We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, friendly staff, walking distance to the Colosseum, great food AND a rooftop overlooking Rome ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #320 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Mediterraneo Hotel on Via Cavour must be one of the best hotels in all of Rome. Convenience (about a 1.5 minute walk from the train station, and a 10 minute walk to the Colosseum) mixed with kindness from the staff make this hotel an ideal spot for your stay in Rome. Enjoy a gourmet meal on the roof during sunset with a distant St. Peters as your backdrop. I have stayed at this hotel with groups and on my own and would suggest it to anyone looking for an affordable spot to rest your head.

Room Tip: On the 8th floor the rooms have windows/doors that open up to balconies. It's the best way to he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalina777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 491 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

Good location, right next to Rome's central station. Useful for getting fast places, including the airport. Walking distance (15-20mins) to most main attractions.
Big rooms, with rather outdated furniture and decorations of medium quality. Still, very clean (even though environmentally unfriendly - daily change of towels etc with no option to re-use).
Basic breakfast for a 4* hotel, with somewhat long queues in getting coffee etc and some times having to wait a bit for a free table.
Service was below expectations, as the staff would do its job all-in-all, but neither friendly, nor courteous.
Wifi is free at all areas, but one has to get a different password for every single device which needs to be updated daily...

Room Tip: Go for a high floor, as the hotel is next to central busy roads and it can get a bit loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jopajopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I stayed for four nights in 02/2011 and the hotel was very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful with booking excursions, taxi calls and money exchange. We arrived in the morning and our room wasn't ready yet so we did have to wait a couple of hours, but the concierge led us into the restaurant and let us have breakfast free of charge, which was nice. The only thing that I would have to complain about was I did not receive the room that I had booked online through Expedia. The room however, was very large and very clean and had a nice view of Via Cavour, a very bustling, lively street. I would recommend the hotel to anyone. It was in a convenient area, close to major attractions.

Room Tip: Just make sure you get the room you booked--
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmk213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Only thing going for this hotel is the service and possible location if you want to be near the Termini.
Room was tiny, dark and facing some side street. No view. Decor was old and poor. Bathroom- hardly! Just a practical place to stay

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mediterraneo for one night prior to a cruise. This hotel is well-maintained, the rooms are a little larger than traditional European rooms, the public areas are lovely, and the staff was wonderful. The elevators were also a little larger than some of the other European hotels at which we have stayed. It is situated very close to Termini train station and the local buses. We had not trouble catching a bus to Piazza Navona, which was a short walk to the Pantheon and other tourist sites. Up the street (opposite direction from the train station) are two important churches that are within walking distance (one is St. Peter in Chains and I think that the other is Santa Maria Maggiore, but I'm not certain). We plan to stay at this hotel again when we are next in Rome.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
#313 of 1,271 in Rome
966 reviews
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#480 of 1,271 in Rome
541 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#97 of 1,271 in Rome
3,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#231 of 1,271 in Rome
1,230 reviews
Esquilino
Gioberti Art Hotel
Gioberti Art Hotel
#123 of 1,271 in Rome
348 reviews
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#165 of 1,271 in Rome
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Via Cavour 15, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#174 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $163 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Mediterraneo, an outstanding example of Art Decò architecture, is located in the center of Rome on top of the Esquilino Hill, the highest of the seven hills of Rome. The elegant penthouse suites of the Mediterraneo offer a unique view of the city of Rome. The Roof Garden Bar & Restaurant "La Terrazza" offers a panoramic view of Rome from its terrace. The Mediterraneo Hotel has 245 Rooms, 5 Conference Rooms, Garage, Roof Garden Bar & Restaurant, Fitness Center, Air Conditioning, TV Satellite, Minibar, Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bettoja Mediterraneo Hotel
Rome Hotel Bettoja Mediterraneo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing