We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,310)
Filter reviews
1,311 results
Traveller rating
586
528
130
34
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
528
130
34
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vatican city great hotel st peter's square front desk staff short walk pastries breakfast buffet modern hotel other attractions hop on hop off bus within walking distance hotel restaurant excellent location small balcony stayed here for nights would highly recommend this hotel visited rome
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,311 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2018

If you don't mind sitting on the balcony overlooking a constant and ever growing pile of garbage, then this is the hotel for you!

My advice is to review your bill on check-out since we were charged for 4 items from the mini bar, where in truth we took nothing from the mini bar. While close to the Vatican, this hotel is isolated from all other attractions in Rome-- that is aside from the piles of garbage in full display.

My advice-- find another hotel!

Room tip: Over priced and isolated.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank profjim1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear customer,
the garbage issue was due to a temporary problem of disposal regarding the municipality of Rome for which unfortunately the hotel cannot do anything.
We inform you that at guest's departure we ask each customers to check the charges on the account in order to avoid any misunderstanding.
We regret that you did not like the area. We receive numerous claims from most customers.
Despite any inconvenience, we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully

Mr Mauro Polmonari
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

We really liked this hotel. Four couples stayed here for 7 nights- 28 room nights total- and overall, we had a very good experience. The rooms were not huge, but they were well appointed, with beautiful bathrooms and great water pressure (bonus!) Our particular room had a darling balcony framed by leafing trees, which gave the room a quiet, restful, relaxing garden feel. The bed was really comfortable. We enjoyed the great breakfast every morning- wonderful coffee and a huge variety of options- there was something for everyone at the breakfast, every day. We also enjoyed the bar, which was a nice place to unwind at days end, before dinner. The hotel is very close to the Vatican, many fabulous restaurants, and also walking distance to great shopping. My only suggestion would be some staff training - the front desk staff in particular were not welcoming or friendly throughout the entire visit. It colored the rest of the stay. We are grownups, and don't need to be everyone's best friend, but it would not kill the staff to smile and say "hello, and welcome and we are glad you are here." The maids, on the other hand, were quite gracious. If it weren't for unfriendly front desk staff. I would give this hotel five stars on this review.

Room tip: Balcony room! Hotel is "non-smoking" but they have ashtrays in rooms. We had to move rooms on arrival. New room was lovely.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear Guest,
Thanking you for you reviews regarding our hotel, we take note of the mentioned point, in order to work on them and improve our service. Hoping to welcome you once more in our Starhotels Michelangelo, in the meantime we send you our best regards.
Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Starhotels Michelangelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Very nice hotel 2 blocks from Vatican. Clean room with small balcony. Good buffet breakfast. Would give it 5 stars but wifi was poor. Safe area to walk even at night. I would stay there again when in Rome.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank jcastledoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear Guest,
it’s a great pleasure to read your comment regarding your last stay in Rome, and the positive impression received from our Starhotels Michelangelo.
Thanking you for the time dedicated to us, we hope to welcome you once more in the “Eternal City”!
Yours faithfully.
Mauro Polmonari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Overall everything is average at this place. Very close to Vatican but not other spots. Staff were not friendly. My room had a nice view. Breakfast was good and supermarkets nearby but not big ones. Be careful of what connection you choose for internet.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank sarahdushmanfana2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you for the time dedicated us in writing your review of our hotel. We hope to welcome you again for your next roman stay,
With our best regards.

Mr Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Just a quick walk from St. Peter's Square and other attractions. Its a nice clean hotel. The rooms are small but suits its purpose for as I can imagine all hotel rooms in Rome are about the same size. The complimentary breakfast is good but get's tiring after a while because they serve the same thing. Hotel staff are pleasant and helpful. Will definitely come again.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank Shameka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Customer,
Thank you for choosing Starhotels Michelangelo and giving us your comments about your stay in Rome. It is always a pleasure for us to read a good impression about the services we provide. Hoping to welcome you again among our guests, we address you our best regards.
Mr Mauro Polmonari – General Manager
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews