We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Right in the middle of the action” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MH Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MH Design Hotel
Ranked #83 of 188 Hotels in Naples
Québec
Level Contributor
162 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Right in the middle of the action”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

This 3 stars Hotel is situated on a pedestrian street, close to everything. For that matter, those who like us prefer to be close to the action, you will be well served. We selected this hotel for its modern design and location. Pictures on the web site are not totally realistic but close enough.

Even if a 3 stars hotel is not expected to offer some ameneties, those it offers should be constant. That is the major downfall of this hotel. One day, they leave coffee in your room, the next they don't. One morning, there is hard boiled egg at the already minimalist breakfast buffet, the other day there is not. They paid attention to " house signature" towels and soaps but provide plastic glass in the room ( I hate drinking wine in a plastic glass!).

The only rooms with outside windows are the suites. The regular room have windows opening into an inside air shaft. All the rooms are a good size based on european standard ( we saw the regular rooms). Bed and pillows were harder then average but ok. The internet worked well and was free. Not wireless. We did not have a car so I can not comment on parking. The airport web site mentioned a shuttle service; it is not so.( The taxi from the airport cost us 22 euros and worth every penny!).

Plenty of local and touristic restaurants near by.

The reception staff is not friendly nor smiley but, surprise surprise, nobody in Napoli was friendly nor smiley except the lady who made coffees at breakfast and that one clerk at a shoe store ! So the Hotel staff is no less - no more friendly nor smiley then the rest of the people we met during our stay. ( 5 days in Napoli and 8 days on the Amalfi Coast).

In resume, we think this hotel is at a fair price for what it has to offer. It also is a fair choice. We had not stay in a 3 stars hotel for quite a while but this was not to much of a shock.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pourvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    126
    56
    32
    21
See reviews for
39
144
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

The MH Design Hotel was clearly well thought out when it was opened. The rooms are spacious (we were in a junior suite) and nicely furnished, and the double glazing keeps out all the street noise - this is a must have, since it is well located on a very busy street.

However, the hotel is let down by being poorly run. There is a kettle in the room, but both days that we stayed here we had to ask for coffee to be provided. We also had to ask for milk, and were told that we would have to pay for it.

The information materials provided in the room were incomplete, and the stock in the mini bar was also incomplete. The tv seemed to turn itself off at will, and there was no wifi network. You might think that these things are minor, but when you are paying a premium to stay in a hotel then you expect that there should be very little to find fault with.

The hotel advertises itself as having a bar, but this was not open at any point during our stay.

We had continuing problems with the water in our bathroom - sometimes no hot, sometimes no cold - this did seem to be an issue for the whole hotel, and the manager did discount our bill for this.

Overall, the MH Design hotel is a nice place to stay, but those running it really need to decide if they want to keep the standards as high as the decor.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank acm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of June; 2 nights in the main building, with breakfast, and one night in the annex, where breakfast is not offered (I assume this is because the breakfast room is located in the main building).

We were looking for a nice hotel in a location close to the port, for proximity to cafes/restaurants and transportation, and were completely satisfied here. That this is a modern, design-minded hotel was a nice surprise, as most other options we looked at in Naples seemed to be more traditionally-decorated. Room was spotless, and we liked that there is free internet access (but make sure to ask for the code when you check in). Bathrooms were huge for Italy, and there was good water pressure in the shower. Walls are rather thin in main building; we did not get any noise during the night we spent in the annex.

Breakfast was fine but nothing exceptional--croissants, cake, yogurt, juice, salami. There are so many good cafes/pasticcerias around that I didn't really care to eat in the hotel.

Great value; we only paid around 130 EUR/night and could not have been happier.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gena0622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

Great hotel in the heart of Naples, felt really safe, had a worry after reading some reviews on this site, its a great city!!! walked all around the city, fantastic things to see. On the river front, you will pay top price for food and drink, go to the old town, you dont get seen off!!! Paid extra for the suite, was great to watch people shopping. Traffic is a must to see, the drivers are mad, red traffic lights dont matter, they all seem to go for it!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

This 3 star hotel located in the heart of the central shopping area ( just behind the piazza plebiscito) of Naples was an absolute delight. Close to all major and luxurious shops such as Gucci and Prada, within walking distance of the Bay and Historic centres of the city - a thoroughly comfortable, clean and pleasant place to stay.
Staff were very polite and friendly, room was very luxurious with a small terrace that overlooked the bustling pedestrianised street below. The bathroom was large with a double shower cubicle - the bed was enormous and very comfortable with full SKY TV and there was a mini bar and coffe and tea makinf facilities in the room.
I would happily return to spend more time at this hotel and feel confident in recommending it to friends and family.

The only minor complaint is that breakfast is not very good. Cereal, cakes, yoghurts and little else - however with many cafes and restaurants within walking distance, this did not cause us any great stress.

  • Liked — The comfort of the room and central and safe location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpanishDreamer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
#24 of 188 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Santa Brigida
Hotel Santa Brigida
#43 of 188 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Partenope Relais
Partenope Relais
#39 of 188 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Chiaia
Hotel Exe Majestic
Hotel Exe Majestic
#33 of 188 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#64 of 188 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MH Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MH Design Hotel

Property: MH Design Hotel
Address: Via Chiaia 245, 80121, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 188 Hotels in Naples
Price range (per night): $114 - $811
Hotel Class:3 star — MH Design Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MH Design Hotel is a 3 star hotel with all the facilities of a superior category.Everything within walking distance:The nearby Piazza del Plebiscito is a starting point for those who want to discover this wonderful city's architectural attractions and the charm of the local art, culture and history;For those who prefer shopping, we are located on one of the most prestigious streets in an area of great tailors and fashion designers, in the most sophisticated part of Naples;For those who also want to enjoy Naples' nightlife, MH Design Hotel is just a short distance away from the city's best restaurants and night spots.MH Design Hotel è un albergo di DESIGN con confort di categoria a 4 stelle.Tutto è a portata di passeggiata:La vicinissima piazza del Plebiscito è un punto di partenza per chi desidera incontrare le bellezze architettoniche, il fascino dell'arte della cultura e della storia di questa stupenda città;Per chi preferisce lo shopping siamo nelle vie più prestigiose di una terra di grandi sarti e artigiani della moda, nel più raffinato salotto di Napoli;Per chi desidera godersi anche l'aspetto più ludico di Napoli, MH Design Hotel è a pochi passi dai migliori ristoranti e locali notturni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your MH Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing