We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,197)
Filter reviews
1,197 results
Traveller rating
513
406
183
61
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
406
183
61
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marina grande sea view half board bay of naples gala night minute uphill walk fishing village mount vesuvius thomson rep evening meal huge balcony up hill main town decking area head waiter sun deck fresh towels every day
Filter
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 1,197 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

We just returned from a very relaxing stay at this hotel. It has an amazing waterfront location with views directly to Mount Vesuvius. The staff were great and extremely helpful.

We ate most of the time in the hotel. There was a reasonable selection of options at all meals. Subject to the weather they have regular buffets on the verandah which is built over the sea.

Our room did not have a full sea view. The ones that did were spectacular. It was clean and comfortable in a minimalist style.

As the main part of Sorrento is on top of the cliff there is a bus service up there. There are a couple of walking routes. The road way, following the route of the bus, which is a bit dull, and a footpath which gives great views, but is a bit steep.

We would happily return.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank PhilipT754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We stayed here for a week on a Thomsons package. The hotel is clean, tidy and the staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was small but clean with modern decor. We were only able to book a partial sea view and whilst we got this we did not have a balcony (one of the few rooms that didn't) so couldn't really benefit from the view. This didn't matter too much as we spent very little time in our room.

The pool area is small and only has a few loungers and deckchairs. Again, this didn't matter too much to us as we spent most of the time sight seeing but we did spend some time by the pool after our days out (although the pool area is in full shade by mid-afternoon). The size of the pool and the lack of sun umbrellas would make this a poor choice for families with young children. The bar area is near the pool and serves nice drinks but lacks character.

Despite being half board we only dined at the hotel on our first night. This was not necessarily to do with the food (which was OK - varied menu, a bit Italian, playing safe) but to do with the array of charming and good value seafood eateries around Marina Grande. The service was good and professional but maybe a bit too formal for us. There is a dress code for men which is fine as long as the quality of food can back this up.

The location is the real strength of this Hotel. The Marina Grande is the old fishing port of Sorrento and has the feel of being a close-knit community. We loved spending a week in this part of the town and loved drinking at the bars on the front watching the local characters mill about.

I'd recommend this hotel for couples who are mobile and want a base for sightseeing rather than a week by the pool and for those who want a good value and traditional hotel service.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony!
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank TomS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

As usual, the place I return to. Really lovely to see Raphael again after a long time, he is always so comical.
It is a lot more subdued than other years, guests keep to themselves, which make it difficult to get to know people. I have loved Hotel Admiral's location, food(thank you Luigi) , pleasant and helpful staff, and everything is exceptional as always.
Receptionists are extremely helpful and friendly.
Thomsons rep gave information regarding Amalfi trip, regarding meals, each year we have been on this trip, the last 2 ( including last weeks) they say there isn't a meal.
Always, we have been to Scala and the guide on the coach does tell us that there is food available and we all stop. Our rep, Karen said there was no meal on this tour and was contradicting us. Maybe she had never been on the trip, and her knowledge was missing. So anyone wanting this trip, wait until you get on the coach. This was not the select trip.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Admiralsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

Had an absolutely fantastic week at the Admiral in August 2015. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly! The food at dinner was varied and tasty!
Our room was always cleaned to a brilliant standard.
The location of the Admiral is absolutely beautiful, do not be put off by the hill up into Sorrento, find the stairs and it is really simple with beautiful views.
I would happily recommend this hotel, particularly for couples.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
9  Thank vm1663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

The hotel is one of the best for location in sorrento. It is in the marina grande but still a short (and very pretty) walk into the centre of sorrento. Due to it being in the marina, we ate out a few times in our holiday as we wanted to try the different seafood restaurants and also wanted to try some pizzerias in the centre! However, the food we did eat at the hotel was okay but much better outside of the hotel. We also had lunch there a couple of times. The pizza we had at lunch was lovely however I did order a Caesar salad one day which came without the Caesar dressing which I found strange!

The hotel itself is nice, I've noticed some people say that there isn't enough sunbeds and that the pool is small ect... However If you book through Thomson they do advertise it as a small and friendly hotel so we expected this. If we struggled for a sunbed we went to one of the bathing platforms for the day which was good as they have steps down into the sea- this was usually about €10 for a sunbed. The sun also disappears behind the cliff around 4ish during the time were there (August) so we liked going to the platforms as it got sun all day.

The rooms were nice and neutral however the bathrooms could use an update! Limescale around the taps and a horrible shower curtain which clung to you when the shower was on and it also had mold on! This was a shame as on first glance the shower seemed quite big but really wasn't with the shower curtain! We also would have really liked a sea view room based on reviews we had read but there were none left when we booked. We had a partial sea view room with a balcony but it still gave great views of the sea! Again, the room was small but large enough for us and we didn't except anything large given its advertised as small! The room would have benefited with a fridge but otherwise it was fine!

We would come back to this hotel but probably not as half board as we enjoyed eating out more. The staff are great and really nice. Not sure on names but they were all fab! Great value for money!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank bethanyi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews