We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Sorrento” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sorrento City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sorrento City
Ranked #41 of 99 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, England
Level Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Sorrento”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was our first time at this hotel though we have been visiting Sorrento every year for the past 10 years. The warmth of the welcome and the pleasant manner of all the staff was delightful. The hotel is very reasonably priced and clean and the foyer was a great place to people watch.There is free wifi and the lobby computer was reasonably priced. The location was really great and the convenience of the supermarket next door was very good. it closes at 9 pm and there was no noise from it nor from the cinema on the other side.
We were a party of 5 adults and one child sharing 2 triple rooms. We would have been better with 3 twin rooms as it felt very crowded and there is little storage space. One room did not have a fridge as promised, but there was no room for it anyway.
The continental breakfast was OK if you could eat wheat, but as one our party could not and the fruit on offer was uninspiring and the yoghurts watery, she brought in her own from the supermarket next door, which was not a problem.
We would go again without a doubt but with different room arrangements. I can really recommend it for an inexpensive way to experience this lovely and historic area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quasargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    303
    79
    22
    8
See reviews for
155
344
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We just came back from a 2 week vacation in Italy, and I most certainly had to write about each of our 4 hotels. First up was Hotel Sorrento City. Having read a lot of the reviews on TripAdvisor, I would say you really get a real overall view of this hotel, and most importantly, they were pretty spot on. Sorry if this review is long, but if we're similar type of travelers some of this info may help :)

Location -
Sorrento was our first stop in Italy, and the first impression could not have been better.
The hotel itself was so lovely. This was the last week of December, and the holidays could still be felt. A huge Christmast Street in the center of the town, and the bright christmas lights still strung on the street. The weather was brisk in December, but nothing unmanageable. The hotel is perfectly situated at the end of the circumvesuviana line, and such a short walk from the train station. My husband and I wheeled our luggage right off, and took the directions the hotel gave us and were there within a 5 minute walk. I have to say the location was perfect. Hotel Sorrento City is located right on the main shopping street. So if you like the convenience of walking left or right outside of the hotel for a bite, or coffee, this is a great place. We got a great room facing the street so we were lucky to have holiday lights still up and shining down the street. So beautiful.

Staff & Hotel -
The staff - Yolanda, especially were wonderful. They were all English speaking and had great recommendations on restaurants, and what sights to see in 3 days. The rooms were small (typical for Europe though), but very clean. The continental breakfast is just enough to get you started for the day - juice, coffee, toast, deli meats, and yogurt.

Sights -
Capri - short walk down to the hydrofoil (boat that takes you to Capri) - you'll really need a tour once you get to the island, as it's not that easy to get around. But the 4 hour bus tour is totally worth it!
Positano & Amalfi - walk back to the train station where you'll get on the bus.
Takes under an a hour for the stop at Positano, but head to Amalfi (another 45 minutes) first then head back to Positano on your way back to Sorrento.
You won't really need a tour as the busy drops and picks you up right in the towns. These two picturesque coastal towns are so worth visiting. But the star is the bus driving. It's insane how the drivers maneuver this bus through the narrow curves where there are no rails!
Pompeii Ruins - This was our last day before we headed to Rome. We packed up and got on the train. About 25 minutes to Pompeii and you can store your luggage near the cafe at the train station for about 3Euros per piece. The Ruins were quite a site. You'll really appreciate the history!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

The location of this hotel is great. It's very close to the bus station and train station . It's also on the main street. The relationship of the staff is very hot , nice and friendly . They are ready to help in every moment in every subject we had questions about . The hotel is small, beautiful and very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights at Hotel Sorrento City with our family of 4 (2 teenagers) in a quad room (had fold down bunk beds). We would recommend this hotel due to the following:
1) Location: Ideal for bus/train travelers as its near the station and on the main street just a block from the main square
2) Breakfast: Good variety and fresh
3) Clean: Building is new or recently remodeled

Our only significant complaint was the size of the room (quite small for 4 people)

Sorrento is a great base -- we did Naples and the Amalfi Coast. Other trips we've done Pompeii and Capri.

Room Tip: Small rooms. Our room was quiet even though the hotel is on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank www69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We were very impressed with the service at this hotel. They were very professional and were very attentive to our needs. For example, we bought phone cards and had them installed for a local telephone number in Italy. My card didn't work. The manager called the company we bought them from and had them bring the new cards to us so we would not have to miss any of our trips that we had planned for that day. She took care of everything. Chas.

Room Tip: We loved the room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charles71909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#35 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.2 km away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#44 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.9 km away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#22 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mignon Meuble
Hotel Mignon Meuble
#29 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#13 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorrento City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorrento City

Property: Hotel Sorrento City
Address: Corso Italia 221, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price range (per night): $88 - $253
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorrento City 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Sorrento, Sorrento City Hotel is a boutique hotel a short walk to Piazza Tasso: a living room to live the harmony of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality; a hotel, completely refurbished, which was the first Maison Meublè built in 50’s, where you can spend days of pure wonder. Style and elegance, prime quality of service and discretion make this hotel a symbol of Sorrento Peninsula hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sorrento City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing