We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Michelin star experience”
Review of Il Comandante

Il Comandante
Ranked #183 of 3,099 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Il Comandante is a gourmet restaurant awarded 1 Michelin Star since 2012. Il Comandante was the title given to Achille Lauro. And our restaurant was his palace, the historical site of Lauro's naval fleet. We like to imagine this place as the ship's bridge from where one dominates the bay of Naples, the port, the ships that arrive and depart in a never still landscape, never identical. Our kitchen evokes the charm of a trip: the great muse is the Mediterranean "mare nostrum", a melting pot of people and cultures tastes and traditions, where our Chef Salvatore Bianco elaborates the ingredients with respect and passion. Enjoy the experience.
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Have been to numerous Michelin starred restaurants around Italy and Europe. A Michelin star experience from start to finish. Impeccable service and amazing plates by chef Bianco. Also did some free entrees. Somellier Mario has amazing knowledge of wines on list. Will definitely return if again in Naples

    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Il Comandante, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Michael P.,
we are so glad to read your positive feedback about our 1 Michelin star restaurant and your enthusiasm makes us very proud! Chef Bianco put his knowledge, love and creativity in every dish, in order to let our customers enjoy a multisensorial surprise at every single bite. Mario, our sommelier, transmits his love and passion for his job as the rest of the staff, always ready to assist and satisfy our clients in their special dining experience, valuing the details that make every meal an authentic journey of taste. We hope to see you back soon, in order to discover new Chef’s creations.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017

Now, what you want to avoid at any cost is this Michelin starred restaurant, on the last floor of the Romeo hotel. In my opinion, the place should have the Michelin star taken away from them. Now, we travel a lot, we eat at restaurants a lot (also other starred restaurants) so, if I tell you to stay away and save yourself from an ugly experience, trust me. The staff there, waiters, busboys, and managers have absolutely no clue, no courtesy, and no knowledge. The menu was not updated and a dish featuring a certain ingredient was no longer available (Michelin starred restaurant, PRINT NEW MENU for the night IMMEDIATELY), we were offered to choose from a decent variety of champagne, prosecco, and champenoise, then we ordered a bottle or water. We finished our champagne, no one offered more. They poured the water from the bottle into our glasses, drank some since we had empty champagne glasses, no one filled the water glass again. Several minutes later a waitress takes our order, I ask for the wine list, she leaves the table. 15 minutes later, we had no water, no champagne, and no wine list! We had to abandon this place!! I have politely asked to be excused because of an emergency we had to leave now!
Go da Michele and eat a good pizza!!!

1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Il Comandante, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear John G.
we are very sorry to read your words about our Michelin starred restaurant. First of all we have to say that our staff has a very high level of competence and knowledge and the service is very careful to meet our clients’ expectations. Since the very first moment our guests enter the restaurant, we welcome them with extremely courtesy and we use to offer a glass of champagne, waiting for them to be ready to order their favorite wine bottle, accordingly to what they prefer to taste.
Moreover, our Chef prepares delicious creations basing only on fresh products, available day by day. If one ingredient is not available on the Menu, we have many off-menu alternatives that are even more fresh, and consequently exquisite. If after 15 minutes any of our staff came to your table to take your order you easily could speak to our Restaurant Manager, that would have been more than pleased to satisfy your requests.
Pizza in Naples is a must but is very far by the tasting experience that we offer.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

It had been a while since I ate at a Michelin starred restaurant so I had to try this one out while staying at Romeo Hotel. The food was tasty if a bit out there. Dinner for 2 was around $200 USD for a couple.

Thank Bemartinjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Il Comandante, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Bemartinjr,
thank you for sharing your experience with the online community. We are glad that you appreciated our Chef Bianco amazing creations. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at il Comandante restaurant.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This is a place that you will not have a casual dinner. If you like to discover new taste and exotic food this is the best to place to go when you stay in Naples. Since the "amuse bouche" until the dessert the chef really surprise us. Each plate is a piece of art in terms of presentation and if you really like dessert they have a variety to die for. Great list of wine.

Thank Stela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Il Comandante, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Stela G,
Thanks for your review. We are glad that Il Comandante has fully met your expectations and that you suggest it!
We look forward to your next dinner at Il Comandante.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Tremendously pretentious restaurant at top of modern hotel in Naples. Staff slow and unsmiling; not too knowledgeable about their menu. Good and lively wine steward. In our three hours, we did have two small and good dishes – squid and sweetbreads – both a bit miniature. Mains – mullet and pigeon – OK, preparations sound good but execution not interesting. Service included a phalanx of different peppers and salts and spices – of unclear purpose although perhaps pretty.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Il Comandante, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear James P,
saying that you waited three hours for two courses, is inappropriate. Probably you are talking about our gastronomic rituals, always appreciated by our customers. We would like to point out that our intention is always to provide a real gastronomic multi- sensory experience and if you wanted a quick service, you could inform our staff and they would certainly satisfy your request. We care to inform you that our staff is perfectly knowledgeable about il Comandante Restaurant’s Menu. We are really surprised to read your words and we cannot recognize our high- qualified staff through your review. Best Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Comandante also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Il Comandante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing