We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for our five nights”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Three reasons why I think Albergo del Senato was well worth the price:
- Location is pretty much the best possible for exploring Rome. The Pantheon gives it special character. Our top floor room had a nice balcony which had sun throughout the day.
- Staff is super friendly but also very useful. Recommendations from the reception took us to very nice restaurants in the neighborhood.
- Character – this is not just a chain hotel, but a unique place which doesn't feel standardized. Everything has been given attention.
Be sure to climb to the roof to enjoy the view!

Room Tip: Top floor superior rooms are worth the slightly higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LassiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,162 - 2,166 of 3,623 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

There are so many hotels to choose from in Rome that it's not surprising people get confused with the number of options. Well this is where sites like tripadvisor provide invaluable help. Like many people I was astonished by the choice and as this trip was a surprise for my wife I wanted to make sure I got it right. After a fair amount of research I finalised on th Alberto del senato based on almost faultless tripadvisor feedback (and not just a few reviews, over a thousand) which constantly had this hotel in the top 5 in Rome.
Location - unbeatable for me. Might not be for everyone as it is in one of the busiest Piazzas in Rome, but I loved that. I do not believe you can beat the location, it's within 5-10 minutes easy beautiful cobbled backstreet walks to Piazza Navona, Campo do fiord, Spanish steps, the Tiber, Roman forum etc. We always returned to the Piazza for a late nightcap watching the entertainment and crowds.
Room - We had room 103 whilst not huge, it was fine for our 3 night stop. It had a fantastic view of the Pantheon and the Piazza. We loved having the windows open and hearing the hustle and bustle - even in the evening listening to the crowds and the musical entertainment (guitarists, singers etc). When the windows are shut you can hear nothing so those of you who don't like the noise will not ned to worry.
Staff - friendliest and most helpfull hotel staff I have ever experienced, from front desk to breakfast room.
Breakfast - great choice of cereal hams/cheeses, cakes, fresh fruit, yoghurts, bread/rolls and also egg and bacon - set us up for the day and we got by with only an ice cream for lunch (Oh my god the ice creams are fantastic)
I cannot speak highly enough about this hotel, which is only a 3 star. If...... No actually 'when' we return to Rome we will 100 % be coming back to the Abergo Del Senato - if you are in any doubt, don't be - just try it !

Stayed: April 2012
5  Thank MikeNorthamptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I were in Rome for a week and stayed at the Albergo del Senato based on a friend's recommendation. We can not thank her enough. Being on the Piazza gives you a whole different "feel" for being in Rome. In addition to the Pantheon just outside your door, the hotel's location is ideal for walking to many of the major tourist attractions: Piazza Navona, Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Campo de Fiori, etc.

If you're into espresso, the perfect cup in the whole world, accoridng to a May 15, 2002 NYT article, is a short two minute walk to the Sant'Eustachio cafe - don't miss it. Tazza D'Oro cafe, just a half-block from the hotel, is a close second.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ydkdy715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I just stayed at the Senato with my husband and 2 14 year old nephews. First of all, the location is perfect. Directly across from the Pantheon on a beatuful historic square. it is extremely well located to major sites plus even just looking at your window, if you face the Pantheon, one feels one is somewhere special. If you are looking for a Westin or Hilton type of feel or comfort level, this is not it but if you are looking for something that is authentic, charming and well located, stay here. The hotel is extremely clean, not new but modern baths. We had 2 rooms, including one facing the Pantheon. that room was on the smaller side as was the bath but well worth it for the view! The bed was comfortable with nice linens. It can be a bit noisy at night from the street so we asked for a fan for white noise which helped.The breakfast we great-- lots of choices and plenty of food. The staff was fantastic! Very friendly, helpful and charming. After touring all day, especially with kids, it's great to be welcomed back with a smile. Free wifi was a nice bonus.

Room Tip: ideally a room facing the Pantheon offers an incredible view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Our stay at the Albergo del Senato made our first trip to Rome a true pleasure. Fabulous location, beautiful rooms, wonderful staff. We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the square if you like to be in all the action. The 2 level apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyMoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,854 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,269 in Rome
225 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#28 of 1,269 in Rome
806 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#45 of 1,269 in Rome
1,014 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,269 in Rome
2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $237 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing