We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more than expected!”
Review of Real Rome Tours

Real Rome Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 75.05*
and up
Small-Group Skip-the-Line Vatican Tour
Ranked #90 of 937 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Immerse yourself in the vibrancy and romance of The Eternal City with a 5* guided tour of Rome Specializing in tours of Rome and the Vatican since 2006, we're home to the smallest group tours in Rome. What does that mean for you? An intimate guide to the most popular attractions from our Roman tour guides, free from the noise and stress of open public tours. You get to skip the long lines of tourists and ask as many questions as you like from our friendly experts. Choose the perfect tour for your needs - we offer daily small group tours of Rome, semi-private tours of the most popular attractions and private tours in Rome. With Real Rome Tours, you can visit the Vatican Museums, the Sistine Chapel, St Peter’s Basilica, the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain and Piazza Navona - all at your own pace!
Reviewed 19 December 2017

We were so excited (and not disappointed) to see the Colosseum, underground included, but were so impressed by the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill portions of this tour ... absolutely stunning! You know you are going to get a history lesson on a tour like this but it was more than a lesson ... it was a history experience.

Date of experience: November 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"vatican tour"
in 276 reviews
"great tour"
in 203 reviews
"small group"
in 174 reviews
"roman forum"
in 162 reviews
"sistine chapel"
in 140 reviews
"half day tour"
in 44 reviews
"palatine hill"
in 129 reviews
"third tier"
in 46 reviews
"private tour"
in 98 reviews
"ask questions"
in 45 reviews
"arena floor"
in 40 reviews
"entire tour"
in 25 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 37 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 42 reviews
"art history"
in 37 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 31 reviews
"meeting place"
in 25 reviews
Filter

36 - 40 of 2,450 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

We've taken a number of group and semi-private tours in the past which were humdrum, so we almost opted for a self-guided exploration. What a mistake that would have been! Ferdinando was tremendously helpful and well prepared - he had a messenger bag filled with supplemental reference material that he laid out at the beginning to help us know what to look for and why it was historically significant.

Concerning the structure of the tour - when it says "skip the line", it really means it. Once you book online and print your voucher - you're in. We skirted a line that was at least a block long just to get tickets. After that line, there was a second one to go through security. Not for us - the time it took us from our initial meeting till we were standing inside the Vatican was less than twenty minutes.

Afterwards, Ferdinando gave us a 15 minute overview of the Vatican, focusing on both its secular and its spiritual significance - then we were off on the tour. During the tour, Ferdinando would pause to highlight different artifacts or paintings but for the most part we were free to experience everything on our own. We only signed up for the 2.5 hour tour so we weren't able to cover everything but we definitely will sign up for this tour again next time we're in Rome!

Date of experience: January 2017
3  Thank Dik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Marley, our tour guide did an outstanding job with the tour. She was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. I highly recommend this tour especially if you would like to see all the accessible areas of the Colosseum.

Date of experience: October 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank Canadian1Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

Our guide Marle was great! She was very knowledgeable on the Colosseum and Palatine Hill. The tour included a going underground as well which you can’t do on your own.

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We did two tours (Ostia Antica and Best of Rome Half-Day Tour). Both guides went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed ourselves on the tours. They were knowledgeable and gave us insights and details above and beyond what we expected. I would strongly recommend.

Date of experience: October 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
3  Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Real Rome Tours also viewed

 

Been to Real Rome Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing