We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
126
61
15
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
61
15
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gay street the cafe downstairs great location rooms were cleaned no elevator yogurt coffee machine continental breakfast great place to stay sight seeing around the corner colosseum noise metro earplugs nutella sights
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Stayed here for a long weekend in Rome and really enjoyed it. The location is pretty great, as you're just steps from the Colosseum, easy walk to the metro/bus/tram and around the corner from a grocery. There are two gay bars to the left and right of the hotel as well (they're more stop and drink than clubby though, head's up). Check-in was easy and the staff was friendly throughout. The rooms were comfortable and decently sized (though as a taller guy, it was a task getting into the shower). I -think- breakfast is included in all the bookings. It's functional, but nothing to write home about ;)

If you're short on time and are being a mega tourist, I'd stay closer to the center (just easier to get around if you're near Termini). Other than that, would really recommend it!

Pros: Great location by the Colosseum, metro and bus connection; Nice staff; Decent room size; breakfast is included (but it's not -that- great); if you're on the courtyard side, it's pretty quiet. I can imagine street side rooms being a bit noisier on weekends.

Cons: You only get two coffee pods :( ; Breakfast is included, but omelettes aren't, ignore the "order whatever you want" advice from the Coming Out staff when you tell them you've got the free breakfast haha; For some reason, you can't turn off the movement sensor on the bathroom light/fan. You can't get near the door without it cutting on :S

Room Tip: I had the Freddy Mercury room--it was ok, but I have a sneaky suspicion the Michelangelo room next door was bigger haha
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

This was a lovely place to stay for a recent 3 night break in Rome. Stayed in the Freddie Mercury room which was clean, modern and spacious. Having read a few reviews I was a bit worried about the noise but we had a peaceful night sleep with no issues with this. It is a lively area at night but I think that adds to the city experience.

It is a great base for exploring the city with fantastic views of the colosseum each morning which were made even better with the beautiful sunny weather. Only think I watch out for in general is people trying to sell you things on the streets of Rome and being very forceful about it - best advice is just to ignore any attempts they made to speak to you.

Overall, very pleased with the accommodation and location.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Location: Location is perfect! Right next to the Colosseum, Bars, Taxi Rank, restaurants and a Supermarket round the corner. The only thing to be cautious of is that because you are next to a major tourist attraction, there are lots of people that try to sell you things around further up from the hotel but you just have to ignore them and don't talk to anyone when they approach you.

Hotel Grounds: Hotel is beautiful inside and out, extremely welcoming and will do anything to make your stay comfortable, Alex on reception was brilliant when we had issues with our flights and arriving late. The rooms are extremely modern with lovely glass bathroom ceiling and lovely and clean. The only thing you must take into account when booking is that there are 2 bars next door so you must be comfortable with there being noise outside till quite late in the night. For us it wasn't a problem but it was quite noisy.

Advice for attractions: Next to the Colosseum there is a bus stop that has The Big Bus Tour stop there every 10 minutes. It was the best thing I purchased all holiday because it shows you sights you would not normally see with headphones that tell you interesting facts the whole way. It costs $30 pp but is well worth it as it's a hop on hop off bus so you can stop and start again anywhere. There is also lots of people that try to give you "advice" around the Colosseum about how to skip the queue for getting inside the building and will keep saying that the normal queue is around 1hr30 so will give you the option to pay to skip this queue, but DONT BE FOOLED the normal line is not 1hr30 it took us about 25 minutes.

Room Tip: When booking try to ask for one of the back rooms not overlooking the street as there will be less noise from the bars.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurarose864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Nice area in the heart! Loved every moment in this place , great location, everything is near by, great shopping street great places to have dinner/lunch/breakfast , I will be back for sure
................

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Adi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Nice rooms, quite spacious with a simple bathroom with Shower. Location is ideal for travelling and sightseeing around Rome, directly opposite the Colusseum, which provided a wonderful view when eating in the cafe downstairs. We used it as a base while visiting, so the room was more than sufficient. Breakfast was continental, served in the cafe downstairs, with tasty pastries and plenty of strong coffee! Staff were great, whether is was a coffee, beer, lunch or evening meal and all was good too!
Will be back again to Rome as we did not see it all and would stay here again!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms were at the back, nice and quiet, but not a good view outside
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews