We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Colosseum
from USD 33.53
More Info
from USD 45.09
More Info
from USD 102.89
More Info
from USD 26.59
More Info
Reviews (132,815)
Filter reviews
132,815 results
Traveller rating
96,477
28,228
6,563
974
573
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96,477
28,228
6,563
974
573
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour skip the line roma pass buy your tickets ticket office bucket list palatine hill long line awe inspiring visit rome ancient rome history arena structure euros audio romans
Filter
Updating list...
7,534 - 7,539 of 132,815 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

What an incredible place to visit! The enormity of the building, once inside, is even more amazing than the outside. Try to revisit in the evening too when the outside is lit up. Just wonderful!
We booked a guide for this and well worth it! Our tour guide Giorgio was wonderful! Hearing the passion and knowledge (from an ex history teacher and archaeologist) made it a great experience.
I know others might not be so lucky but a guide should be able to explain more about what you’re seeing.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank lorna-adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived at the colosseum via metro and what an unexpected, delightful surprise on exiting the station.
One thing though, by the end of our time walking around the building I was fed up to the back teeth of being offered selfie sticks, tacky souvenirs etc. Be firm and grumpy. However, the ones to really watch out for are the African con men - they are very clever in their approach - they try and befriend you and give you a sob story about how the white man doesn’t/ won’t shake his hand then, for giving him time he will give you a token, a tacky bracelet as a ‘gift’. DO NOT TAKE IT. What happens then, we witnessed it countless times while sat outside the colosseum, is, you then go on your way and he follows you and hassles you for money for the bracelet. Be firm with the street sellers but be borderline rude to these guys - they are nasty little sharks.
More needs to be done to get rid of the sellers from around the city as they are a pain!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 865jlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

It was interesting, a must visit if you are in Rome, quite big, but I expected something more. Nevertheless the que (with no reservation) was around 30min, which is quite aceptable.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Pepusina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

If you visit Rome you must see the Colosseum, from the inside out. This historic area will offer you a chance to walk and see El Arco de Constantino, y el de Tito, El Foro Romano up to la Plaza Venecia. At night, El Colosseum will offer you a different experience with all the illumination. On my trip, we were lucky to have the full moon to provide additional light and perspective.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Something needed to be visited!
Recommend to join the guided group not only because fast entrance but also because of getting plenty of information.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Nenacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews