We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gatto bianco the perfect hotel for any occasion on the perfect island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gatto Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gatto Bianco
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Montana City, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“gatto bianco the perfect hotel for any occasion on the perfect island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

My wife and I have been to Capri 4 times and recently stayed at the hotel Gatto Bianco. 2 steps from la piazzetta, another few steps from the via which heads to the sea and the Famous Faraglioni. Immaculately clean rooms, comfortable. Our balcony room had a view of the sea and when the breeze brought up the scent of the sea it was heavenly. Free WiFi in your room and an internet kiosk in the lush and spacious lobby. Modern restrooms in our hotel compared to many outdated hotels in Italy which offer very crowded showers and difficult toilets. The breakfast appealed to us as both foreigners (they had all the normal western amenities) but there was also available the more traditional items you would expect the Italians eat (coffee, brioche). Very generous food selections and quantities. The staff was not condescending at our imperfect italian and spoke quite well in english. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to make the most of a short stay on the isle, or who wants to hunker down and really get to know the Capresi and their home island. It is a 4 star hotel with a 5-star rating from this guest!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a southwest facing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank americanoalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    113
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
60
198
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

It's very hard to fault this wonderful hotel with its central location, clean, spacious rooms, incredibly helpful and friendly staff, and lovely breakfast. As soon as we walked in I was taken a back by how lovely the small alcoves looked and was very impressed with the cleanliness of the place. We stayed in a ground floor room tucked out of the way from the main hotel complex which was wonderfully private and quiet, the room was much larger than I'm used to and had a private patio entrance. Oh yes it also has a large white cat (which apparently is a descendant from the cat from which the hotel took its name) roaming around to entertain guests :). Capri was stunning and this was the perfect base from which to explore.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Clean and well located, the hotel doesn't have the charm you would expect for the pictures and the lovely name. Our room had a inner terrace, which was quite nice, but apart from that the hotel is just average. The breakfast buffet is very poor, the hotel rooms are old fashioned, there are no free services (wifi access is quite expensive). The hotel is family-run, but they are not specially kind, they could (and should) pay more attention to guests.

We had also a bad experience with our room, that had a small street on the back and everyday around 6AM we were awaken by people unloading things, for 15 minutes or so. If you finally end up in this hotel and they offer room 22, don't take it.

They have a nice garden to have a drink outside and, of course, a beautiful white cat, that is as umpleasant as its owners.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xaviferrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

Room was impeccably clean, staff were friendly and helpul. The hotel has a unique character that differentiates it from the others in the center and makes it more traditional - the ceramic floors in the main hall are exquisite. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophieAnnDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

We recently stayed for onenight at the Gatto Bianco. It was perfect. Unless you are staying for many days in Capri, is it best to stay right near the pedestrian center and this hotel is perfectly located. That being said, I don't hink any rooms have sweeping sea views, but we didn't need that. The room was as lovely as the public spaces, the breakfast was great. My only complaint is that I needed to get up and request a cappucino at breakfast. We arrived early at the hotel and our room was ready. Finally, Matisse, the actual 'gatto bianco" was adorable!

Thank you, Gatto Bianco, for a marvelous visit to Capri!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BB22Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.9 km away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.3 km away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.8 km away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#10 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#16 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gatto Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gatto Bianco

Property: Hotel Gatto Bianco
Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 32, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Capri
#3 Business Hotel in Capri
#7 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#16 Family Hotel in Capri
#20 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price range (per night): $180 - $449
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gatto Bianco 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the idea of staying in a hotel right in the center of Capri? You're going to love Gatto Bianco! Just 150 meters from the Piazzetta, the heart of the island's glamorous social whirl, and 100 meters from Via Camerelle, Capri's designer shopping street, if it's a centrally-located 4 star you're after, Gatto Bianco is the hotel for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Odigeo and Wotif.com so you can book your Hotel Gatto Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatto Bianco Capri
Gatto Bianco Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing