We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great for our needs”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Third bedroom with double bed
Second bedroom with two single beds
Sofa bed and wifi gratis
Living room with sofa bed, TV and chimney
First bathroom with Jacuzzi shower
Jacuzzi shower
Jacuzzi shower
Main entrance
Garden around the villa
Garden around the villa
Garden around the villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Sorrento, Province of Naples, Campania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
VODKALIME...
CHELTENHAM
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great for our needs”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The villa was easy enough to find and we soon found the shortcut through to Corso Italia, making it even shorter. 5 minute walk from the train station and 15 minutes into Sorrento. Car parking available.
The villa looks rustic and I thought it looked full of charm. We met an associate of Fabrizio called Ludovica there who let us in and showed us the ropes. She was very friendly and helpful. We did not however get our limoncello on arrival, which I was a little disappointed with but nevertheless, we had a warm welcome.
We were staying in the 1 bed duplex apartment. We walked in to a lovely bedroom, which had air conditioning and was most welcome. There were two chests of drawers to store our clothes and plenty of storage space for cases. There is a spiral staircase going up to a living room with had a sofa, a table and chairs, a bathroom and panoramic kitchen off it. From the kitchen you have a small spiral staircase down to your own private terrace which had views of the ocean, Vesuvius and the mountains - beautiful.
We loved the fact it was self contained and had everything we required. In the kitchen there was a Hob, fridge, kettle and cooking utensils, sink with washing up,liquid and a tea towel so it was easy to keep clean.
There is free wifi and two tv's, one in the bedroom and one in the living room if you feel inclined to watch it, however it was all in Italian (hardly a surprise) and no world news channels so we really didn't bother. We used it as a base for sight seeing.
From Sant Agnello train station you can get to Pompeii and Herculaneum in about 45 minutes on the circumvesuana train for very little money, under €7 to go to Pompeii, then catch a train to Herculaneum then a train back again. Be aware that the Campagnia Express tourist train does not stop at Sant Agnello so you need to go into Sorrento train station if you wish to catch that train. From Sorrento station we also got he Coast to Coast bus to Amalfi and Positano for €10 each with an audio guide. So this is a great base for doing a lot of great things.
The bed was comfortable, we slept well apart from when we had some very noisy neighbours, who only seemed to be there for one night, fortunately. If you are all living in a villa in close proximity then a little consideration goes along way! To be honest, they were very rude and not a reflection of the lovely villa.
We were given vouchers to have our breakfast at The Touriat Bar round the corner and this was a great bonus. The staff at the Tourist Bar are fantastic and attentive, they serve fresh cornetti and cakes made in the premises and fab cappuccino. It was so good there we ended up eating there often as the dinners were sublime and it was a great stop for a late afternoon cocktail (€5) also.
The only things you may want to consider is that there are quite a few steps up to the apartment, it didn't bother us but it could be problematic for some and the spiral staircase can be tricky to negotiate, but not really a problem considering all of the great factors of the apartment.
We never did get to meet Fabricio as another colleague of his came to check us out and take our tourist tax payment, this is standard procedure so won't come as a surprise, but he was most pleasant when texting to make sure we knew where to find the villa and to find out what time we would be arriving.
I would stay here again and would recommend the apartment, it certainly suited our needs completely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet W
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely villa in an excellent central location”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Excellent for transport links train station was 5mins from apartment ; easy walk into Sorrento (quite safe ) able to access both Amalfi Coast and Naples area. Beach near by pay to use but nice to cool off in .Fabrizio arranged transport from the airport to the apartment and was there to great us and give us all information we needed.
Apartment was spacious and well furnished and lovely roof top dinning area, with great view of surrounding area and sunsets , great place to celebrate a special birthday with family ( 5 adults ) .
Sad to leave

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and access to areas
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your nice words. You are a beautiful family. If you come back here I'll wait.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

While our host was very friendly and helpful, the apartment was not what we expected and I was disappointed in several aspects. First we were surprised with the added cleaning and linen fees. Our host negotiated these with me but I didn't appreciate the surprise. True it was buried in the Trip Advisor listing but we had not seen this in the original listing and it was never mentioned prior to our arrival. Then, after I had paid my deposit I was told I would need to pay the balance in cash upon arrival. Although this was not a problem I didn't like not completing the transaction through Trip Advisor. As mentioned in a prior review. We expected the apartment to be much closer to Sorrento and the walk was long and dangerous. There are 3 steep flights of stairs to the apartment. I did not like the area of the apartment, not the holiday locale I had hoped for. There was no A/C and it was hot. Could use more fans in the Summertime. The washing machine was helpful and the deck was nice. There were some nice pieces of antique furniture but beds were in poor condition and the place just didn't really feel clean to me. Our host was very responsive to all our texts. We had the power surge at one time and he was right there to see about it. Fabrizio is a nice guy and I think trying to make a comfortable experience for guests but the place needs a few upgrades.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly host
Liked least: location, cleanliness, beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Good day laura i am so sorry to hear that, coz last time you confirm that everything went well.I just want to clarify some points: Linen and Cleaning expenses, is well written on web site Tripadvisor on additional note.I made also a discount of 50 euro. PAYMENT OF RESERVATION: i prefer the payment when the guests arrive so i can discuss with them if there is something wrong.The guest can see the house , can check the apartment and thean he can pay. LOWERING OF LIGHT , i have other 3 apartments. You call me coz you didnìt know how to switch on the light , its very easy, and its common all around the world.PROXIMITY TO SORRENTO: 10-15 minutes walking,its an antiques house, the street its like all the street here in Sorrento,but the fact that is dangerous makes me smile. Air condition is not present in the house, i never said that i got it. Next time that you book an apartment read properly.No Stairway,the elevator in an antiques house is forbidden, and anyway i helped you with the luggages.I hope that my answer has been clear. By the way a huge hello to all your Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda C
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Things to consider before you book.”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

There are advantages and disadvantages to Casa Vacanza Gabriella that you should consider prior to booking. First the location is near to Sorrento but not in Sorrento and off of a loud street in Sant'Angnello. We thought we would skip staying in Sorrento for a quieter stay in a small nearby town however, the road next to Casa Vacanza was only quiet during the Italian Eurocup games and early in the morning; which considering you have to have the windows open to get any air circulation in the house (no AC), it can be hard to get a good night's rest. The walk to Sorrento is 20 minutes BUT it is on a very narrow street with a small (1 meter or less across) walkway next to a very busy road of tour buses, motorcycles and cars. This was a smelly and an unnerving walk with children. We ended up taking the bus to get into town which takes longer than the walk itself. If you want to visit Sorrento, I suggest staying in Sorrento.

Casa Vacanza Gabriella is a large and spacious apartment. The deck view is beautiful. The deck is great for hanging laundry during the day when it is too bright to sit out and gorgeous to have dinner out on it and watch the sun set. In the front bedroom bathroom, we had a problem with a sewage smell for three of the four days we stayed. It was awful and the manager hadn't any suggestions about what to do. We kept the bathroom door closed and dealt with it.

The beds are older and we had to request for extra linens to utilize the pillows in storage since the one pillow/person was bumpy and thin. I guess the manager hasn't had anyone comment on the added cleaning (50E) and linen cost (50 E), but I didn't see this on the regular TripAdvisor description and was surprised. No other Italian rental included these charges. Fortunately, some of these costs were waived which was appreciated.

This property would be nice for a larger group of people in Spring, Fall or Winter when it is not too hot outside and you have sound sleepers. The manager was very responsive as well as dismissive at times. It was our least favorite apartment on our three week trip to Europe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The deck and open air plan.
Liked least: The sewage smell.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mischaand...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, great place and excellent host”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were 6 adults and one child and we fit super comfortably in this house. It is very spacious, the bathroom is super big and has a smaller en-suite as well. Well equipped for our short stay. We loved staying here. We really appreciated being close to the train, 15 mins walk to the centre of Sorrento, the washing machine, the free wi-fi and having Fabrizio as a host. He is super helpful, flexible and very attentive. He recommended two places for us to eat that were really good. We had a big van so we could not get into the house parking and Fabrizio had daily parking tickets ready for us. Only drawback are the two flights of stairs to climb to get into the apartment and that towels, cleaning, linen and tax are not included in the booking quote, but all was still very reasonably priced. Totally recommend this place, we loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing