We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Babuino 181
Nearby Hotels
USD 254*
USD 196*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Abruzzi(Rome)
USD 365*
USD 345*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 354*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Grifo(Rome)(Great Value!)
USD 122*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ponte Sisto(Rome)
USD 233*
USD 194*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
USD 185*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 352*
USD 295*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome(Rome)
USD 378*
USD 265*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Napoleon(Rome)
USD 235*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Morgana(Rome)(Great Value!)
USD 267*
USD 165*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,064)
Filter reviews
1,064 results
Traveller rating
822
195
37
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
822
195
37
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspanish stepsclassic suiteboutique hotelgreat locationnespresso machinepiazza del popolorooftop terracede russiedeluxe roommain buildingheart of romewithin walking distancerooms are largevilla borghesesister hotelspecial thankssmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
765 - 770 of 1,064 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This all suites property is terrific. We stayed over spring (Easter) break:
-Classic suite: Not really a suite but a large triple (no separate room). However large modern bathroom with a big tub, rainfall shower stall and separate toilet area.
-Great soundproofing and good 'air'
-Breakfast is delivered to your room, and very generous. Continental or American (includes meat/cheeses). Comes quickly (under 10 minutes).
-Very nice and knowledgeable staff. Great restaurant recommentations (Pietro, Edy, and Buci da Ripetta. Il Brillo) all within walking distance. Only one BAD recommendation Gusto (don't go!!!!). Loud, more expensive than the others recommended, so so food, and the waiter ripped us off by insisting service was not included and he needed an extra tip in cash.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank europe_travel_lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

A little expensive but worth it. Comfortable, good facilities. Beautiful Rome! I hope to return ...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The hotel is situated in easy reach of many of the attractions. We were in Rome for the rugby at Stadio Olympique. The hotel staff were very helpful, the rooms big and airy and the shower / bathroom large with a powerful shower.
Free coffee both in the room and in the lounge with complimentary pastries. The wifi had a strong signal and was complimentary ----- a pleasant and forward looking policy!
Definitely one of the best hotels we have stayed in and will return to.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

La Babuino sits almost at the end of Via Babuino, just minutes from the Spanish Steps and the best shopping and restuarants in Rome. Guests at this lovely, small (14 rooms) hotel can easily walk to everything from the Vatican (about 30 minutes on foot), to the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon and the Coliseum (5 to 15 minutes). If a longer trip is planned the hotel can arrange for a car or you can stroll down the block to the Plaza del Popolo and pick up a taxi.

The hotel itself has a tiny, unmarked entrance that is identified by its address--"181"--above the door. There is no lobby to speak of but there is a lovely, comfortable lounge on the first floor that is stocked with water, newspapers in several languages, and a Nespresso machine. This is where my husband, who rises earlier than I do, went to read and sip a coffee in the morning and where we met our children for breakfast each day. The rooms are large and comfortable and are decorated in nuetral shades, with interesting pieces and fabrics. Each has a mini-fridge, selection of snacks and a Nespresso maker. The dressers, a room safe, shelves and space for hanging clothes are surrounded by floor to ceiling mirrors and hidden behind the bed. All the lighting can be controlled from the comfort of the bed which, at the end of a long day, is a welcome touch! The bathroom is large, well-lit and has both a soaking tub and a shower--it also has windows and natural light!

Breakfast is served in your room or in the lounge and can be ordered just 10 minutes before you want to eat. There are some ala carte items and some pre-set breakfasts like the "American" and the "Diet". The American comes with coffee, freshly-squeezed juice, yogurt, breads, meats and cheeses and the diet has juice, fruit salad, yogurt, cereal and toasts and cheese. The food is plentiful and good though the selections do not change from day to day.

The hotel's staff was friendly and professional but the standout was a young woman who is pursuing a degree in hotel management and was there as part of an internship. This young woman was a gem--the kind of person who makes you remember a place warmly and want to return!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lsnyder813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Our first time in Rome and where to stay? After a great deal of research I took the plunge and book Babuino 181 because it looked well located and good value for money and, of course, it has been well reviewed on here! I am pleased to say that it was a good decision. As other reviewers have said this is not a 'full service' hotel simply an elegant selection of rooms and suites conveniently situated on a high end shopping street between two metro stations (Flaminio and Spagna) and 50 yards from a taxi rank. We were well greeted on arrival and shown to our room. A good sized deluxe room with a well appointed bathroom that had a big deep bath and boy, was I pleased to sink into that bath after a hard day pounding the pavements of Rome! My only word of caution is that the bath is quite low down and the door to the shower very narrow so if you are someone on the larger side you may find using these facilities a little difficult. The toiletries provided are good quality and plentiful with lovely big bars of soap not the slivers that are the norm in most hotels.
The front of house staff were very helpful. They recommended Edy's a very local trattoria for our evening meal. I am pleased to say it was only five minute walk for my tired legs and we enjoyed a fairly simple but pleasant enough meal that was reasonably priced.
Breakfast was included in our room rate. It came on a tray to our room. We ordered the 'healthy' breakfast and the 'continental' breakfast and it was more than enough for us. We had fabulous fresh orange juice, fresh fruit and cereal as well as a good selection of pastries and coffee. All in all we had a very comfortable stay. On our last day they looked after our luggage and we were able to take advantage of coffee and biscuits in their small first floor lounge whilst we freshened up for our journey home. Thank you Babuino 181 we will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luxuryhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews