We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento City
Ranked #45 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is a very nice small hotel right on the main street of Sorrento. We had a small balcony overlooking the noisy street, but were not much bothered by noise during the night. Small rooms, but very clean and very friendly staff. Basic and pleasant.

Room Tip: Fun to have rooms on the front, you are really part of what goes on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aslaug2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    310
    82
    22
    8
See reviews for
158
351
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Isabel, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I just returned from a trip to Europe. I would highly recommend Hotel Central to you if you are looking for an excellent place to reside while touring the Amalfi Coast of Italy. The Hotel is clean, the desk clerks are personable and very helpful in assuring that your every need is taken care of.

There is parking available in an underground parking facility at the side of the Hotel.

The room was clean, comfortable and met all of my needs in a comfortable room.

The only reason that I didn't give the Hotel a 5 star rating was that I felt the location was difficult to find without the aid of a GPS.

There is a Restaurant within and several other Restaurants within the block of the Hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the front as the street is quite busy through out the Night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Our room was on the small side but well set out and very comfortable. The hotel is very well located and the staff couldn't be friendlier. The breakfast is free and the wi-fi is a bonus. We would certainly be very happy to come back here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NednBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I have just returned from a 7 day Sorrento holiday with a friend. We had our own bedrooms at Sorrento City. The hotel and rooms were very clean, the rooms good, mine may have been a bit small if 3 people were sharing. My balcony looked out onto a wall, but as I was out all day it didn't matter. My friend's looked out onto the street which was much nicer, she also had a fridge and I didn't, but I had a bidet and she didn't - good to wash your feet in at the end of the day!
The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, and English speaking - we seemed to have questions every day about where we were going but they were always willing to help. Breakfast was plenty - cereal, meat, cheese, bread, cake, and fruit. The dining room really pretty and the lobby bright and stylish.
The location was brilliant, about 3 minutes walk from the bus and train station and as soon as you walk out of the hotel you are in the town.
There is a supermarket next door, a lovely, friendly reasonably priced restaurant next door to David's lovely icecream parlour just around the corner, ? first/second turning on the right as you turn right out of the hotel.
The bus station had buses going various places including the airport - cost 10 euros, and Amalfi - a day ticket cost 7.20 euros. The train goes to Naples, you can get off for Pompei, and further along the line for Herculaneum and Vesuvius. If you are short on time choose Herculaneum rather than Pompei.
I don't think I would ever risk driving a car along the roads, the drivers are crazy, watch out if you croosing the road, and hold your breath on the bus journeys, better than any fairground ride.
Places I would recommend visiting - Herculaneum, pay for a guide if possible, Vesuvius - be prepared to be shattered at the top, Pompei - need a guide to get the best from the visit, Capri -beautiful, the Amalfi drive from Sorrento to Amalfi - unbelievable, Positano - beautiful, get the shuttle bus back up unless you are a "mountain goat!" - 1.20 euros, the lemon grove garden in Sorrento turn right out of the hotel, cross over the road, about a 10 minute walk along the road, a lovely oasis in the middle of a busy town. In fact the whole holiday was fantastic with only one afternoon of rain.
We had a great time, and hopefully will return again, and would certainly use Sorrento City again.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room looking over the main street and have a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bcreadingengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel is in the center of the city, which we loved. Even though in the center, with the door closed it was not too loud. Had a nice balcony for each room. Wi-fi worked well for us since we were right above the reception, but they told us it may not work in the room. Breakfast was decent. The room worked well for us.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonymousUS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 km away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
0.9 km away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Property: Hotel Sorrento City
Address: Corso Italia 221, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price range (per night): $143 - $316
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing