We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular views and location, but there are a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Consy

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Sorrento, Province of Naples, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Peter P
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Spectacular views and location, but there are a few things you should know”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We really loved the place. By far the best aspect of the place is the balcony off the living room. From it, you sit and can view the heart and soul of a small Italian fishing town, as well as see Vesuvius across the water. It was like watching an interactive picture and captivated our attentions day or night.

There are 2 bedrooms and 2 baths, both with shower. Neither bath is 'in suite' and while one is next to a bedroom, you have to cross the living room (and up 3 stairs) to the other. The other couple with us complained about the comfort of their bed (e.g., they fought to see who would roll to the middle of the bed to occupy it for the remainder of the night). Also, you will hear some noise from the nearby restaurants and the many motorbikes that go by, but we did not find the noise to be a problem. Overall, however, the place was as advertised and we enjoyed the accommodations. (We didn't use the kitchen much.)

There are 2 harbors in Sorrento. The 'main' one which all the big ships come into, and then the smaller one, called Marina Grande, in which this property is located. We loved the location in that it was not tourist central, and I don't remember seeing one tour group. A lot of locals. Some of the town's best restaurants are so close to the apartment that you can see them out the window.

To get to this harbor, you have to go through town, which involves going up, up into town and then down, down into Marina Grande. Once we got to the location, we were fine with it and being slightly apart from everything. Realize, however, that this is not in-town, and it is a trek to walk into town (not overly far, but up the hill and along narrow roads).

My caution about this property is that the 'interaction with guests' was not the greatest. Initially, there was a 'surprise' tax that was first mentioned with me the day before we checked in. I don't like surprise fees and taxes and expect everything to be mentioned prior to booking. Such wasn't the case here. (The amount of tax is small, 1 EUR per person per night, but we budget for everything and so such amount comes out of our wine money. As an aside, this tax occurs regularly and the amount varies slightly per town--we paid 1.5 EUR in Rome.)

The directions to the property when we arrived were accurate, but not fully informative. I didn't realize how far away from the initial harbor that this place was. Consequently, through my own errors, we ended up walking with our luggage for about 3/4 of the trip along narrow sidewalks (where there were sidewalks) and busy streets--a very unpleasant experience. Therefore, you must absolutely take a taxi from the harbor. Also note that, once at the building, the apartment is on the second floor, up several flights of steep stairs—be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs.

The owner initially said that his wife would meet us at the ferry, then when we arrived, we were informed that we were on our own. There was a friend of his available by phone who talked us to the property, but it was very frustrating. Again, most of the issues were my errors, but it is tough not to blame the owner somewhat.

Lastly, we wanted to walk the town before our ferry to Capri and when we inquired if there were lockers at the port we were informed "Don't worry, they are there" (these "don't worry"s was particularly irksome to me, as I understand that he didn't worry because he wouldn't suffer). As you might guess, there were no lockers at the port and we were forced to leave early for Capri (the sacrifices that we made!). By the way, there are lockers at the main train station, but not at the port.

Again, overall, we really enjoyed our stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend it. I provide the items above so as to provide others with the most information.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2017
thank the customer for the review. but I must point out some inaccuracies.
1. The tourist tax is well-specified on the site and as you well know (since you have paid it in Rome), must be paid on arrival or departure, it is not part of the total cost of the reservation, so you should already put in estimate such expenditure. I do not like paying taxes, but I have to do it and I do it for you.
2. We provide our holiday facility, and we provide all the required info, but we are not tour operators, so I never said that someone would have waited for you at the harbor, but at home.
knowing the difficulty a person can have for a first time arriving in Sorrento. we gave an accurate and precise description of how to get home, giving some tips. and we also walked step by step on the streets of Sorrento.
but if you ignore any advice, it is normal to be in trouble for the streets of the center full of tourists and with luggage.
even though with some misunderstanding of communication, good customers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didee54
Stratford Victoria Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holiday”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Consy in Marina Grande. All the restaurants were fabulous and the apartment was central, very clean. The balcony was an added extra to watch all the boats coming in at night. Highly recommend this stay. We are leaving tomorrow for Rome and will be sad to leave such a relaxing place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
thanks for the nice words. I'm really happy when the house is appreciated and you understand how it is to be lived. I hope to see you soon.
regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommylad2...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay, great views, only enough breakfast for 3 days”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed here for 11 nights and its a decent sized apartment with nice views, clean and good value for money but with a few negatives which included the breakfast that was provided only consisted of cereal and a few crossiants which didnt last longer than 3 days. Also the toilet roll provided wasnt enough to get us through our stay so had to buy more. The bed was quite uncomfy and there was only 1 pillow each provided. We was woke up numerous times 6am or earlier through noise coming from outside and our bed was only changed once and none of the aprtment was cleaned during our full 11 night stay so was done by my girlfriend and mum.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
Thanks for the review. but there are some clarifications to make. When you book our apartment, it offers all you need in order to live. (provision for breakfast, as a welcome, bed linen, towels, soaps, washing machine and etc. Although for longer stays of a week, we provide the change linen and towels. cleanliness is not expected in fact not asked no extra charge for cleaning. It's not, then the Hotel must be lived as if it were their own.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Da2011
Aptos, California
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Amazing apartment!”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I am so happy we found this apartment in marina grande. From the pre arrival communication to the arrival to the stay it was all perfect. The apartment was BETTER than pictures represented and the view cannot be beat. Our jaws dropped when we walked in and saw the view! Salvatore arranged transportation from the Naples train station and it was so nice to walk off the train and having someone waiting for us. We loved the restaurants down at the marina and loved that it was away from the crowds but a quick walk up to town. The apartment was clean, comfortable and very well stocked with breakfast items, beer and wine, paper products and soaps. I would absolutely return and recommend this apartment. Several friends have already messaged me asking for info after seeing our pictures

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Many thanks. It really makes me happy to have satisfied your vacation.
I hope to see you again in the future and will be happy to host your friends.
Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highcliff...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Location, Wonderful Views”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

It is hard to speak too highly of our stay in Marine Grande and the Casa Consy apartment. Marine Grande is a beautiful little fishing port, it has a really village feel to it- lots of restaurants /bars that have been in the same family for generations, a tiny beach, you can sit and people watch all day, it is so busy! The restaurants are wonderful and give a good variety of food and range in prices.
After a busy day in Sorrento it was great to come back to the tranquillity of Marine Grande.
The apartment is very light, airy and spacious, there are balconies from each views all looking out to Vesuvius.
The only negatives are the apartment is slightly old fashioned and there isn't a very comfortable sitting area inside and the balconies are small, not big enough for 4 people to eat outside. Having said that everything else more than compensates for it- we so enjoyed our stay.
Salvatore and his family were great, really helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

We will definitely be back and would highly recommend this apartment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing