We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short hop!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Suite Esedra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Suite Esedra
Ranked #124 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Short hop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2008

Had two nights in this hotel. Found the staff very friendly and helpful. Coffee and buns provided free of charge whenever requested. Room was small but clean and comfortable with a pretty painting of the bay of Naples on the wall. Location was central but quite "dodgy" however I didnt really see a part of Naples (either this trip or previous) that didnt feel a bit dodgy! (Rubish problem also abounds the city although this is no reflection on Hotel). Rates were very reasonable also cheap mini-bar! Would recomend it.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff, cute room
  • Disliked — Rooms could be bigger
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dilinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    44
    48
    26
    26
See reviews for
24
78
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2006

The Esedra is a nice 3 star hotel in probably not a great area of town. The hotel is well maintained and the staff are most accomodating and helpful. The room was clean but not that large. We had two beds in our room and unfortunately the one bed had a definite lean to it. This, however, was a minor item. The real issue with this hotel is its location. Approximately, a 10-15 walk from the train station, the area is seedy. Walking along the sidewalks to the hotel, you feel like you are walking a gauntlet. Store fronts are on one side and street hawkers on the other side. It makes for a narrow passage. When we left the hotel at night to have dinner and asked if it was safe, we were checked to see if we were wearing jewelery and then pronounced that we were okay. Combined with this, there was garbage strike occuring while we were in Naples. Huge piles of garbage on the street are not very inviting.
Botttom line is if you are staying around the train station, the Esedra is good place. It is the City of Naples that needs to get its act together.

  • Liked — Nice hotel, good staff, clean and somewaht modern facility
  • Disliked — Loaction
  • Tips/Secrets — Good for a short stay over
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bordercrossing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2006

I stayed at this hotel at the end of June with my brother and definitely have no complaints.

The room and bathroom were clean and simple, the beds comfortable and the air conditioning a welcome relief from the heat of Naples. Breakfast was a simple continental spread but enough to start the day and staff were friendly.

The hotel is situated just back from the Corso Umberto, which is a main road and therefore could be noisy, but with the air con we had the balcony closed so it didn't disturb us. It's about a 10 minute walk from the main station so handy if you need to get to/from the airport and far enough away not to feel dodgy at night.

As this is a shopping area there are not many restaurants nearby but do try the Da Michele pizzeria (2 mins across the road), we got two pizzas and two beers for 10 Euros - a bargain!

Naples is a hectic, major city with lots of construction going on at the moment. It has an amazing faded grandeur and is definitely worth a few nights stop over. Learn a bit of Italian beforehand and people will really help you out.

  • Liked — Good value and convenient location
  • Disliked — Lack of restaurants and bars nearby
  • Tips/Secrets — Visit Da Michele at least once
  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cam_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2006

I am not sure how Naples hands out stars to their hotels, but my guess is that you should subtract about 1.5 stars from any hotel in Naples, based on this being rated a "3-star hotel."
I wound up at this hotel when hotels.com botched my reservation elsewhere in Naples for the evening. My last minute reservation got me a single room for a night. It was miniature sized as was the bathroom, and especially the shower. It was okay to sleep in but I wouldn't have stayed another night.
That's really my only complaint. The staff was nice, the breakfast was fine, the room was clean, the hotel seemed in good repair, but for the room it was overpriced at 78 Euro. But who can complain at 9pm on a Saturday night with no other options in Naples (thanks a lot hotels(-)!)
The location was poor if you plan to to see the sights, but at least its not right next to the train station.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2005

We felt a little uneasy leaving the Naples train station, got into a cab, went about 3 blocks and were shocked. The area is sketchy, yes, but if you have a layover night in Naples as we did, and need to be close to the train station this is by far your best bet.

Suite Esedra is truly an oasis and an amazing bargain. We booked the Venere Suite for four people for about 120 euros. It is on the roof, has a private elevator to it, and a huge private roof terrace with jacuzzi. We couldnt believe it when we walked into it. The furnishings and bathroom are ultra modern. The shower had multiple shower heads, the sink was chrome. We ended up getting some Naples pizza and having champagne in the jacuzzi for the night, and all agreed afterwards it ended up being one of our favorite nights in Italy!

Once the morning came, the breakfast was more than ample (yogurt, croissants, sweet breads, fruit) and they called a cab for us which came promptly.

If you are staying in Naples treat yourself (inexpensively!) to a night of luxury!

Helpful?
1 Thank eurojill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino
#107 of 189 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Guiren
#138 of 189 in Naples
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Hotel Costantinopoli 104
Hotel Costantinopoli 104
#71 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Mercato
Hotel Colombo
Hotel Colombo
#83 of 189 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Mercato
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
#80 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suite Esedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suite Esedra

Property: Hotel Suite Esedra
Address: Via Arnaldo Cantani 12, 80133, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price range (per night): $73 - $159
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Suite Esedra 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Suite Esedra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Esedra Hotel
Suite Esedra Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing