We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary luxury in Capri”
Review of J.K.Place Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
J.K.Place Capri
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
HK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Contemporary luxury in Capri”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at JK Place on our honeymoon and we were not disappointed. This chic interior designed hotel is a unique find in Capri and is what sets it apart. A contemporary hotel is in stark contrast to the slightly rustic (often tired) hotels most common in this part of Italy, which is why we were drawn to it. The hotel is located near the port (it's major flaw) and we had a huge room overlooking the sea with balcony and a large four poster bed.

The downside of this hotel is that it's situated on the cliff side above the port and by a road which is a little noisy with mopeds (but that's pretty standard in Italy). Not that we were aware of this after our first couple of hours there and the pool plays chill out music so you're none the wiser.

The food was fantastic and they were happy to adapt the menu for my food allergies, which I always rate in a hotel. They lay out afternoon tea everyday which is a nice touch. But it is just one restaurant, so you'll want try elsewhere too if there for a few nights.

The pool is picturesque. Comfortable sunloungers and a as it's just a small boutique hotel, you're not fighting fOr pool space with lots of other guests.

The staff don't crowd you but are friendly when asked and made great local restaurant recommendations. And they have a shuttle that runs to the centre of Capri and back.

All in all top marks and we would happily return. that said, it is expensive though but then so is Capri in general so you know what you're letting yourself in for when you stay there!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank asiaholidaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    21
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
208
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

From the moment we stepped off the ferry we were the only guests greeted by the porter to collect our luggage from the ferry door. We were then taken up to the hotel where all the hotel staff were out the front to introduce themselves to us and explain their roles at the hotel. With our fatigue clearly evident after a 30 hour transit from Australia, the front desk staff waived the check in until it suited us and allowed us to go directly to the room for a shower, unpack and some room service followed by our complimentary massages.

Everything about this hotel was 1st class. The rooms, bar, library and DVD selection, complimentary buffet and cooked breakfast, complimentary Internet and mini bar, room service menu, location, view from the hotel and complimentary shuttle service all separate this hotel from any other. Nothing is a problem and the staff will go out of their way to help wherever possible.

One disappointment was not trying the restaurant in house for dinner, however hotel staff were always happy to recommend other restaurants on the island as opposed to pushing the internal restaurant on us as they could see we were interested in seeing the island. With plenty of great restaurants on the island, Da Gelosamina was our favorite in Ana Capri with all food made daily and catering to locals on the island.

Anyone who complains about this hotel must be staying at some unimaginable hotels. The biggest issue for us on deciding on the hotel was the price of the rooms, however once you factor in the additional costs of other hotels such as Internet, minibar, breakfasts, shuttle service, dvd's etc that are included at JK Place the room price is actually extremely reasonable.

All I can say is that if you are going to Capri stay at JK. If you are going to Italy and not planning to go to Capri, JK is worth changing your itinerary for. This is the best hotel we have ever stayed at!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Ozdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed for three nights over Easter. Reservations where handled fast, we were granted the requested room and met (without exceptions) friendly staff with service from the heart. Mauro, the concierge, is very professional in dealing with clients. All front desk staff is extremely service oriented. Food in their restaurant is oustanding and so are the waiters and waitresses. The GM is all time present and giving you an "at home" feeling. The shuttle service and the house keeping work faultless. A lot is said about the great style and the interiors. Your expectations will not be disappointed. The house looks even better in real life than on their website. This is really a "home away from home" and the good international guest crowd makes the stay even more special. Go for a Deluxe room on the upper floor. It's well worth the price difference.
The weather could not have been worse over Easter (winds, rain, and grey in grey) but that did not affect the overall very good experience. 800 Euros/night were well worth spent ;-)
The only down side. Breakfast selection is very average but still better than in other Italian places. It'd be nice if they served better tea and not the cheapy stuff from tea bags.

Go for: Aurora Restauarnt in Capri, Pizzeria Da Giorgio in Capri and Il Cucciolo in Anacapri
Even if the hotel recommends it, Do NOT go to "Villa Verde". All the other guests and we were deeply disappointed about the nonchallant service and the very average overprized food.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICSAESJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel with five other couples for 4 days. The decor is beautiful but the service is terrible. We expected a dream holiday in a five star hotel on the Isle of Capri. Even though it was situated directly on the sea overlooking the harbour we could not find the path leading down to the beach.

The rooms facing the streetside are noisy and the balcony overlooks private homes across the street with laundry hanging out the windows and living rooms facing onto your balcony. We couldn't pull our bedroom drapes for fear of people peaking in. The penthouse was fine but almost 3,000.00 a night. Thus our great expectations.

The Spa was never open, the pool closed around 3PM and the hotel restaurant was never opened. We sat down to breakfast outside by the pool and waited and waited and waited. Finally one of us wandered through the hotel searching for the door to the kitchen so we could place our breakfast order. Everyone was just so rude and acted as though they were doing you a favor. In the evening we met for cocktails before
leaving for dinner and had to set up our own table on the hotel patio. Again someone had to hunt for the waiter. Getting our bill upon check-out was difficult as the hotel wanted to put everyone on the same bill. We would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have a wonderful view. Rooms facing the street are noisy and the balcony is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Bloomingwildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We were doing a tour of the Amalfi Coast and stayed at the JK mid way thru the trip. Although this hotel is lovely and a true Ralph Lauren feel from top to bottom, it's location does not justify the price nor did the service. Four of us were on vacation and after running in to the same guests everywhee we went to eat we realized we were all being told the same places. Some guests were travel agents and were getting a clearly different service level. It is a small hotel so you do notice. The rooms are gorgeuos and spacious, but ours overlooked the very "public beach" which we could not even figure put how to get to. Overlooking the sea is great, but this hotel overlooks the harbor that brings every boat to the island. Walking to the vernicular was easy but that was it. Out shutlle drivers were great and curteous, but again we felt like certain guest were getting preferrential treatment. After 2 nights we were ready to go and at the next stop ran in to the travel agents again and they confirmed their service as far superior to ours (different restauranst, free boat rides, special tours..).for the price of this hotel, everyone should receive equal service. We found our way thru friends to a private beach club on Capri that the hotel "was surprised we found" . Would not give this hotel a 5 star, rather a 4 and really look at the location when going to Capri.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
1.3 km away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#6 of 41 in Capri
644 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.2 km away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
1.4 km away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
1.0 km away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.K.Place Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.K.Place Capri

Property: J.K.Place Capri
Address: Via Provinciale Marina Grande 225, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#5 Spa Hotel in Capri
#13 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price range (per night): $698 - $2,442
Hotel Class:5 star — J.K.Place Capri 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The discreet charm of the venue and the comfort of feeling at home, surrounded by precious details, this is the philosophy behind the creation of the JK Place Capri. Set into the cliffs of the enchanting island of Capri, the hotel has twenty-two rooms that echo the style and the concept of a luxury house with another element to boost the charm of the site: the light and color of the sea. Spacious rooms where the artful revival of the classical style is enhanced by the sunny curtains and the luminous white floors, highlighting the spectacular views of the Capri coastlines through the windows and panoramic balconies of the rooms. Then there are the inevitable stylish touches, such as the precious marbles and the grey and white mosaics of the bathrooms, and the supremely elegant black-and-white carpets, conceived like frames marking out the various areas of the bedrooms. The building was first inaugurated as a hotel in 1885 and rapidly became a point of reference for the nobility spending holidays on the island. Now, as then, the hotel offers a splendid pathway to the sea below, while the superb location on the Capri cliff-top gives the guest the sensation of being in absolute contact with the natural environment, almost suspended above the azure seascape. The luxury of discreet elegance and taste make the JK Place Capri a place where comfort and wellbeing are combined with an enviable panoramic position, sheer over the sea, immersed in the luxuriant coastline that has always been an exclusive destination and source of inspiration, a resort for emperors, poets and noble travelers, a haven for the soul in which you can lose yourself in admiration of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your J.K.Place Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jk Place Capri Hotel Capri
Jk Place Hotel Capri
Capri Jk Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing