We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect spot for our five nights” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
419 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for our five nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Three reasons why I think Albergo del Senato was well worth the price:
- Location is pretty much the best possible for exploring Rome. The Pantheon gives it special character. Our top floor room had a nice balcony which had sun throughout the day.
- Staff is super friendly but also very useful. Recommendations from the reception took us to very nice restaurants in the neighborhood.
- Character – this is not just a chain hotel, but a unique place which doesn't feel standardized. Everything has been given attention.
Be sure to climb to the roof to enjoy the view!

Room Tip: Top floor superior rooms are worth the slightly higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LassiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,696
    452
    72
    32
    10
See reviews for
784
1,743
96
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton Uk
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

There are so many hotels to choose from in Rome that it's not surprising people get confused with the number of options. Well this is where sites like tripadvisor provide invaluable help. Like many people I was astonished by the choice and as this trip was a surprise for my wife I wanted to make sure I got it right. After a fair amount of research I finalised on th Alberto del senato based on almost faultless tripadvisor feedback (and not just a few reviews, over a thousand) which constantly had this hotel in the top 5 in Rome.
Location - unbeatable for me. Might not be for everyone as it is in one of the busiest Piazzas in Rome, but I loved that. I do not believe you can beat the location, it's within 5-10 minutes easy beautiful cobbled backstreet walks to Piazza Navona, Campo do fiord, Spanish steps, the Tiber, Roman forum etc. We always returned to the Piazza for a late nightcap watching the entertainment and crowds.
Room - We had room 103 whilst not huge, it was fine for our 3 night stop. It had a fantastic view of the Pantheon and the Piazza. We loved having the windows open and hearing the hustle and bustle - even in the evening listening to the crowds and the musical entertainment (guitarists, singers etc). When the windows are shut you can hear nothing so those of you who don't like the noise will not ned to worry.
Staff - friendliest and most helpfull hotel staff I have ever experienced, from front desk to breakfast room.
Breakfast - great choice of cereal hams/cheeses, cakes, fresh fruit, yoghurts, bread/rolls and also egg and bacon - set us up for the day and we got by with only an ice cream for lunch (Oh my god the ice creams are fantastic)
I cannot speak highly enough about this hotel, which is only a 3 star. If...... No actually 'when' we return to Rome we will 100 % be coming back to the Abergo Del Senato - if you are in any doubt, don't be - just try it !

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank MikeNorthamptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I were in Rome for a week and stayed at the Albergo del Senato based on a friend's recommendation. We can not thank her enough. Being on the Piazza gives you a whole different "feel" for being in Rome. In addition to the Pantheon just outside your door, the hotel's location is ideal for walking to many of the major tourist attractions: Piazza Navona, Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Campo de Fiori, etc.

If you're into espresso, the perfect cup in the whole world, accoridng to a May 15, 2002 NYT article, is a short two minute walk to the Sant'Eustachio cafe - don't miss it. Tazza D'Oro cafe, just a half-block from the hotel, is a close second.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ydkdy715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I just stayed at the Senato with my husband and 2 14 year old nephews. First of all, the location is perfect. Directly across from the Pantheon on a beatuful historic square. it is extremely well located to major sites plus even just looking at your window, if you face the Pantheon, one feels one is somewhere special. If you are looking for a Westin or Hilton type of feel or comfort level, this is not it but if you are looking for something that is authentic, charming and well located, stay here. The hotel is extremely clean, not new but modern baths. We had 2 rooms, including one facing the Pantheon. that room was on the smaller side as was the bath but well worth it for the view! The bed was comfortable with nice linens. It can be a bit noisy at night from the street so we asked for a fan for white noise which helped.The breakfast we great-- lots of choices and plenty of food. The staff was fantastic! Very friendly, helpful and charming. After touring all day, especially with kids, it's great to be welcomed back with a smile. Free wifi was a nice bonus.

Room Tip: ideally a room facing the Pantheon offers an incredible view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Our stay at the Albergo del Senato made our first trip to Rome a true pleasure. Fabulous location, beautiful rooms, wonderful staff. We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the square if you like to be in all the action. The 2 level apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyMoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,023 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Barocco Hotel
#15 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#4 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): $198 - $479
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing