been decorated in Mussolini's time but had once been quite grand. We could only find three Italian channels on the TV but actually picked up a lot of Italian from them, which can't be bad.

The lift floor was a bit suspect and we tended to stand around the edge. The breakfast was adequate but I wouldn't recommend the fruit juices!
And the welcome? It was polite if a little indifferent - I felt more a cash cow than a venerated guest!!

But Rome is wonderful - intimate and inviting with buildings of warm, soothing colour and delightful surprises around the corner; amazing architecture and stylish residents. Don't miss the views and the peace of the Borghese Gardens, truly an oasis.

Room Tip: We were at the back and with the window open we could hear all the air conditioning units from the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

The hotel was very dark inside but we didn't really mind because at least the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Bathroom was also adequate but every time someone took a shower, the glass door would leak water and it would get flooded. I felt bad for the poor housekeeper who had to clean it afterwards.

The one thing that stood out for me was when it was time to leave (a very early morning), the concierge called up a taxi for us and brewed some good italian coffee for me and my friends. I love that kind of hospitality. Will probably stay again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rc1840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

i write this comment in english because probably not only italians tourists would "enjoy" the giglio hotel. very dark hotel, close to the central station , bad exterior signage, room very old and humble. A/C out of order (30°c in town!!), television with only 3 channels , at the front desk nobody solved these matters . the breakfast? low quality and unfreshness.... i called my agency and asked to don't book again this hotel in a future, even though no vacancies in the rest of Rome.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dariochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gigliodellopera, Direttore generale at Giglio Dell' Opera, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Guest,
we are very sorry that you were so unhappy in our Hotel, even that you are italian, to write a comment in english.
Maybe you were not given one of the best rooms, but to write about the hotel's sign, it seems eccessive.... even if it's ugly (and for us it isn't ! ) , I'm sure it didn't have any influence in any way on your stay !!!
You could have simply asked our hotel staff, and they would have found a way to help you suddisfy your requests.
We hope that, in the future, you will give us the possibility to show you that staying in our Hotel is not so bad !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

macclesfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

stayed here for two nights, Room was OK, a good size with king sized bed. Hotel is a bit of a dump, not bad postion , 8 euros to Trevi fountain at night in a taxi.
Breakfast is rubbish and not worth having so we didnt.
first day NO hot water for a shower.
Only stay here if you think your budget wont get you any better

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rostellan122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gigliodellopera, Direttore generale at Giglio Dell' Opera, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Guest,
firstly we apologize for the missing of the hot water, but, as you know, it can happen in any Hotel and is beyond our control. That morning, as you client informed us, we called the tecnician as it was something that the Hotel staff couldn't fix, and as you know was fixed during the day, more than that ...what could we do?!?
We are unhappy to read that even if your room was ok ( as you said!) you found the Hotel a
"dump". If you had any problems with your room, our staff would have helped you to suddisfy your requests!
We hope that in the future you can give us a second chance, and if so, please contact us directly and we will be very happy to soddisfy your requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#770 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#600 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#868 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#958 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#1,084 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#983 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giglio Dell' Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giglio Dell' Opera

Property: Giglio Dell' Opera
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 14, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,052 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): $73 - $342
Hotel Class:3 star — Giglio Dell' Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Giglio dell'Opera is located in the downtown of Rome and is a 10 minute walk from the Coliseum and less than 200 meters from the train and subway in Rome. All rooms are supplied with flat-screen TV, air conditioning, minibar (on request), soundproof windows etc. The rooms are decorated with classic furniture and bathrooms are equipped with hair dryer, bath or shower. Every morning is served a cold buffet breakfast with sweet and savory food with hot and cold drinks. The Trevi Fountain is just a 15 minute walk and a 20 minute walk from the Spanish Steps ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your Giglio Dell' Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Dell` Opera Hotel Rome
Giglio Dell Opera Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing