We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Ranked #227 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great price and nice location”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed at the Artdeco for one night before an Eastern Mediterranean Cruise.

The front desk was very accommodating in getting us a room early in the day (our overnight flight arrived early in the morning). The included buffet breakfast was hard to beat boasting a variety of sweetbreads, eggs cooked to order and great coffee.

The room was well furnished and lived up to the name of the hotel (strong artdeco period look).

The hotel is in the embassy district. It is a very safe area at night (although there may appear to be a lot of police and soldiers around).

Access to central Rome sights and Rome Termini railway station were easy. The free WiFi was a bit hard to figure out (you need a card with a code on it from the front desk) but worked well.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianInMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    539
    182
    40
    11
See reviews for
193
427
95
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I was (as ever!) slightly worried to read some negative reviews about this hotel just prior to our visit. We need not have worried at all. The cinema previously mentioned was not visible from the side of the hotel we were in, and was only noticed as I made a point of looking for it. (not to use ha-ha!)
The hotel is in a good location near to the metro & the Termini and yes, its all walkable too, though Rome is bigger than I anticipated so the historic sights are actually further spaced than imagined.
We dined in the hotel once and found the dinner menu limited but what we ate was lovely and well cooked/presented. Breakfast was typically continental and the hot stuff was some rather rubbery scrambled eggs and microwaved bacon/proscuito type meat. The cereal and fresh fruit etc was all good however, but you will be disappointed if you are an American expcting the typical American type breakfast fayre.
Staff at the hotel were all polite and helpful, though to be honest we really only used it as a bed and breakfast base being out all day long. There is free Wifi via a scratch card from reception, and a computer that guests can use in the lobby with a printer so that you can pre-book return flight seats etc - all very handy.
One thing worth a mention is that our 2 round pin European adaptor did not fit any sockets as they now have 3 pin sockets (middle pin being earth) We managed to buy another adaptor very cheaply from a local supermarket however.
Beds were firm as previously mentioned but A?C worked effectively and the rooms were cleaned really well daily. The bathroom was large and clean and yes, the bath/shower is not what you are used to as the water pressure is low, but it works, just slowly.
Rome itself was so easy to travel round. V impressed by the ease of the metro and local bus service. You can buy a 3 day tourist metro card for 11 euros and get a bus from the airport to termini for 4 euros - bargain!

Room Tip: We were in room 136 which was extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kjcloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abu dhabi
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

i stayed only one night .the hotel near metro station .the room was not good but big and aceptable just cover what you need . its better if you can stay at higher floors.i had breakfast there it was normal no prober hot food.
you can stay there if you get good price

Room Tip: higher floors is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advisor321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed here for only one night as only 2 days in Rome, found it via a website and after reading through various comments,which were mixed reviews, decided to go for this hotel.
It was an average price,near the terminal station,5 minute walk,there is also a metro station not too far away as well,the Citysightseeing Rome tour also start near to the terminal,passing one of the stops on the walk to the hotel. The hotel was easy to find.
I checked in and went to room,it did look like they still had to finish cleaning the bathroom,when I came back from a walk it was cleaned. There was a safe in room for valuables which don't need to pay for too.
The room was comfortable,just what you need,the breakfast was enough, to fill you up for the day,the power shower was great, too so what more do you want?
I would certainly stay here again and would recommend the hotel as an ideal base if you are a tourist here for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BournemouthTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Trip to Rome was terrible because of this hotel. 1st day I had pasta and clams at this hotel (the only thing I ate) & was sick within a couple of hours. It lasted 6 days, two trips to the pharmacy & a trip to the emergency room as soon as I returned home. It was located next to a XXXX Movie place and a NO LIMITS bar. The Do Not Disturb Sign means nothing, they still come in (twice) and if you need something you'll have to call the front desk 3 or more times (hangers & toilet tissue) There is no shower, it's a hand held spray hose. The A/C doesn't work so the windows must stay open so you can hear car alarms going off all day and night. SAVE YOUR MONEY.....find another place to stay. By the time you pay for all the meds $30, the emergency room $75, the $1300 X 3 for the flights (husband & sister too) and $300 in tour tickets, it's not a good deal. Use the money to stay at a nice hotel and enjoy your vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank EMSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Artdeco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Artdeco

Property: Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Address: Via Palestro 19, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#127 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#226 Business Hotel in Rome
#260 Family Hotel in Rome
#308 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): $91 - $257
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Artdeco 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Artdeco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Artdeco
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing