We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel But....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Ranked #85 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I would have given this hotel a five star rating but for one thing. Hotel rating

The Good stuff

Beautiful building - restored 17th century convent
Location - calm and quiet but close to hustle and bustle of Rome. Twenty minute walk to the Colosseum a bit more to the Vatican City.
Free use of a mobile device - phone / maps. Which was great for ringing home.
Room - bright, airy and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast - excellent choice and food. We are in the garden every day, wonderful.
Most of the staff. Really helpful. The star for us was Mr Alessandro Caja

Not so good stuff

No hot water in room. Complained to reception several times and fobbed off with "fixed in boiler room" "it's an old hotel" "you are the only room having this problem".
Eventually resolved by the charming Manager who had the water checked, confirmed it was faulty and moved us to another room.

The really good stuff

The manager put us in the biggest suite I have ever stayed in for the last few days of our stay

Despite the problems we had we would happily stay here again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Evets54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 134 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

This beautiful hotel was one of the highlights of our stay in Rome. Trastevere is the best neighborhood to stay in: quiet, gorgeous, with cute restaurants and shops and an expansively green botanical garden nearby. The hotel had a lush garden and comfortable, big rooms with opulent marble and granite features. The breakfast buffet was extensive and had something for everyone. The only drawback was the late night hee-hawing of loud Americans in the courtyard, heedless of other guests' need to sleep - not the hotel's fault at all. The rooftop vista is beautiful, although it wasn't used as a comfortable place to linger. The free phone for calling all over the world is a great benefit, although we didn't use it.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TarteTatin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We stayed at the hotel during a short vacation. The building was an old monastery, which seemed to be partly active even today. On the first floor you could find an old church hall. The architect of the building was Francesco Borrmini no less. You do not have to be a religious person to enjoy the high quality and peacefulness of the hotel.

Hotel Donna Camilla Ravelli is situated quite close to the historical center of Rome. If you are prepared to walk a few kilometers, you can reach many of the great sights. The hotel offered a mobil phone, equipped with GPS for free use. This was very handy. We found our way to all the places we wished to visit, without loosing our way.

The breakfast was good and plentiful.

I can indeed recommend VOI Donna Camilla Savelli! A Great hotel!

Room Tip: Good location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ekrelei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Walking distance to Vatican and central Rome. Great for solo travellers. Friendly staff. Excellent restaurants and bars close by. Private serene feeling since you are in a monastery. Comfortable room. Feels like an exclusive boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

A delightful place to stay for a special visit; the hotel was a monastery and there is still a chapel operating and a small group of nuns in an adjoining area. The staff are extremely helpful and the garden is a great place for breakfast. The area is within easy reach (walking) of most places though you have to watch for traffic and there was car parking available. Not suitable for children. Showers not that good but lots of hot water for baths. There is a roof garden which gives a great view over the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony but as the garden is lovely it is less important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#10 of 1,273 in Rome
3,028 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Hotel Ponte Sisto
#129 of 1,273 in Rome
1,584 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Address: Via Garibaldi 27, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Rome
#53 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#55 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#85 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $171 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Camilla Savelli Rome
Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing