We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,258)
Filter reviews
1,258 results
Traveller rating
571
481
114
47
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
481
114
47
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location within walking distance around the corner the hotel staff trevi fountain walked everywhere central location heart of rome hotel room quiet street main attractions breakfast room yogurt trip to rome spanish steps side street ancient rome
Filter
Updating list...
626 - 631 of 1,258 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I was happily surprised by our stay here in July. The room was decent size and very clean. We had a room facing the inner courtyard so it was very quiet. The bathroom was small but had everything you could ask for. But be careful about the low ceiling if you are tall. I am 6,4 and I had to hunker down in the shower not to hit the ceiling.
The one complaint I have is the hard bed. It was very hard.

Pros:
Location
Decent price
Air-condition (new and quiet aircondition unit)
Quiet room

Cons:
Hard bed
Low ceiling (But its Rome so I can accept that)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard are very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grickan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The room was small, no view other than the alley, there are many many vespas coming and going and parking in the street, the noise was a problem at night if you didn't have ear plugs. The staff was great, super helpful. They carried my bag up the 2 flights of marble stairs like it was a feather pillow! We had breakfast there every morning, typical European breakfast, just fine. The hotel is nothing special HOWEVER the location is perfect, I would give the location a 10+! We got up early, 5-ish every morning to go explore before breakfast, there is an espresso place right next door, wonderful cappicino. Piazza Navona is just around the corner and Piazza Fiori is jst a block or so the other way. This hotel is smack in the middle of many of the places to see. It's not luxury but it's clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on the side over the main entrance, the vespas will drive you crazy.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Referred to the Hotel Navona by friends who had stayed their previously, I was not disappointed.

Yes, it is true that reception is not on the ground floor and that they do not have an elevator-

However, they do have an extremely accommodating staf that is more than willing to carry up your bags.

A stone's throw from the Piazza Navona and the Pantheon, the neighborhood is full of bustle as the Italian Senate sits in a nearby building that used to be a Medici palace.

The rooms in the hotel are modern whereas the building itself dates to the second century. In fact, the family has owned the whole block since the 15th century!

Although the breakfast offering is on the spare side and we had the misfortune to be there at the same time as a German high school group, it was enough before setting out on our day.

Michele and the entire staff were extremely helpful, arranging transportation from the airport as well as offering excellent recommendations.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lexalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This is actually the first review I have ever taken the time to write, after reading through this hotels reviews I was sadly to late to change locations. The staff are rude and rooms are ok at best. The carpets are dirty and there is no lift although someone will assist you carrying your bags up two flights of stars, then waits in your room awkwardly for a tip. Sneered at the euro we gave him. The staff at reception are not welcoming and seem to be unhelpful. The staff constantly changed but as I work in this industry I can say it was appalling the way me and my friend were treated. The cleaner would barge into our room without knocking, whilst we were still asleep then he said that it was our own fault and we should get out so he could clean. We asked him to knock in future, something he didn't once do. He would each morning have a chat outside our door with his co worker in italian. I even opened the door asking them to be quiet at one point not that they listened. They literally stood outside our door talking.
Upon leaving we were literally harassed and it's fair and honest to say I have never known anything like it. We were rudely asked to leave, the owner who can I point out has an inability to take criticism and is abruptly defensive came to our room herself telling us to go. Truly shocking treatment and somewhere I would never return to. Judging by the owners previous responses to these reviews I have no doubt my complaints will be rudely dismissed. Perhaps if they spent more time working on customer care and satisfaction and less time chatting loudly and watching tv in reception they would have more repeat business.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anondubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navonahotel, Manager at Hotel Navona, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

well, if you are not happy in one thing then it is easy to find 1000 negative things. just to start with the cleaning, we normally do our daily cleanings from 9am until 5pm which we think is enough to do a perfect cleaning. before we start the cleanings our staff go and check at the desk whether the guest has left the key or not, if a key is not left we do the room at last just to let guests rest, however before we finish our cleaning we go to the room - knock the door and check whether the guest needs the cleaning or some fresh towels, if there is no answer we open the door by using a master key and do our normal cleanings, because sometimes guests take the key with them when they leave the hotel even if we have listed it on our noitce board at the check in desk that room key's should be left at every exit. This is what we did, the cleaning guy came and knocked your door many times there was no answer then he came in to your room, what if he didn't clean your room during the day? another comlain, what time do you think we should clean our rooms if you sleep the whole day in the room?
we think this is a normal procedure in almost all hotels in the world. you were out almost every evening and coming back in the morning and sleeping all day, this is your full right, however if you comlain about the workers working during the day it will be something unusual, this is like comlaining people driving in the street traffic in office hours.
you yourself were very loud every evening coming back to the hotel , drunk and distrubed other people sleeping like every human being during the night. The night time staff reapetedly told you to be quiet, other clients also comlained about it. This is why our manager intervened and invited you to leave the hotel not because of other reasons you listed. hotel management exists to give guests a pleasure stay and let them know their rights and make them respect the general rules, this is what we did. if a guest has a different attitude than the normal we kindly invite to make a different arrangment to let other guest's stay pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The location of the hotel is just perfect for seeing Rome. We stayed there for two nights in July 2012. The rooms are pretty big, but the bathroom is probably the smalles I've ever seen. The walls are very thin so you can hear your neighbours and some noise from the street. We didn't try the breakfast at the hotel. The staff made me feel I was bothering them when we checked in or if we had any questions, and they booked our car for the airport at the wrong time even if they even wrote down the right time. The free WIFI did only work now and then.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kristinakw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews