We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Moses Fountain
Ranked #574 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights before our cruise from Civitavecchia. I cannot say enough good about this gem we found! I only booked because I knew my husband would like the idea of staying in a fountain. And I am so glad we did! The staff (especially Lapo) bent over backward to accommodate us. From arranging a driver to pick us up at the airport to suggesting places to eat and sights to see. Breakfast was delicious and delivered when requested (at a different time each morning - depending on when we wanted to leave for the day) The room was clean and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. On our way to the cruise port, we left our expensive camera in the taxi. We didn't discover it was missing until after we were on the ship. Lapo tracked it down for us, retrieved it, and held it till our cruise returned. Then, when we couldn't leave our cruise tour group to come get it (they were taking us to the airport to board our flight home) he went out of his way to drive to us, chased down our bus, and returned the camera while the bus was stopped at an intersection. He even tried to refuse payment for his trouble (but my husband insisted) It is not often you meet people as truly good hearted as this. He treated us like family. We felt completely taken care of. We will be recommending this hotel for years to come.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaC861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 144 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

This hotel is really a set of apartments in Rome. The rooms are very large by European standards. It's in a great location--close enough to walk to all of the sites but far enough away that you aren't directly in the middle of a crowd. It's about 2 blocks from the train station and just around the corner from the St. Regis. The bathroom in our room (top floor facing the church) looked like it belonged in a 5 star hotel.

I

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drspringtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at Moses Fountain for 6 nights in April/May 2012 and would give it high marks.
While it is not a full service hotel, we had no trouble checking in or getting our breakfast every morning. The lady at the hotel helped us several times with reservations for dinner and a driver. There was also a young man there that helped with dinner recommendations and his suggestions were great. The hotel is more of a bed and breakfast. The room and bathroom were very clean and nice but the bed was hard. The location is good--about an 8 minute walk to the Trevi Fountain and about a 12 minute walk to the Spanish Steps. It is in a safe, relatively quiet area dominated by Government buildings. There is a Taxi stand next door at the St. Regis. We did have trouble with our wifi password but the staff eventually worked it out. The signal was clear. The breakfast was very good and ample. The mini-bar was filled free of charge every day with the exception of one day.
Again, it is not a full service hotel, contacting someone after hours will be difficult. But we would definitely come back if in Rome again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Moses Fountain Hotel in March. The hotel is located inside the fountain, which was very cool. It's about a 10 minute walk from Roma Termini, and quick walks to metro stops at Piazza Barbarini and and Piazza Repubblica. The room, Sixtus 105, was spotless, tastefully decorated, and quite large, with a spacious bathroom. The satellite tv with hundreds of channels, free minibar, and free wifi were also nice touches.

With only 6 rooms, it's more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel--which we understood when making reservations. With no reception desk, there was only a staff member on premises in the morning to serve breakfast and help arriving visitors with their luggage. When we interacted with the manager/owner and Emma, they were especially helpful (driving us to a pharmacy and offering to arrange tours/activities); other staff members tried to be helpful, but seemed puzzled by our questions, or could not answer them. I looked all over the room for some sort of informational booklet about the hotel, which would tell us what hours breakfast served, and who to contact if we needed something (like if your door malfunctions at 10 pm--which happened), but unfortunately there was none. We ended up calling the concierge at the St. Regis Hotel (nextdoor) a few times with questions.

Overall, beautiful hotel, well appointed rooms, cool concept, great location, but seems like a better fit for more independent travelers (which we discovered we were not!).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Elegant, small and perfectly located. Excellent service at all levels, from the cleaning to the breakfast. Loved the advices i got from the staff and i really recommend to follow Lapo's suggetion for dinner, he knows Roman restaurants pretty well and gives surprising hints! personal approach is inspiring. highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank AntonSVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni
Hotel Mascagni
#139 of 1,269 in Rome
953 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Elite Hotel
#371 of 1,269 in Rome
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#166 of 1,269 in Rome
1,075 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#121 of 1,269 in Rome
1,218 reviews
Campo Marzio
iRooms Spanish Steps
iRooms Spanish Steps
#524 of 1,269 in Rome
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moses Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moses Fountain

Address: Via 20 Settembre, 98/L, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#108 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#278 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $122 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moses Fountain 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please contact the property in advance to communicate your arrival time. For arrivals after 14:30, you will receive a code to access the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moses Fountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moses Fountain Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing