We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not clean”
Review of Hotel Roi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Roi
Ranked #1,002 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 18 April 2017

It's a pity I have to write negatively on this hotel. The are is great, in front of a huge pjazza. A Metro station is in this pjazza. Bars, restaurants and all other shops are within a minute or 2 walking distance. The reception was very welcoming and always had a smile on their face. The room itself was spacious, bright and airy.
We had asked for 2 single beds but even though they delayed a bit our entrance to remedy this, still they gave us a double one. Did not complain not to start the holiday on a bad note.
The bathroom was not clean and was never cleaned properly the whole 5 days we slept there. Once the toiletries run out after 2 days, they were not replaced.
The floor in the room was slightly sticky.
The 'in-room' b'fast was very decent.

Room Tip: not central but with a Metro in front of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 6 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2017

I book this hotel few hours before my arrival, and got there around 9 pm, at the moment I arrived there it was closed, I called their number and I got no answer, stayed there an extra hour expecting someone will show up. at 10 pm I started looking another alternative's but couldn't find any available hotel around that area, everywhere was fully booked. fours hours later I luckily found I place that costed me three times more expensive than the average price in Rome. The next day i went there and i met the hotel manager, he told "you should have called my private numer, we usually close 8pm"!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Hassen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea S, Direttore at Hotel Roi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017


in every way is write that we close at 8.00 and for late check in have to call us...
every on line agency send you mail with our rules that you can accept or not but you have to read this!! Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Pitching up slightly later than expected due to a flight delay, I had to call the reception to make sure someone was there to let us in. There is an additional charge for out of hours check-in, so I guess that's fair enough and the hotel accommodated us and our last minute delays without fuss. They also allowed us to leave bags there for free on the day of our departure which was great and saved us heading to the bag drop at the Terminii station.
The hotel is easily found on the main route into the city from Ciampino Airport. We decided to take the bus to the Terminii (no stops in between) and then back to the hotel by Metro which was slower than a taxi but far cheaper. If cost isn't an issue, take a taxi.
That said, buy a Metro pass as soon as you can. It's an easy Metro to use and trains run every few minutes so we never had to wait. It's a very cheap way to get around.
The hotel itself was adequate and gave us a room with ensuite shower and loo. The room was clean, plainly decorated and adequate for us as we didn't plan to be there much. It's a hotel without bar or restaurant...just a room with concierge up to 8pm so don't expect to be waited on, it's just not that type of hotel.
The shower room was ok but really would benefit from a refit. The staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast was delivered to our door on time every morning. Croisants, yoghurt, coffee and packet toast (???) but it was appreciated (there were other choices too).
There are two real benefits of staying at this hotel and they are the location and the cost. It is cheap by comparison to most in Rome. But the location made this a real winner. The Ri De Roma Metro station is 50 yards from the hotel making it very simple to get to most locations across the city. Having bought unlimited 72 hours travel passes (18€ each), we nipped in and out of the city centre whenever suited. Restaurants and fast food Pizzerias were not in short supply around the hotel so eating out was easy.
We felt safe everywhere we went so all in all a good destination and choice of accommodation for a budget break.

Room Tip: Ask for one not overlooking the road if possible. Our room faced an internal courtyard and we had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diggerdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The hotel, in reality looks like an apartment with many rooms. Its on the first floor of a traditional building, 50 metres from Re Di Roma Metro staion. The reception is open untill 8 pm. Note that if you check in after 8pm, you will be charged 10€. Even though we arrived at 10pm, we didnt pay because the owner, luckily, was waiting for us and didn't charge us. When you enter the building dont use the elevator if you are claustrophobic, you will be really scared. Once you check in, they give you 3 keys. One opens the street door on the ground floor. The second one opens a door after spooky elevator, to enter the hotel floor and the third one opens your room. We stayed 3 nights in the house-hotel and i have to say the following: The soundproof is non existent.
Every sound can be heard, every conversation, every door that opens and closes. The worst part though is that you can often hear the bell that someone is ringing from the main enterance that either forgot his keys or is a new customer and doesnt have any.
The room was small, with a parking view, but clean. Our sheets were not changed during the 3 nights and they wouldnt even change the towels if we didn't ask the employee the third night to change them, who was by the way really kind, like the onwer i met the first night.
I didn't expect more from such a low-class hotel. The one this though that is really unacceptable, is the breakfast. It's room service(probably there is no breakfast room for economy reasons).
For two people, they brought us a small disk that had:Two espresso, two juices, two small croissants, two drinks that were like liquid yoghurt, two small packets of brushwood,three packets of jam and one small packet of butter!!!
I think that its ultimately expesive for what it offers.
Although that how it is in Rome !!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Georgios P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Pros: Staff were very helpful on arrival, giving us a map and suggestions for where/how to go. Very clean hotel. Excellent location for transport.
Cons: WiFi was free, but did not work the entire time we were there. TV only picks up radio channels. Wash towels were not changed between days.
Location: There's not much nearby the actual hotel, but it is right next to an underground metro station that can take you anywhere in Rome within 15 minutes.

(2 friends sharing one room) If you are looking for a clean, friendly hotel that has excellent transport options and you don't intend on spending much time at the actual hotel, then this is very much the hotel for you. The hotel itself is nice, but basic. Each floor has about 3 rooms on it, each floor has 2 bathrooms (one male one female) that are shared between the 3 rooms, and also has a kitchen area if you want to use it. I was a bit uneasy about having to share a bathroom with other people, but the bathrooms are spotless, spacious, and very well maintained. As there are only 3 rooms per floor, its only a few steps to the bathroom anyway, so its really not an issue. The rooms themselves are pretty basic, we asked for 2 single beds for our room but were given 2 single beds pushed together to make a double PLUS a seperate single bed as well which was nice. Plenty of wardrobe space, rooms were always clean and beds always made. The best part about the hotel however, is its location in relation to the metro station. It is LITERALLY a 20 second walk to the nearest station, and makes getting around Rome a breeze. If you are looking for a hotel to drop your stuff at, go explore, and then come back to sleep at night, then this is very much the hotel for you.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank ChrisBarnes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Tuscolana
Hotel Tuscolana
#185 of 1,273 in Rome
421 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western Hotel Piccadilly
0.8 km away
Hotel Lodi
Hotel Lodi
#111 of 1,273 in Rome
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Best Western Cinemusic Hotel
0.4 km away
Chroma Pente
Chroma Pente
#72 of 1,273 in Rome
247 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Re di Roma
Hotel Re di Roma
#211 of 1,273 in Rome
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roi

Address: Piazza Dei Re di Roma 64, 00183 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,002 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $72 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Roi 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roi Hotel is a small business hotel, located in Piazza Re di Roma in San Giovanni area, opposite to the metro line A "Re di Roma". Our breakfast, which includes a wide range of croissants, is served each morning in your room at your chosen time. The 11 rooms are with private bathroom and equipped with all comforts. The area is very peaceful and there are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. Thanks to the collaboration with structures of our property, located in the neighborhood, we can also accommodate small groups. Hotel Roi is part of Home Relais. Home Relais provides standardized services for all associated facilities and accommodations in proximity to the most beautiful places of the Capital (St. Peter's, the Colosseum, the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain). The hotel staff is a multilingual, motivated and efficient team of people who provides its customers its expertise, combined with reliability and courtesy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Roi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing