We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Barocco, an oasis in the middle of the city”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Port Charlotte, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Barocco, an oasis in the middle of the city”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This was our best selection out of 4 for hotels in Italy. The hotel is within walking distance of everything there is to do in historic Rome. When we weren't touring, the hotel was a great place to relax. Every morning we got a good start with their fantastic breakfast consisting of tasty, wholesome and varied food choices. In the late afternoon, a cold beverage in the lounge followed by a nice bath with lovely bathroom amenities and lighting in the tub made me ready to go back out for evenings in the city. The service was especially pleasant and accommodating making us feel very comfortable and welcomed. The hotel offered everything we needed right down to the bowl of fruit in the room. The bedding was especially comfortable making for a restful sleep. We particularly liked having our room in the annex where we had extra privacy and security. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room in the annex. It was superb. We especially liked having the room a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kit n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,209
    554
    76
    20
    2
See reviews for
482
1,754
102
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Location is everything at this hotel. You can walk to so many things and many great restaurants. From walking in the door I guess I was expecting a more upscale hotel. The lobby is pretty non-discript and the hallways are up and down a few steps to the right, then left..... just cut up. Our room, a superior double was very small and dark. Little to no room for luggage to speak of so with that and the light issue I felt somewhat unorganized during our stay trying to find what clothes I wanted to wear. The bathroom was roomier and brighter. We arrived on Saturday and all night long we heard music (boom-boom) coming from somewhere 'til like 6:30 a.m. I told the receptionist and he wasn't aware of any disco or club close by. The last 2 nights were quieter. The staff was helpfull with dinner reservations and with a problem we had leaving a CC at a restaurant. Also, very clean (although our carpet was dirty) and nicely appointed room/bath. They also have a very nice breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Tough call- very expensive for what you get but the location can't be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenfar93035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francocaruso, Direttore generale at Barocco Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for having taken the time to describe your experience at the Hotel Barocco. By reading the title of your review I had the feeling that you had difficulty in describing your stay, since you perceived certain elements which didn't quite meet your requirements. The underlying problem seems to be the fact that you had a different expectation of the hotel and we offer something quite different to what you were seeking. I came to this conclusion by reading your travel profile which shows a person who was not quite able to capture the beauty of the Trevi Fountain or St. Mark's Square in Venice, or by the Colosseum. These are all monuments to which you attributed only 4 starts simply because it was raining and there were too many people. The Hotel Barocco, is therefore a place which would not quite generate the right emotions for you. We try to communicate each day to prospective travellers that this is not a cooky cutter sheraton type hotel, but a hotel located in a noble palazzo of the 1700s. Travellers who choose this type of hotel normally have a strong appreciation for antiquity and art. They appreciate that a hotel located in an ancient building is synonymous of peculiar shaped spaces and irregular corridors. There is a lot more effort to efficiently manage a hotel which is housed in a building not designed to be a hotel, but this is also it's finest attribute for many of our guests. There is sometimes something very magical about taking a step back in time and experiencing a building which is authentic and not so boringly predictable; a place which makes you feel you are in Rome and not New York, London or Tokyo.

Franco Caruso
General Manager
Hotel Barocco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

From the great breakfast choices, location to Trevi Fountain and the Metro, to the wonderful concierge who was so helpful in making our dinner reservations for 2 nights, the Hotel Barocco was the perfect oasis in Rome. Tasteful decorations and lots of storage room along with the added little tokens of appreciation during our stay would prove to be a very good choice for anyone looking for a hotel with the perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrsajk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galesburg, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. It is charming with great rooms and new modern bathroom facilities. It was our favorite hotel of the entire trip! You will not be disappointed if you choose this hotel. The breakfast in the mornings was absolutely fantastic as well! The homemade omlettes were to die for!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and it was quiet and the room was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Hotel Barocco was our last stop during a two week trip to Italy, and it was a fantastic end to a wonderful trip. The room was comfortable and nicely appointed, and we had a nice view of Piazza Barberini and its fountain from our room. Breakfast was nice, and the hotel bar was a quiet place to reflect on our sightseeing at the end of the day. The hotel is within walking distance of many of the attractions of Rome, and there is a subway station in the Piazza Barberini for any longer trips you'd want to take, such as the Vatican.

You might pay a bit more for this hotel, but I'd say its worth extra cost.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the piazza are a bit noisier, but we enjoyed the view. If you want more peace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elpndj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,614 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,092 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#11 of 1,256 in Rome
3,484 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,256 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): $260 - $571
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing