We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very roman food”

Flavio Al Velavevodetto
Ranked #2,081 of 13,956 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: USD 23 - USD 40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Testaccio
Reviewed 6 April 2018

A very interesting place, dug into the "monte dei cocci" and once used as a horse-carriages garage, is now a very pleasant restaurant where you can taste the original roman cooking, such as gricia, matriciana, cacio e pepe, trippa, coda alla vaccinara, polpette (meatballs), carciofi alla giudia (artichokes at jewish art). Good wines and sweets.
Not advisable for vegetarians, off limits for vegans.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank zigno2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 49 of 3,235 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

A little bit further off the tourist path. Situated in a manmade hill! Ask about how this came about. The clue is in the neighbourhood name, Testaccio. The three pasta dishes we tried, Carbonara, Rigattoni and Cacio e Pepe were delicious. This restaurant was a stop on our food tour. The slight twists the chef made to enhance each dish made for a fantastic dining experience. I highly recommend this venue and given the opportunity I would go back instantly to be more adventurous with the menu!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

The outside of the restaurant is nothing special, but once inside it looks like it was build into a cave. It was a neat looking place. More importantly, the food was ridiculously good. If you’re staying in any of the touristy places the restaurant is a bit out of the way, but worth the trip. Everything we had was out of this world delicious.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Josh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Three years ago on a good tour, my husband and I went to the original Flavio’s in Testaccio. The pasta was unbelievably good. So much so, I’ve been dreaming about it ever since.

We have been to Italy every year since and finally got back to Flavio’s, except this time at the Prati location (a block and a half away from our B&B).

Without a doubt, their pasta alla Gricia is the best meal I have ever eaten in my life. The salty, crunchy guanciale melts in your mouth, and the pecorino and pepper envelope the pasta perfectly. It is perfectly. Salty, savory, creamy and crunchy. Heaven.

We had the starter - suppli - which was also delicious, and their house wine was beautiful!

If you try anything in Rome, try the pasta alla Gricia here. It’s heavenly.

(Service was excellent too!)

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We came here after reading multiple reviews online and this places lived up to the hype. We made a reservation online and it seems that they could give you an attitude if you didn’t. If you come on a busy night expect to have a long wait. We only tried a few things, but everything was fresh and delicious. Cacio e Pepe was one of the best we tried on our week long trip and tiramisu was definitely one of the best. We actually returned to this place just for desert on one of the nights. When we return to Rome, we’ll come back to this place.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank gdima007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flavio Al Velavevodetto also viewed

 

Been to Flavio Al Velavevodetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing